Ayashe Lounge & Sound
Ayashe Lounge & Sound
3
About
We are a Cocktail and Music bar, with a chill out terrace and a rustic/modern interior. We opened in 2013, but this venue was one of the very first venues opened to the tourism from the 70,s. The original name had alwasy been Stop Bar. Open a few hours daytime during main season and normally from 7.30 pm till late all summer around. Time tables might vary but its all on our ouside boards. We play all different kinds of music, also offering some entertainment on certain nights. We normally also show all sports in our screens. We pride ourselves in our cocktail menu offering some 60+ fresh cocktails made from scratch. Also your normal mixed drinks, beers, wines, shots, etc. We have a games area that includes two pool tables, one air hockey, one football table, and kids toys grabber that always gives you a price and a darts board. We strongly reccomend that if for any reason you have any issues while in, just let us know and we will try our best to sort it out there and then :)
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


3.0
3.0 of 5 bubbles19 reviews
Excellent
8
Very good
2
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
8

Sophie
118 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 • Family
so shocked to see the bad reviews! we went here twice while on holiday and loved it both times! the waitress was friendly and attentive, and the two men at the bar were friendly too! loads of cocktail options, and really pretty lighting outside
Written September 22, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Richard B
6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Couples
Worst karaoke setup I've ever heard. Just shocking, zero atmosphere and the ladies running it don't even introduce the singers. Very strange vibe, one drink and we were gone! I could run better entertainment from a Bluetooth speaker. Avoid this place.
Written August 15, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Like replied in your other review in Google, we have been doing karaoke this summer since june, and this is the first bad review, cause you didn't like the system, didn't like the two Spanish girls running it, and they didn't "introduce the singers"... Come on, you two came Inside to tell me this already, moaning we had really good equipment inside and outside we didn't, they just bring their own equipment for 2 hours week to do a karaoke for a bit of fun, we don't aim to do Menorca's got talent or something like that, i still have to post the weekly KARAOKE videos which i will do soon, and you will be able to see how all the others can have fun on a holiday night without being introduced or the perfect equipment!!
Written August 20, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hammerlich
Lichfield, UK5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
Arrived 8 females ranging from 18 to 75
Rude doorman who just shook his head
Rude
Aggressive
Ignorant
DO NOT GO
Anyone would think we were hen do or lads holiday crowd
Written August 1, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, first of all very sorry that you felt like that. We have been 11 years in Ayashe, go through maybe 100 people a night, and it's obviously only the ones that have had a "bad experience" normally those who come to this site. We don't have doorman so it was either me or bar stuff that "shook the head" we never deny anyone entrance at all unless really there's no where to seat at all. We only have 15 tables outside and they do fill pretty quickly, so im pretty sure if we said "no" it's because there was no where to sit, or the table's you saw empty were reserved. Again sorry that you felt like that.
Written August 20, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lia
Birmingham, UK4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
2 families with older teens and grandparents, Wasn’t even allowed in fully staffed, loads of free tables and a barman/owner shaking his head at us at we walked in. Have taken the time to read Jose’s counter arguments on negative reviews and I’m afraid to say they simply don’t stand up. Advertising as chillout cocktail bar, obviously doesn’t need the custom and needs a big lesson in friendly customer service, left his waitress to deal with our exit ! Happily turned round to go elsewhere … Shame as a couple of our younger group are travel bloggers with a large instagram following. Avoid. Will head over to Facebook to leave this honest review also as the responses on here don’t stack up to our recent encounter.
Written August 1, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, first of all very sorry that you felt like that. We have been 11 years in Ayashe, go through maybe 100 people a night, and it's obviously only the ones that have had a "bad experience" normally those who come to this site. Im the one that makes all the cocktails so if we are busy which by the looks of your review we were, I have to delegate in the outside bar stuff which i rely a lot on to deal with being able to seat people or not if it's not possible. Every time i reply to a bad review is to properly explain what really could have happened as its very easy to come here and just expose things from one point of view. It's August and we are very busy on a daily basis, and our terrace is small with+-15 tables which fill up pretty quickly so maybe the tables you saw empty were reserved, if the pool tables are full and tables are full or reserved thats when we say to people that it's full, and to come back later, also because we would take ages to serve them also, we dont want or try to be rude, but we are Spanish, busy and maybe you thought like that, but its never our intention to not let people in at all. Like I said, I've been 20 years first in Flava bar, then in Ayashe etc, im originally from calan Porter, so everyone that comes regularly knows that anyway. Again sorry you felt that way but i can assure you there's always a reason and things aren't done just because... Thanks.
Written August 20, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jane d
Hastings, UK37 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 • Couples
Barman was very unimpresed when our group of 10 arrived. I'm sure he would have been happier if we'd turned around and left.

