Things to do in Mallaig

THE 15 BEST Things to Do in Mallaig

Things to Do in Mallaig


Top Attractions in Mallaig

These rankings are informed by traveller reviews—we consider the quality, quantity, recency, consistency of reviews, and the number of page views over time.


*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

What travellers are saying

  • Gill
    Drumnadrochit, UK140 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    The beach is outstanding, white beautiful sands,very clean, dog loved it,not busy,car parking close by! Water very clear!
    Written October 16, 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
  • callum l
    Scotland17 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nice, pleasant and easy walk on a good path with great sea views and plenty of flora and fauna. Great for building up an appetite before eating in one of Mallaigs great restaurants.
    Written April 30, 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
  • woodgnome0161
    Sale, UK23 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Excellent ferry service and good value. Easy to book online and easy to join ferry on arrival at the ferry terminal. Well managed and organised.
    Written August 30, 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
  • Martin R
    Chester, UK96 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Finding ourselves with two hours to kill before our booking for supper in Mallaig, we decided to have a look at Loch Morar - the deepest loch in Scotland. There is only one single track public road giving access to the loch which is on the North side and extends to just under a quarter of the length of the loch. Beyond this is a vehicular track not open to the public for vehicles, but available for bikes and walkers, and this leads to Swordland, approximately half way along the North side, from which a short trek North takes you to Tarbet on Loch Nevis and a ferry back to Mallaig, which is awesome in itself. At the Easterly end of the public tarmac road there is a very small car park giving access to the track. Our trip however was limited for time, and we were in a car, but we thoroughly enjoyed it - breathtaking views despite it being a murky day, and places to stop lochside to walk along beaches. Definitely recommended, and I'd imagine the walk or bike ride to Tarbet for the ferry back (check times!) would be awesome.
    Written September 28, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
  • Alison K
    27 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely friendly crew picked us up after our walk along Loch Morar. The dinghy to the boat was an added bonus. The views back were stunning. Jane’s restaurant recommendation was spot on. All in all couldn’t fault it.
    Written May 1, 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
  • P_Aldrich2013
    Reading, UK155 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    An interesting little museum, close to the railway station. Lots of old photos which illustrate the history as well as artifacts.
    Written April 26, 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
  • LightPacker794633
    Croydon, UK8 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Hired bikes for family to cycle to Arisaig beaches and Loch Morar - bikes in good nick, rates reasonable and staff friendly ( thanks Duncan)
    Written August 10, 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
  • Euan C
    54 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    A great place to sit and admire the view over the bay. Small parking layby at the bottom and some decent steps to follow to the top
    Written May 7, 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
  • Kenneth L
    Newmachar515 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We travelled to Rum from Mallaig on the Loch Nevis ferry. Although the vessel is quite old, it was very clean and the passenger lounge was pretty comfortable with plenty seating and tables. The cafe service a selection of hot meals and sandwiches. We had their soup which was freshly made and very tasty.
    The Calmac staff were friendly.
    The news is often about an unreliable service but we found it on time, both going outward and on the return. Certainly there was nothing at all to complain about. I would have no hesitation in using Calmac services again.
    Written June 7, 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
  • DJM1945
    Montrose, UK1,858 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    The location for St Patrick's Church could hardly be better as it looked towards the water and the building is whitewashed and looks superb.
    Written May 11, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
  • DJM1945
    Montrose, UK1,858 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    This a beautifully carved monument which is dedicated to all those fishermen who have been lost at sea. It is located in a an appropriated place very close to the harbour.
    Written May 11, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
  • Rhonda L
    Ubud, Indonesia29 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    We had a terrible encounter with Father Stanislaw. After reading many great reviews we decided to book the Chapel cottage attached to the church.

    We chose this accommodation as we spotted a fireplace in the pics and we really had our heart set on having a fire.

    Soon arrival we noticed a not saying do not use the fire so we messaged and politely expressed we were disappointed we couldn’t use the fire as we chose the accommodation specifically because it had a fire. We received a response from Father Stanislaw saying he was sorry we were disappointed, our money would be refunded and we were to vacate and leave the key in the lockbox.. we were confused how it escalated to us politely expressing our disappointment to being told to leave.

    We were trying to process this bizarre situation when Father Stanislaw showed at our door. He said as we were dissatisfied we were to leave. I expressed that we had driven 5 hours and I had terrible back pain due to a recent injury. It was 6pm, I was in agony, in a remote area and we would like to stay the night and leave the next day. He said no please vacate now. He was cold and heartless.

    We were totally confused and shocked. We had a man dressed as a priest, claiming to be a priest being totally cruel and it was actually quite traumatising.
    Written October 27, 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
All things to do in Mallaig
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars