We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chiltern Open Air Museum

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Newland Park Gorelands Lane, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4AB, England
Phone Number:
+44 1494 871117
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 172 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 89
    Excellent
  • 60
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Surprisingly enjoyable day for the whole family

We live fairly local to COAM but have never been before. So we decided to make a day of it on the first day of the school Easter holidays. We weren't really sure what to expect... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
scn
,
United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 171: English reviews
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We live fairly local to COAM but have never been before. So we decided to make a day of it on the first day of the school Easter holidays. We weren't really sure what to expect, and with a seven and four year old, weren't sure how long they would remain interested. Anyway, we need not have worried. First of... More 

Helpful?
Thank scn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An amazing place for the family even if it's just a pop in and walk around. Many historical buildings dotted around and people who can give a little history if asked. One massive plus is becoming a member it's well worth visiting. Don't forget to See the shire horses they are Amazing

Helpful?
Thank chellar62
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been meaning to visit for over a year and have to say it was disappointing... Not much to see, I left not fully understanding what the museum was about and with that admission fee, I think I'd rather go back to the free museums in London...

Helpful?
Thank Lububu
ChilternOAM, Visitor Experience Manager at Chiltern Open Air Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and I'm sorry to hear that your visit wasn't quite what you expected. Here at Chiltern Open Air Museum we rescue and re-erect threatened historic buildings, which is explained on on our website, on the welcome board when you arrive and also on the information boards inside our buildings, including on a larger information display... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there with my grandchildren and had a wonderful day. A little hard to find as the GPS couldn't find it at first! A series of historic houses in a fabulous country park setting. I particularly liked the prefab as I have never been inside one but used to live near many. Another highlight was day old lambs and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judith K
ChilternOAM, Visitor Experience Manager at Chiltern Open Air Museum, responded to this review

Dear Judith I wanted to thank you for leaving your lovely review. We were so pleased to hear that you and your grandchildren enjoyed your time at the Museum. I'll certainly pass on your feedback to our volunteers, who will also be delighted: they give so much of their time to support the Museum, and love to hear that they've... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took my wife and son to visit during the school holidays and enjoyed an educational visit learning much more about our Roman History.

Helpful?
Thank Paul D
ChilternOAM, Visitor Experience Manager at Chiltern Open Air Museum, responded to this review

Hi Paul Thanks so much for taking the time to review your visit to the Museum. We were delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here, and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The disabled facilities at Chiltern Open Air Museum are terrible. Pathways are rocky or soft making using a wheelchair extremely hard to get around. Even parents with buggies found some parts difficult. Access to things like the cafe and some of the exhibits are totally out of bound for wheelchair users. That said, the place is lovely collection of some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin B
ChilternOAM, Visitor Experience Manager at Chiltern Open Air Museum, responded to this review

Dear Martin Thank you for taking the time to pass on your valuable feedback, and I was sorry to hear that you found it difficult to get around our site using a wheelchair. The nature of a large, outdoor, rural site means that sadly we can't do as much as we would like to make it all wheelchair accessible without... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2017

There is a antique car show at the museum when we visit there. about a hundred well-maintained old cars, bicycles are showed side by side. We can touch them and take pictures with them.A different experience to us. My 8 yrs old daughter like it alot. Besides that, the black smith experience is also a high light.All in all, its... More 

Helpful?
Thank StanleyTong
ChilternOAM, Visitor Experience Manager at Chiltern Open Air Museum, responded to this review

Hi Stanley Thank you for taking the time to review our Museum. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here, particularly our Classic Vehicles Show, and hope to see you and your family again soon. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We joined up as members in the middle of the summer, money well spent, we've had the best weekends here, every member of staff are all fantastic and passionate, bearing in mind the volunteer here, just shows what a wonderful place it is, as even the staff are happy! The role play weekend are great, we have learnt so much.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin M
ChilternOAM, Visitor Experience Manager at Chiltern Open Air Museum, responded to this review

Hi Colin Sorry that it's taken us a little while to reply to your review (we're very busy here, even when we're closed!) but I wanted to thank you for your lovely comments. We're so grateful for the support of all our members, and always delighted to hear how much they enjoy spending time here at the Museum. We also... More 

Chalfont St Giles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Have just come home from a wonderful afternoon exploring the site - the children loved the 'big horses', sheep close enough to really see even though the size of the cows in the paddock were daunting to the littlest! We didn't visit Santa because there was too much to do - making snow flakes (Daddy got into a pickle), making... More 

Helpful?
Thank SonnyDisposition
ChilternOAM, Visitor Experience Manager at Chiltern Open Air Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your lovely comments about our Christmas event and, whilst we're sorry that it's taken us a little time to reply to them, we were all delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time. Last year's Christmas event was the busiest ever and all our volunteers were working flat out,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I bought an annual pass and visited several times this year. Had we had more free time, we'd have been lots more too. The children loved it and showed no signs of getting bored. Periodically during open season, the museum runs themed weekends, which involve reenactments and themed activities. This year we saw suffragettes protesting, watched an Elizabethan sword fight,spoke... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mugawump
ChilternOAM, Visitor Experience Manager at Chiltern Open Air Museum, responded to this review

It's always lovely to receive feedback from our Annual Pass holders, as their support means to much to us, and we were delighted to hear how much you and your family enjoy your visits to the Museum. We have another action-packed events season planned for this year, and we hope you'll enjoy this year just as much. More 

Travellers who viewed Chiltern Open Air Museum also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Waddesdon, Aylesbury Vale
West Wycombe, High Wycombe
 

Been to Chiltern Open Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chiltern Open Air Museum and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chiltern Open Air Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?