We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam

#3 of 26 things to do in Hartbeespoort Features Animals
R104 Old Rusternburg Road, Hartbeespoort 0216, South Africa
+27 12 258 9904
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$230.46*
and up
Elephant Sanctuary Tour from Johannesburg or Pretoria
More Info
US$271.64*
and up
Private Magaliesberg Day Tour from Johannesburg including Hartbeespoort Dam
More Info
US$204.33*
and up
Elephant Sanctuary Tour from Johannesburg
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
The Elephant Sanctuary has African elephants and offers an interactive elephant experience, elephant back riding and overnight accommodation. We offer hands-on educational elephant interactions. This provides our guests with a far more intimate experience with the elephants. Our dedicated staff is committed to the use of positive reinforcement elephant training methods and as a result we have relaxed elephants who enjoy interacting with our guests.Guests are guided on foot through The Elephant Sanctuary. Guides will provide in-depth information and insight into African Elephants. You will be introduced to our elephants in the forest area, and here you will be able to touch and interact with the elephants. You will see the special relationship that the elephant handlers share with their elephants and become a part of it. Walk trunk-in-hand with the elephants. See the stables where the elephants sleep at night. Guests learn about elephant anatomy and are able to feed them. Remember to wear flat walking shoes, sun hats and bring your camera. The 08h00 Elephant Experience includes brushing the elephants down.Open 7 days a week, at 08h00; 10h00 and 14h00.
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
R104 Old Rusternburg Road, Hartbeespoort 0216, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 12 258 9904
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had gone to Knynsa Elephant park before this and it was much more relaxed there. I understand that they need to be careful with the animals, but the enclosures are just too small for such big animals. I felt sorry for them and hope...More

Thank CdnNCarolina
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We only offer three tours daily so that our Elephants have enough free time to roam free. It is important to note that we work with our elephants as a group...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been to the sanctuary once before 7 years ago but had family visiting from England so took them for the interaction. My one and only complaint is that they had NO baby changing tables or facilities in any of the bathrooms I went...More

Thank Janene H
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. Your feedback is truly appropriated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, where did you hear about us? Our prices on our website is updated to the new price of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter a budding conservationist was enthralled as was I with the thorough experience we had. Not only did we feed, walk and ride an elephant but there was a lot of detail and information given that we didn't know. The price was excellent, facilities...More

Thank Candice21
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We appreciate the feedback and hope that we will see you again soon. Regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to see what nature looks like, awesome tourist destination. I just wish they had better staff, when we walked with the elephants they weren't very helpful or friendly. All and all great experience. Keep up the good work!

Thank Benita S
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. Your feedback will assist us in providing an unforgettable experience to all our guest. Regards

Reviewed 11 June 2017

I was looking forward to visit the sanctuary. however after I visited it I was so mad at the people there. The good things are you got to see the elephants and touch them and feed them and I think the management there are taking...More

1  Thank MohammedAhassan
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. This will help us to provide an unforgettable experience to all our guest. Regards

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Come to the elephant sanctuary to enjoy a feeding, photograph, and riding session with beautiful elephants. The staff is great and the elephants are even better! A great activity for people of all ages.

Thank hunterurrea
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We truly appreciate your feedback. Regards

Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

a beautiful setting for a special vist especially if you love animals and nature a must visit also nice just to go have a cup of coffee

Thank apie1967
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. WE truly appropriate the honest feedback. Hope to see you again soon. Regards

Reviewed 29 May 2017

Five elephants were very quiet and interesting to see up close, handlers quite friendly, however shop staff were disinterested and not particularly helpful, coffee for sale was undrinkable; for the very high price of admission here it is definitely not good value; will try the...More

Thank pbradley4
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Wow wow and wow, have only been once for my boyfriends birthday, was amazing day experience with the elephants, sooo informative. The boma meal after was decadent and stunningly put together, beautiful memories made.

Thank sharronb959
Reviewed 22 May 2017

My Wife and I booked an interactive day with the Elephants at the sanctuary outside Hartbeespoort dam, as well as a night over at the Tusker's lodge situated inside the sanctuary in a lush bushveld setting. The interaction with the elephants was fascinating and most...More

Thank GladystheCamel
KoosVanTonder, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We truly appreciate the feedback. It's a real pleasure for us to make your stay and experience as memorable as possible. Hope to see you again soon at Tuskers Lodge and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Silver Orange Bistro
405 reviews
2.91 km away
Siesta Tapas & Bistro
142 reviews
6.53 km away
Squires on the Dam
147 reviews
5.45 km away
Vovo Telo Hartbeespoort
40 reviews
6.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary
258 reviews
.14 km away
Hartbeespoort Dam
136 reviews
4.51 km away
Hartbeespoort Dam - Snake and Animal Park
120 reviews
5.44 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle W
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from KoosVanTonder | Property representative |
Good day. Please send me a mail to management @ monkeysanctuary coza so i can gather all the information required to assist.
0
Votes
gilawaichman
12 April 2017|
Answer
Response from KoosVanTonder | Property representative |
Good day. TripAdvisor doesn't allow us to put email address or website URL. You can find our email address on our website.
0
Votes
gilawaichman
6 April 2017|
Answer
Response from KoosVanTonder | Property representative |
Kindly send us a email in order for us to give you a quotation.
0
Votes