We were told as it was before the season started he didn't have several of the ingredients but didn't really explain what was available. Also moaned it would take him a long time to make 10 drinks as he was on his own.
Several of the cocktails were not good but we didn't hang around long enough to complain and went to find somewhere better!
On a positive note the pool table provided a good way to amuse us while waiting.
Written May 21, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Janed. This is Jose, i am the owner, the one that was in the bar on my own that particular day. First of all im really sorry that you felt that way, but honestly, theres two sides of every story, and let me tell you mine. So yes, you came very early in the season, and i work on my own as it is very quiet, then when it gets busier i obviously get more bar staff in to work. So that particular day i was on my own and the bar was empty. Then, all o a sudden, 4 families of 4 turned up at the same time. They all came inside and politely asked if they could seat outside, i said yes of course, told them where the cushions where, and also explained them all that, because we have 60+ cocktails in our meny that we make from scratch with fresh ingredients, because of it being so early and so quiet in the season, i dindnt have some of the ingredients yet for some particular cocktails, because you cant have fresh stawberries, banana, fruirt purees opened, and other stuff etc when its so quiet, because in a few days if you dont use them they go off. They perfectly understood, some asked for normal mixed drinks, some beer, and some asked about a particular cocktail, i said yes or no if i could make it or not, i took the orders, and they took a seat and i started preparing those 4 tables of 4 drinks. At that very precise moment your party of 10 turned up. You went straight for the outside table near the pool tables that fits 6, without asking, took another of the outside tables and chairs and joined it to the first one so you could seat 10, then came inside and took the cocktail menus from where they are on top of a table, and took them outside, this is all while im starting to prepare on my own all the other drinks, and cont come outside at all to say anything to you. Then some of you came inside already with the order of what you wanted to drink without me having had any time to tell you anything as i was preparing the other people drinks. At this time while im behind the bar, and you are at the bar trying to put the order through, and im making the other people drinks, i said to you " guys, you took the cocktails menus without asking, and its ok, but its early in the season and i cant make all of the 60+ fresh cocktails that are in the menu. You say i dindt really explain what was available... the thing is for me to be able to explain that, you should have allowed me to finish what i was doing, come to your table and let you know because imagine out of 60+ cocktails i cant tell you exactly what i can or cant do straight away, its easier if, with a bit of time, you tell me what you want and i tell you if i can or not can make it, remember 60 cocktails with some 3 or 4 ingredients thats some 200 ingredients, so i need to properly come to yoru table and go through it to let you know what can i make, but you asked me while i was making the other peoples drinks, so if you had waited a bit it could have worked out better. Also you say i moaned when i said to you it would take a long time to make your drinks. well, thats not moaning, thats actually telling you how it is, if i had not said anything and then it had taken a long time, you would have written, "cocktalls took so long to arrive".... if im on my own, and im making other peolples drinks, and then i have to make 10 individual cocktails on my own, it is going to take time, so thats what i said, sometimes when we say that thats gonna happen, people just ask for a normal mixed drink and next order they drink cocktails, remember we make them fresh, we don open an can for a cocktail. Also the cocktails were quite empty when you left so surely they werent so bad... i think you somhow just got upset, i know the weather was horrible and it was quiet, and all that but, things are not always the way one think they are. Again, sorry you felt that way, but as you see theres always an explanation and a reason why. Regards, Jose.
Written June 1, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Patrick S
Cavan, Ireland1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Couples
Barman with the worst attitude, didnt want to work so avoid at all costs. Every order seemed to be a big effort for him.
Written October 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi this is Jose, the owner. Really sorry that you felt that way, but i have had Ayashe for 11 years, and other bars here in calan porter before, and im a local here, so if you felt that way, you could have told me and we could have done something then. Not an excuse, but in october we have gone through 5 months of non stop work every night, so maybe in october, the mood is a bit different, again i dont remember the night but thats not how we normally approach our clientele, if we have time we normally chat to them, to the kids that come for change for the pool tables etc, so every person is a different world, every situation is different, so hopefully next time will be better. Regards, Jose.
Written June 1, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Louisa Smith
Enfield, UK54 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 • Couples
Good atmosphere and good drinks, pool tables and air hockey tables round the back and staff are friendly would definitely return!
Written September 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tim B
Manchester, UK24 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2019 • Couples
Possibly the worst waitresses I’ve ever encountered anywhere in the world. Clueless. Drinks took approx 15-20 mins even though bar was half empty, whilst waitress managed to squeeze in a cigarette and lengthy session studying her phone. Lord only knows what it must be like in peak season. One to avoid.
Written September 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Tim, this is Jose, the owner, i have had AYASHE since 2013 and before that i had Flava in the same resort, since 2006, and im a cala en porter local. Every year the bar stuff is different as its only seasonal work, and like you know theres a big difficulty in the last few years to get temporary bar staff for a few months. So, thats 17+ years in the business, imagine the quantity of customers and bar staff thats gone past here. I think that if you had come inside and had let me know about it, i could have corrected the situation even letting you have the drinks complimentary, that 15 minute wait for the drinks while on holiday, and the girl having a fag whilest looking at her phone, must have felt horrible since you felt the need to even come to tripadvisor to write about it. Anyway, sorry about that day, and hope you are good. If you look at our google and facebook reviews you will see a big difference in what people say. Regards.
Written June 1, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kathleen s
Dubai, United Arab Emirates18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2019
This bar is full of atmosphere and a great place for a drink. Live entertainment during the week, karaoke and great singers during the holiday season.
Written September 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Miles K
Helston, UK92 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019
Loads of work done over the winter to improve the facilities- and well worth it too. The outside area is relaxed and choice of entertainment really good.
Written August 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 17
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Ayashe Lounge & Sound - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Cala en Porter
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars