We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Heron Cruises

Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
+1 855-596-2999
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing cruise to the flowerpot island

Bought tickets to go to the flower pot island for my two kids husband and me. We also had our... read more

Reviewed 18 July 2017
Ilanka B
,
Toronto, Canada
via mobile
Nice cruise

We were in Tobermory for a week so we were interested in going to Flower pot Island on a weekday... read more

Reviewed 16 July 2017
seema60
,
Toronto, Canada
via mobile
Read all 308 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
One of Tobermory's longest running businesses - Blue Heron Cruises has been operating boat tours through Fathom Five National Marine Park for over 45 years. Cruise through the crystal clear waters of Georgian Bay surrounding Tobermory taking in the vistas that include Big Tub Lighthouse and the Shipwrecks in Big Tub Harbour. Hiking trails, a historic light station, caves and the namesake Sea Stacks are waiting for you to explore on Flowerpot Island. Continuous departures from the bustling Little Tub Harbour daily (Seasonally and weather permitting).
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“jet boat” (36 reviews)
“glass bottom” (78 reviews)
“sunset cruise” (22 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 855-596-2999
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Bought tickets to go to the flower pot island for my two kids husband and me. We also had our Labrador/Shepard with us. The ship wreck was amazing and the tour was efficient. Staff was helpful and friendly

2  Thank Ilanka B
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Good to know that all the family had an amazing time and loved the sights here at the tip of the Bruce. We're pleased to offer a pet-friendly option. Thanks for sailing with Blue Heron Cruises!

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We were in Tobermory for a week so we were interested in going to Flower pot Island on a weekday. On one of the days i.e. Wednesday when it was a bit cloudy and rainy we asked them and they said it wasn't possible either...More

Thank seema60
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Glad to hear that you did manage to jump aboard and that it was worth the wait. Also that you ended the day on a delicious note! Sorry to hear the earlier cancellations seemed confusing. It may help to know that wind direction is a...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Really great staff really helpful with us and all of our camping gear and our puppy dog too! Very informative and extremely helpful they definitely made our trip a lot more easy by providing so much accessibility!

Thank glenangvos
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thanks so much for the great review of our team! Pretty sweet camping spot, too, eh?

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Everyone was friendly including the shuttle drivers you'll spot around Tobermory. We did the 12:35pm jet boat and left the island at 4:10pm on the jet boat. On the ride to the island we checked out the ship wrecks which were neat. The guys explained...More

Thank CharlesCanada87
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

It's true, there's not a bad seat on the boat and fab views in all directions! The water is warm enough for swimming now so why not come back? You'll feel 10 years younger after a quick dip in Georgian Bay ;-) Also, the closed...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017

The Glass bottom boat is just horrible. They describe it as a glass bottom boat where you could see under the water. The small windows are barely visible, so you will not be able to see anything under the water. Furthermore the boat drives you...More

1  Thank Borrii
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and, of course, we're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your cruise with us. It may help to let you know that all of our boats have the maximum glass bottom square footage allowed...More

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Went on their glass bottom boat? Consists of a 4x4 glass that if you are not in the 12 seats surrounding it you don't see a thing. Cost 150 bucks for the 4 of us for a little over an hour. 2 tour guides give...More

1  Thank Jody D
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

We'll definitely work on the commentary. It's a delicate balance between ensuring our customers can hear and not being too loud for people living and playing along the shoreline. Also, saying, "sorry, we didn't hear that", to one of our crew will ensure they work...More

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful day to be on the water. Took the glass bottom boat out and express boat back from the island. Hiked and enjoyed the beautiful vistas and amazingly clear water. Blue Heron staff were friendly and attentive.

Thank jerseygeorge16
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks JerseyGeorge for taking the time to share your experience. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your cruise, the hike, and our crystal clear water. Come on back anytime!

Reviewed 3 July 2017

The ticket booth is easy to find after a pleasant walk around the Little Tub board walk which is colourful and pretty. I was on the Blue Heron V which doesn't have a glass bottom floor but no worries. The ship circles the ship wrecks...More

Thank Keppel123
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Nice to know all was 'spot on' for your cruise with us! Especially pleased to hear that we hit a perfect balance with our commentary and that a crew member stepped in to lend a hand to capture important photo-ops as needed. We hope you'll...More

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hiking trails. Make sure to allocate 4 hours in the island to see all the trails. Hiking shoes strongly recommended.

Thank Rosi N
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Good advice! Why rush - it's a little piece of paradise ;-) Hiking shoes, yes, and add a picnic lunch to the picture and you're all set for a perfect day. Thanks for sharing.

Reviewed 29 June 2017

We took Blue Heron to Flowerpot Island. All the staff we interacted with were friendly and pleasant. The office is clean and convenient. The ride out to the island was a lot colder and windier than expected, be prepared. The glass bottom is a litte...More

1  Thank Sarah K
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Shipwreck Lee's Of Tobermory
285 reviews
.17 km away
Tobermory Brewing Company and Grill
382 reviews
.09 km away
Leeside Restaurant & Patio Bar
273 reviews
.12 km away
Crowsnest Pub
536 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
MS Chi-Cheemaun
472 reviews
.26 km away
Big Tub Lighthouse
245 reviews
.71 km away
Divers Den
326 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lily455
16 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BlueHeronCo | Property representative |
If you travel in a glass bottom cruise boat the outbound trip is 50 minutes and the return is 25 minutes. In a jet boat the outbound travel time is 25 minutes and the return time 15 minutes. And you can chose to go by one... More
0
Votes
Gabriela Z
8 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from BlueHeronCo | Property representative |
Yes, the advice from other travellers is correct. September is off-peak and booking on arrival is fine. We look forward to seeing you then!
0
Votes
Sonia S
29 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Michelle C | Reviewed this property |
It helps, in peak season. However, we booked it the morning of, and went in the afternoon. no problem. We were there the end of September last year, in what is known as the 'shoulder season' in tourist areas. The glass... More
0
Votes