We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

York-Durham Heritage Railway

Share

York-Durham Heritage Railway
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
26
All photos (26)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good25%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“train car”(3 reviews)
“great outing”(3 reviews)
About
The York Durham Heritage Railway is a non-profit heritage and tourist railway. The YDHR operates train excursions between Stouffville and Uxbridge on weekends from June to October using restored heritage equipment. The YDHR also maintains a small...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
19 Railway St, Uxbridge, Ontario L9P 1E5, Canada
Website
+1 905-852-3696
Call
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
18
15
11
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
18
15
11
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balloon animals train car great outing bench seats vintage train petting zoo guitar player my friend conductor halloween stouffville clown volunteers passengers thomas baggage event
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

To be honest the drive up from Toronto had more vibrant colors than on the train ride. Many cedars and corn fields, and a quarry.....but not a lot of fall colours of leaves. A guitar player goes up and down the train singing we had...More

Thank Lara W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend bought me on the Fall Colours tour; we found it interesting and the conductor advised about some scenic spots, e.g. which Schitts Creek was filmed. It was nice seeing the homes and fall colours scenery. This is a great outing for families, children,...More

Thank Nadine B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our party of six was celebrating the birthday of a senior 84 years young. This looked like a great idea. However, while interesting, this trip could have been amazing! Kathy, the person who organized the online booking was very helpful but it would have been...More

Thank Lynne I
TrainMikeJ, Public Relations Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lynne, thank for taking the time to leave some feedback regarding your recent visit with us. The Lincolnville delay is not a typical scenario. We normally can call in and receive clearance to Stouffville in a few minutes. The weekend your are describing was...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were all excited and drove over 2 hours to get there only to be hugely disappointed! Here is the list of reasons why! - station is so tiny, not many people can fit inside so most froze outside - barely any parking -boarding was...More

1  Thank Diva G
TrainMikeJ, Public Relations Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Diva. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our station is a typical heritage station of the 1910's rural Ontario. It is historically protected and, as such, cannot be modified. Most of the station is accessible to passengers; the former waiting...More

Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed with this tour! The track is surrounded by shrubs and barely any scenic views so in essence this is no different than your ordinary ride on the go train. I don’t know how the price is justified especially since it doesn’t feel like...More

1  Thank sharsef
TrainMikeJ, Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our railway. The season's schedule is planned at the beginning of each year. We cannot control when mother nature will change the colours of the leaves. Generally, the scheduling of the Fall Colours trips is reasonably close...More

Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Worst trip we ever took.ticket counter woman was more interested with her cell phone than serving customers. Boarding was very disorganized nobody knew where they had to go. Tour was through a shrub lined rail with no colour of trees. Will not recommend.....total waste of...More

2  Thank Dino B
TrainMikeJ, Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Hi Dino. Thank you for taking the time to review our railway. The season's schedule is planned at the beginning of each year. We cannot control when mother nature will change the colours of the leaves. Generally, the scheduling of the Fall Colours trips is...More

Reviewed August 21, 2018

Well with a 2 1/2 year old in tow (or was he dragging us?) we had a hoot! I have no idea who among the volunteers/ staff were Thomas's or who was YDHR's but I guess that's the point: they made a seamless team. The...More

Thank W W
TrainMikeJ, Public Relations Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review us and letting us know of your excellent day with us. The Day Out With Thomas is our biggest event of the year, raising funds for our non-profit railway. Our volunteers, who work hard all year...More

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed in this event. We drove 1 hr to pay $100 for nothing. Tickets to this should be no more than $10/person. The train ride is described as "scenic" but is nothing of the kind. Its a 5km/h ride between trees. There is nothing...More

2  Thank Kordian W
TrainMikeJ, Public Relations Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

HI Kordian. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. The pricing is a standard price set by Mattel, not the YDHR. You will find similar pricing at most Day Out With Thomas stops across Canada and the US this season. This event...More

Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

This was a great event. I had been worried reading some of the reviews but our extended family all had a great time with 2 grandparents and 3 kids under age of 3 to keep happy - probably best ages for this I feel. Lots...More

Thank BenjaminSAAB
TrainMikeJ, Public Relations Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We took steps for this year's event, based on customer feedback, to improve pedestrian traffic flow around the site. I am glad to hear you noticed this year's changes. Thomas was attached...More

Reviewed August 14, 2018

What a waste of time. I thought we would see the countryside, but not only were the windows so dirty it was impossible to see through them. The train only went for about 5 miles down the track roughly 10 minutes. The noise inside the...More

Thank Arthur F
TrainMikeJ, Director of Public Affairs at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Hi Arthur. Thank for you taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you only rode our short Day Out With Thomas trip, not our full excursion train. The two are very different. DOWT offers a 20-25 minute return train trip so...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
San-Man Motel
25 reviews
12.30 km away
Comfort Inn
222 reviews
24.21 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket
242 reviews
24.60 km away
Best Western Voyageur Place Hotel
394 reviews
28.92 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 48 nearby restaurants
Urban Pantry
235 reviews
.21 km away
Tin Mill
216 reviews
.33 km away
Tin Cup Caffe
55 reviews
.13 km away
The Passionate Cook's Bistro
26 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 26 nearby attractions
Roxy Theatres
52 reviews
.25 km away
The Second Wedge Brewing Company
43 reviews
.08 km away
Thomas Foster Memorial
32 reviews
.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
1CanadianLady
November 5, 2018|
Answer
Response from TrainMikeJ | Property representative |
Hi. The Thomas engine prop is owned by Mattel. It is only used during Mattel's Day Out With Thomas, then shipped onto the next host railway. It has no pulling power, thus would not be helpful to pull all seven cars. The... More
0
Votes
Candice M
September 10, 2017|
Answer
Response from TrainMikeJ | Property representative |
One way is approximately one hour, give or take a few minutes.
1
Vote
Todd S
October 21, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TrainMikeJ | Property representative |
We do recommend buying ahead of time so that you have the best choice of seats as we use an assigned seating system. Special events, such as our Santa trains, almost always sell out before the train date and usually do not... More
0
Votes