We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Applewood Farm

Features Animals
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
More
About Applewood Farm
Follow us on social media @applewoodfarmstouffville Applewood is a small family run, family friendly farm. We offer pick your own strawberries, apples, and pumpkins in season. Applewood Farm is your place to spend the day picking strawberries and apples. We strive to make our farm a true-to-farming experience for you and your family to take part in. Applewood Farm is located minutes from the 404 or 407 on McCowan Road in Stouffville, which allows for easy access from the city as well as surrounding areas. We look forward to welcoming you to our home.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
See all hours

Applewood Farm
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
31Reviews2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
  • 4
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
pd32 wrote a review Sep. 2019
Toronto, Canada134 contributions70 helpful votes
My daughter, nine month old and myself visited the farm today, enduring 30* temperatures and long lines to enter. Pleasantly surprised that seniors are free! But surely there must be a faster way of processing the entry - have two more staff perhaps? We were confused on where to go and yes I do read signs. We entered a long row of trees and walked and walked but the trees were bare. We finally came upon a lush supply of apples but alas on the other side of a rope barricade with DANGER signs not to enter, Maybe there were land mines🤪.! Our only information came from other visitors. The wagon ride out to the pumpkin/squash patch was fun. The driver should give a little heads up before he departs as we all lunged forward as he unexpectedly started the tractor. No problem if you aren’t holding a baby or a senior recovering from hip surgery. The roadway out is the same one in and if you think that getting a parking spot right up near the entrance is a good idea, think again. Pedestrians with their kids and pumpkins are trying to maneuver around not only cars trying to back out ( oh woe) but foolish drivers trying to enter when they’ve been told by an employee not to ( only one on duty) . Despite what sounds like grumbling, we did have a lovely afternoon. I got to pick a ginormous squash which I’m turning into soup. We will return perhaps mid week Wed-Fri
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie P, Owner at Applewood Farm
Responded Sep. 23, 2019
Yikes!!! It sounds like you made the best of a crazy busy and crazy hot day at the farm. Sorry that there were a few "bumps" during your visit. We do appreciate that you found the fun in the day anyways. We will take note of your comments and try to do better. To be honest, we were expecting a rain day yesterday. Instead we got a scorcher, and huge crowds. We are very grateful.♥️ Thank you again! Enjoy your soup...yummy! See you on a weekday next time.😊🍎🎃
Read more
Travelerz2020 wrote a review Jul. 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
There are no strawberries but they still will charge $10 per person to enter. What a rip off. On finding there were no strawberries left, we wanted to sit at a picknick table to eat our lunch but they will not let you do that. Some kid has the unfortunate summer job of delivering this horrible message to potential customers. Do they want you to come back later? I guess they hate people. They will even charge an 18-month-old the same fee. Do not go here. They will find a way to make you feel horrible.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie P, Manager at Applewood Farm
Responded Jul. 13, 2019
Wow... Not even sure how to address this. First of all, we only charge for ages 3-65. Your 18 month old would have been free. $10 includes the cost of your strawberries. We have a beautiful crop of berries today, not sure when you visited?? If you came to the farm and were told we had slow picking by our staff, who are also our children, it was to save you the disappointment of coming and not finding any strawberries to pick. We clearly update our phone message and Facebook page multiple times as day as the picking conditions change. We are after all, running a business. If you wish to use our picnic tables and play yard you must enter the farm. If you enter the farm, then you must pay the fee. There was no deception, we did not lure you in under false pretense. We strive to offer a fair and fun outing for our many repeat guests. Sorry we were not the farm for you.
Read more
Karyn M wrote a review Jan. 2019
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada26 contributions9 helpful votes
I have been here a few times for strawberry picking with the family and to visit the winery with my girlfriends. The strawberry picking is very fun and you get a tractor ride, which my son loved. For the winery check in advance if they are doing sampling. I went once before and they weren’t doing it which makes it hard to buy wine as it’s fruit wines that you likely haven’t tried before. Went back with girlfriends another day when they were doing sampling and it was amazing. Highly recommend their cider and the Apple jack! The wines were good too!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie P, Owner at Applewood Farm
Responded Jan. 31, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your support. Hope to see you again for strawberry picking. Stay warm!!
Read more
Pathfinder324208 wrote a review Oct. 2018
6 contributions
We visited the farm in group of 4. Entry fee is $10/person which includes visit to apple farm, pumpkin and squash farm and also corn maze. Good day spent picking up apples and tasting different varieties. Corn maze was good too, although because it was raining in morning it was little muddy. Winery is next door to the farm, but could not visit the winery as it was closed. However the shop had few wines, cider and jams made from local produce. If you're planning on visiting, made sure you carry hand sanitizer and wear proper boots to be walking in field.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie P, Owner at Applewood Farm
Responded Dec. 18, 2018
Thank you taking the time to review. Glad that you enjoyed your visit even in the rain.😁
Read more
Chithra R wrote a review Oct. 2018
2 contributions
My 3 years old son enjoyed a lot than us!!! by walking on top of hay stacks and love the mini tractor cycle for kids. big pumpkin patch is so much fun to pickup own pumpkins.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie P, Owner at Applewood Farm
Responded Dec. 18, 2018
Thanks for the review. Glad that you had fun. Kids love that draw bale mountian...adults too!
Read more
Previous