Zoo Sauvage of Saint-Felicien

Zoo Sauvage of Saint-Felicien

Zoo Sauvage of Saint-Felicien
4.5
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
About
Step into the wild at the Zoo Sauvage of Saint-Felicien, a unique destination that promises a deep dive into the world of Boreal wildlife and the cold regions of our planet. Home to over 75 species, our park offers an unparalleled opportunity to observe adorable and majestic animals, in vast natural habitats. Explore our 4.5 km of hiking trails, where nature's beauty unfolds at every turn. For an even more unforgettable experience, hop aboard our wire mesh train for a journey through the Nature Trails Park, allowing you to admire wildlife in its element without disturbance. Families will delight in our water play areas, perfect for having fun and cooling off. Every visit is a promise of wonder, learning, and fun for all ages. The Zoo Sauvage of Saint-Felicien is more than a zoo visit; it's a window to the wild world, an invitation to explore, respect, and protect the biodiversity of our planet. Join us for an unforgettable day where the splendor of nature meets adventure.
Duration: More than 3 hours
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,636 reviews
Excellent
1,117
Very good
403
Average
84
Poor
17
Terrible
15

lmcq11
La Prairie, Canada1,053 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022
The Zoo has two main components, the 65 minutes running train ride and the walking zoo with boardwalks and paths. The train area is wide with nice settings of a fort, various barns, rivers, forests and farms, however, there are not enough animals. Through the 1 hour ride, i saw 3 deers, 2 black bears, 2 cows, many buffalos, 2 wapiti heads in the bushes, many prairie dogs, some birds and that's about it. For the walking zoo, it has very nice raised boardwalks and paths that are well organized, but again with few animals. Through the 4km of walking, the highlights were 3 bears swimming and playing in a pond and 2 polar bears. There were about 15 other animals to see in all, such as 2 camels, 2 poneys, 1 raccoon, some monkeys under bushes. Although i appreciated the settings and the presentation, i found there were not enough animals in this zoo.
Written July 25, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. We have a total of 400 animals from 75 species in the Zoo. Of course, some animals may decide to rest, but our animated snacks allow you to see them in action.
Written August 1, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bidule05
France1,931 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020
In September 2019, I spent one day in “Saint Felicien zoo”.
According t o me, iIt is the most wonderful zoo in Quebec, and also probably in Canada
The animals have very large and pleasant habitats, where they can walk, play and rest freely.

I HIGHLY recommend to visit tis zoo, wherer I’ll come back with a great pleasure!
Written February 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Will
Montreal, Canada2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 • Family
This is an amazing Zoo truly incredible experience. The enclosures are beautiful and so big for the animals. The train was a really exciting time and a must do for anyone! The Zoo does warn it’s not great for people with limited mobility, we had some members of the party with limited mobility and they still found plenty to see and do.

Why 4/5? Well sadly I can’t stress this enough. Bring a packed lunch the food and Service in the canteen was horrible. The staff found the need to rudely correct our french (if it was done in a polite way this wouldn’t have been a worry) but it was in a rude manor and it appeared to purely due to us being English.
The Hotdogs where plain and we where not offered any toppings with them.
The staff handled the food without gloves and where touching there mask the entire time. It might have been an off day for them and if so I am sorry for this review however it was a sore spot on an otherwise amazing trip!
Written September 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Getaway Thank you for sharing your comments about the Zoo with us. We are sorry that your experience at the Zoo restaurant did not meet your expectations. The "rude" behavior of the staff present is of great concern to us given that customer service is a priority for the Zoo sauvage. In this sense, can you contact us by email to share more information on the situation? infozoo@zoosauvage.org Thank you in advance and look forward to welcoming you for a future visit!
Written October 5, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Breakaway44
Brossard, Canada476 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021
The zoo sauvage consist of 2 parts, the walking section where the animals are confined to a smaller space and the train ride where the animals live in an open space similar to their natural habitat. The ride is quite enjoyable and you get to see all the animals that the zoo has. Many older cabanes and sheds replicas can be observed throughout the ride.
Written June 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for sharing your comments about the Zoo!
Written July 6, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

IanD
Edinburgh, UK194 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Couples
We had a very nice visit to this zoo and spent a full day on site. It is a large area with lots of walking required but the effort is worth it to see a wide variety of animals.

As non French speakers we felt that on the train ride our experience would have been enhanced with the provision of English commentary. Surely this could be provided via a headset as they do on city bus tours and other tourist attractions.

That said we had an great day and would recommend a visit if in the area.
Written August 8, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TheGoBird
Jacksonville Beach, FL704 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022
This zoo does somethings in reverse. That makes it interesting! We human animals were in a cage as we rode the "train" while the animals in the zoo roamed free. We humans climbed around the monkeys with the opportunity to climb walls and go through a cylinder. We saw animals we'd never seen before the the location itself is spectacular. My only complaint is the train and program narratives were in French with no English option. still got five stars though.
Written August 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. As for the train ride, we can sometime arrange a bilingual ride on request.
Written August 8, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Elyoan de Praga
Prague, Czech Republic457 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023 • Family
You can feel when you visit this zoo that animals well being is there top priority, far above customer’s wishes. It is really good that way. The train was really good but really cold for us. I strongly recommend this visit.
Written February 26, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for your comment!
Written July 4, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stephanie C
Ottawa, Canada120 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
A wonderful, well-kept zoo with a great variety of animals in an attractive setting. The extremely long line-up for the train was the only downside to our day here. Great way to spend the day as a family.
Written June 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Stephanie, Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you for a future visit!
Written June 21, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Don S
Selkirk, Canada10 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2018 • Friends
We purchase tickets on line. Their web site said 3 exhibits were closed. When we got there, traveling from Ontario, and France, we found out that more that 1/2 of the zoo is closed. ( they still charged us full price) the small area that was open, many of the access points were covered with snow. The staff park their pick up trucks on the few roads that are open. So you also have to navigate around them. The old man in the grey Jeep, makes a very serious effort to run you over. All the restaurants were closed. I think that the management of this zoo has an obligation to point out that 60 % of their zoo is inaccessible, or closed, when they sell you a full price ticket. Shame on them.
Written March 16, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
From what we understand, you seem to have visited the Zoo at the end of winter time. During winter and spring time the price to visit the Zoo is 50% off. Because of the new habitats we are working on, some areas are, indeed, not accessible to the public. Because of that, we reduced the price of the ticket entrance of another 20% (over the already cut price of 50%). So, we can reassure you, you did not pay full price. Unfortunately, we think you did not get these explanation when you arrived. Our website explains what is open and closed during that period of the year. Only the pedestrian section is open during winter/spring weekdays, and you must have come during weekdays. Even if our restaurant would not have been under construction, it would have been closed. But, we have snacks and beverages available at the main pavilion. We are sorry that you did not find all these information on our website. We have a new website that was put online a few days ago. Hopefully, this information will be easier to get. Of course, having different constructions at the same time is not without disturbance for our clientele. We do the best we can to reduce the inconvenient to our visitors. We are sorry for that. The work we are doing right now will improve the well-being of our polar bears. The well-being of our animals is our priority for what concerns them. Their new habitat that will open in June will be ten times bigger than the one they have right now. The new restaurant will accommodate more people in a majestic environment. Finally, the formal polar bears habitat will become the gelada baboons habitat in June. We thank you for your visit and your comment that we take into account.
Written May 11, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Judith G
Victoria, Canada28 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2013 • Couples
Spent 6 hours there. Three are three parts: the "zoo", where animals are kept in enclosures that were spacious and it appeared they were well cared for. Feeding times are posted all over the park so you can watch. The hour long train ride through 1200 acres goes through various "settlements", and many many species of native animals roam freely. LOTS of bears, caribou, deer, sheep, elk, bison, etc. etc. There is a petting zoo and a special "Mongolia" exhibit. Two movies with super-special effects are all part of the package. We went on a cool day in September when it was not crowded and the animals were active. Would go back to Quebec (from B.C.) just to see this again!
Written September 26, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 134
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Zoo Sauvage of Saint-Felicien - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Saint-Felicien HotelsSaint-Felicien Hotel Deals
All things to do in Saint-FelicienZoos & Aquariums in Saint-Felicien
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars