We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Shark Ventures

Features Animals
7 Kusweg | Corner Kusweg & Geelbek Str., Kleinbaai, Gansbaai, South Africa
+27 21 532 0470
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights

First of all I did some research and I knew that when it comes to mother nature nothing is... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Ana B
,
Lisbon, Portugal
via mobile
mixed feelings and mixed reviews

After doing extensive research on all the operating companies in Gasbaai, my pocket helped me... read more

Reviewed 12 October 2017
Shazzi27
,
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Read all 271 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
White Shark Ventures invites you cage diving with great white sharks in the aptly named "Shark Alley", near the fishing village of Gansbaai, South Africa. Due to various geographical reasons, water temperatures and easy access to food, this area has earned worldwide fame and recognition as the single most successful area to view the great white shark within a very shot period of time. In successful operation for 23 years, and established in 1992, White Shark Ventures were the founders and pioneers of shark cage diving in Gansbaai. Our tours are not only highly educational, but we also actively participate in documenting valuable research information on great white sharks, which is forwarded to Marine & Coastal Management Research and various Marine Biologists world-wide. Our directors and employees are passionate about conservation and rehabilitation of all wildlife species, more which can be seen on our website. Our company were the founders of the Great White Shark Protection Foundation, a body dedicated to the protection and preservation of the great white shark globally. Our tour includes; Luxurious return road transfers from Cape Town; Light breakfast and hot beverages offered upon arrival in Gansbaai; Snacks and drinks on-board; Educational information and safety briefing; Diving equipment and wet-suits available at no additional cost; Assisted cage diving for divers and snorkelers; Spectacular surface viewing for non divers; Hot lunch, beer and wine served upon return to shore; Stop over for land based whale watching in Hermanus (only when whales are spotted) Drop-off at Cape Town International Airport at no additional cost. (Upon request).
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“dive master” (21 reviews)
“white shark” (34 reviews)
“cape town” (59 reviews)
LOCATION
7 Kusweg | Corner Kusweg & Geelbek Str., Kleinbaai, Gansbaai, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 532 0470
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

First of all I did some research and I knew that when it comes to mother nature nothing is garanteed. But I think there are some things that these companies can control or adapt to. So, in our day the visibility conditions in the sea...More

Thank Ana B
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

First of all we are truly happy that you had such a great tour and saw not only Great Whites, but also Bronze Whaler sharks on our tour. Unfortunately we cannot “control or adapt” to sea conditions and visibility as these are nature and out...More

Reviewed 12 October 2017

After doing extensive research on all the operating companies in Gasbaai, my pocket helped me decide on this one and I was not disappointed. My expectations were not as unrealistic as some divers who would expect to do a deep sea dive, see 5 Great...More

1  Thank Shazzi27
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Great value! Extremely fair price for the quality of the day. Pick up and drop off, light brekky/snacks and a good size lunch afterwards. Since there was time I was able to go into the cage twice 🙂 bonus! Even when you're not in the...More

Thank Emily M
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Any good reviews are most likely a result of white shark sightings. We did not see any white sharks at all. We took a chance and were unlucky. This is the nature of the excursion as nothing is guaranteed other than your transfer, meals, and...More

Thank chud1979
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Chud Thanks for your review. All guests are aware that it is a long drive to and from the diving site. It is for this reason that we guarantee the latest and most luxurious busses available in the shark diving industry. Unfortunately we cannot...More

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Originally signed up for the hunting and breach tour but this one was cancelled due to the season. But I had a great time with white shark ventures, made two cage dives and saw 5 great whites. Enough time to interact and see the shark...More

Thank Christopher_U89
Reviewed 28 September 2017

AMAZING experience. Well-run, safe, professional. Saw the most amazing sights of my life and put a big checkmark on my bucket list. Saw three great whites that the guides kept interested for the couple hours that we were there. The food was just ok, but...More

Thank psmires
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

What an amazing trip! Thanks to the whole crew from the booking to the guys cleaning up after us. Everything was organised great, we were well informed about safety and weather conditions and the chance of a no show on the sharks part but 5...More

Thank 345christellek
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This was not on my bucket list, not something I had ever wanted to do but did it for my children's sake and honestly it was one of the most amazing experiences. We had a great team who ensured that our safety was of utmost...More

Thank Colleen M
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Diving with sharks is an amazing experience, however I would not recommend doing it with this company. For a 12 hour day you actually only have around 15 minutes in the cage. Staff also quite rude and uninterested.More

Thank Kery L
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your response. No-one at our company ever guaranteed you a certain amount of time in the cage. If the sharks are active (like they were on the day of your tour), even 5 minutes is a lot in the cage as there...More

Reviewed 20 September 2017

We went on a shark dive with this company a few days ago and learned much about how misunderstood sharks really are. The educational aspect was very important to me, but I was even more surprized by how courteous and professional this company was. From...More

Thank Marete S
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Kloeksathome
369 reviews
6.88 km away
Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant
606 reviews
3.99 km away
Blue Goose
457 reviews
3.91 km away
Coffee on the Rocks
291 reviews
6.86 km away
Nearby Attractions
Marine Dynamics
1,668 reviews
.23 km away
Supreme Sharks
170 reviews
.22 km away
Great White Shark Tours
1,249 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mantababe
17 September 2017|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
99Garfield99
26 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jcarm270 | Reviewed this property |
did not use SCUBA because the visibility at the time of year we were there was only about 10-15ft and it was explained to us that the scuba bubbles tend to make the sharks really wary so they will not come in close to find... More
1
Vote