We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at The Margate Resort

Room/Suite (35)
4 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$159
Orbitz.comUS$159
Expedia.comUS$159
PricelineUS$159
eDreamsUS$159
CheapTicketsUS$159
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... the indoor pool and jacuzzi..very clean and very nice The room had a view of the lake and was a good size Bathroom...
... left in the dresser drawers AND under the furniture in the room is completely unacceptable and should never happen. If...
... popcorn and snow cones. We stayed in a lake view room. I was disappointed the sliding glass doors didn’t open. The...
Most popular question about the rooms
HI, do they still have picnic tables in the grassy area outside the Inn Building? A few years ago we stayed there and were able to eat lunch right outside our room.
Answer from happytraveler1971
Aug. 2017 |
yes they do

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Heather M wrote a review Jun. 1
Hawaii120 contributions63 helpful votes
We had an early check in ..friendly staff
We enjoyed the indoor pool and jacuzzi..very clean and very nice
The room had a view of the lake and was a good size
Bathroom amenities ok ..could have used more for the second day
Beds a bit disappointing ..squeaked when you turn and bedding just ok ..
Room clean ..nice fridge and coffee maker
They have a communal microwave in the lob area
You order breakfast by the internet then pick up ...nothing special but enough
Had an issue with internet but the very nice owner helped me get on and all was good ..
Room a bit pricey but the views are spectacular
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
rad9496 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Harwinton, Connecticut7 contributions4 helpful votes
Now let me start by saying that the COVID-19 era that we all are living in will undoubtedly alter how resorts have to do business. Granted. With that being said, as a guest I expect certain amenities to be present at the place we're staying at regardless of the current Pandemic situation or any other situation.

Simple things like having a shower that does not back up every time you use it or having old garbage left in the dresser drawers AND under the furniture in the room is completely unacceptable and should never happen. If anything, you'd think that the housekeeping staff would make the rooms EXTRA clean and sanitized in the COVID era we are in! Other simple things (although it may be Policy for them) like expecting all the occupants of the room to only use 1 roll of toilet paper for the 6 days they're there is preposterous! Use some common sense. You ask how many people are staying there, right? Common sense should count for something! Why should I have to go through the hassle of having to ask for additional toiletries for my room? Really?! Annoying. The WiFi coverage was terrible. Very little bandwidth available and I could barely get online. Mostly all the amenities were shut down because of COVID. No indoor pool, sauna, exercise room, restaurant, game room, etc... Speaking of food, the only open thing was the Tiki Bar on the beach but the prices were jacked up! Unbelievable. No paddleboards or Kayaks or canoes or anything like that available at the beach area, either.

Financially, it would've been nice if they offered some sort of a discount or a voucher for a free night to guests who stayed with them since the majority of the resort was not open for you to use. I still paid the full price, though! I understand that because of COVID you can't do certain things. I get it. But offer something back to those of us who still chose to stay with you. We could've chosen to stay home and not give you our hard-earned money or go somewhere else and then where would you be? Probably seeking a loan from the government to carry you through this time.

I've stayed here several times and quite honestly, I would be inclined to stay somewhere else in this area next time. Sorry, Margate.... you have some work to do.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: Stay away from the beachfront rooms. Very loud at night.
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort
Responded Sep. 26, 2020
First, let me apologize that The Margate fell short of your expectations. We never want a guest to stay in a room with a clogged drain, but this is not an uncommon occurrence in hotels. We do our best to eliminate these troubles with preventative care, but it sounds as though we missed that issue in your room. Trash being left behind in a room is unacceptable and we want to apologize for that happening to you. Whether it is left in a drawer or under furniture, we do not approve of this and it is not our standard nor should be any hotel’s standard. As with any complaint, we wish that it was registered with management during your stay so we could investigate the issue, determine who was responsible for the mistake, and take corrective action. We understand you believe it is preposterous that the bathroom is stocked with one extra roll of toilet paper. As you mentioned in your review, it is our policy to leave one additional roll along with the roll that is currently on the fixture. We have never refused to provide guests with extra toiletries for their room when requested. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day and is fully stocked in the event you need extra supplies in the middle of the night. The American Hotel and Lodging Association (AHLA) conducted a survey that revealed 86% of travelers nationwide are looking for hotels that are currently suspending automatic daily stay-over services to help alleviate the potential of COVID contamination through human interaction. The Margate has been following that effort since reopening from COVID shutdown. All we ask of our guests is to participate in that effort by dialing “0” to reach the front desk to schedule your stay-over services if desired. Over the past several months The Margate team has put in enormous efforts to ensure the safety and well being of our guests during this time. We have been following the AHLA’s Safe Stay guidelines in a nationwide effort to help combat the spread of COVID-19. Along with following these guidelines, increasing our housekeeping protocols and enforcing new COVID related policies with employees, we had to make the difficult decision to keep the "congregate" amenities closed throughout the summer to maintain the highest level of safety for our guests. We understand there have been a lot of new changes with this pandemic that are out of the realm of normalcy for all of us and we feel badly that it has negatively impacted your experience. We appreciate you staying with us and are very sorry to lose your business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachbum22353 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Rowley, Massachusetts56 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed three nights at the Margate. It was very nice. The swimming area is great. There are beach chairs available, and yes people do put their towels on them early, that’s just how it goes. There are shady areas on the lawn to relax as well. The sunsets were nice to watch. The food at the beach bar/deck was decent to good. Servers were friendly but could use a little more training. Coconut shrimp and nachos were great. The bar needs to be kept cleaner, lots of flies. One night they had an outside movie and served complimentary popcorn and snow cones. We stayed in a lake view room. I was disappointed the sliding glass doors didn’t open. The room was clean and yes a bit dated but it seems the entire area is. If you needed something from house keeping you simply gave them a call and they were there immediately. There is an indoor and outdoor pool, along with a nice outdoor fireplace but due to the current pandemic they were not open. Usually they serve a continental breakfast but again were unable to at this time so you could order breakfast items the night before on line and pick it up inside the main building the next morning. Inside there was another fireplace a restaurant and bar which were closed due to the current situation. There is a dock for boats or I saw people anchor their boats overnight to the left of the swimming area. Non guests also anchor their boats there during the day and hang out. Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely go back!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort
Responded Aug. 19, 2020
Thank you very much for this outstanding and well balanced review that not only touches on numerous aspects of your experience, but also offers criticism in a constructive and helpful way. We can't find anything inaccurate about this review, and we are always working to improve the resort so we appreciate all of the observations you have made. So in this response I suppose we will touch upon a few of the planned improvements we have coming up. Having already completed our Inn and West building renovations along with the main lobby, courtyard fireplace area, beach bar, and several other areas, the Lakefront building guest rooms are next and will be completed in stages. You mentioned that the sliding glass doors no longer open, and that is correct. We did this for a half dozen very good standalone reasons that are unrelated to each other, and most likely the upper floors of that building will remain that way. However we do have a new room type planned for the bottom floor of the Lake building. I don't want to reveal too much here, but in the coming years, the beach level rooms of the Lake building will be the accommodations of choice for guests who want to be able to fully experience the beach side atmosphere. Thank you for also mentioning the new amenity we just started this summer. Movie night is set up outside near our beach area and so far it has been a big hit. Due to the closure of our indoor amenities because of COVID, we wanted to offer something outside at night for family fun. And our guests keep asking for more and more movie nights. So I think this will become a permanent summer offering even when things get back to normal. Thank you again for a great review and we hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katt51 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Lakewood Ranch, Florida112 contributions54 helpful votes
We were somewhat disappointed with the Margate. It is located on the bay and had a nice outdoor space, but we found that it was completely monopolized by large family groups claiming chairs early in the morning and blocking anyone else's view of their child on the sand. Also, they offered a continental grab & go breakfast which was fine, but unless you went to the beach bar, there was no other option for food because of the virus. The room itself was big, clean and comfy. I would classify the Margate as a family vacation place...it was okay, but I wouldn't go back.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort
Responded Aug. 14, 2020
Thank you for being our guest and posting a review of your stay. We are happy to hear you were able utilize the “Grab & Go” continental breakfast we recently implemented. We wanted to provide our guests with all the same food outlets that we’ve always offered, so we created this option as a substitute to the standard continental breakfast and hot buffet we had prior to the pandemic. We are also pleased to hear that your guest room was to your liking. We are definitely a family vacation resort. We always have been and our beach area is our main attraction, so we were surprised to read that it was the only negative impact on your stay. The Margate Resort is proud to offer the largest combination of private green space and beachfront anywhere in the Lakes Region. Countless large families from all over New England reserve multiple rooms at The Margate as their summer vacation spot and most of them know all the inside tricks. One of those tricks is getting to the beach area early to claim lounge chairs, pick a spot, and set up for the day. That being said, with 1000 feet of total lake frontage, and several large lawn areas adjacent to the beach, there is always space for more guests. However we understand that some other guests had negative impact on your stay and would advise anyone encountering a similar problem to seek out our beach manager who is on duty every day. The beach manager can provide extra lawn chairs and also help you find a good spot either on the main beach or one of the other two side beaches that most guests are usually unaware of. We are thankful you chose to stay with us and hope you give us another try if your travels bring you back to the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breanna A wrote a review Jul. 2020
3 contributions7 helpful votes
Extremely disappointed.
Let me start by saying we are a VERY easy going family who are just happy to get away once in a while. My family of 5 booked a lake view room for a 3 night stay. When we arrived we were upset by the outdated room. It was very damp and musty with water stains on the ceiling. With that said, we gave it a chance and went down to the beach.

When arriving back to the room my 8 yr old daughter went to shower and noticed fecal matter all under the toilet. This was our first time in the bathroom in the room so this 100% was left from a previous guest. The bathroom should not only be cleaned and safe for guests to use, but this is a time of EXTREME precautions in which all rooms need to be sanitized from top to bottom.

We did not feel safe in this hotel. If we noticed that who knows what we weren’t seeing. During Co-vid cleanliness is the most important priority so we had to leave that night and book else where. We had to leave at 10pm with an 8, 6 and 2 yr old. Horrible!

It has been almost a week since and I never even heard a word from the hotel manager. No apology no anything. Horrible service, horrible management.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort
Responded Jul. 29, 2020
We are very disappointed that we were unable to follow up with extra customer service on top of what was provided to these guests the night they were here, but the phone number on file is invalid and they won't respond to the emails we’ve sent. While the content of this review appears to be the ultimate in hotel nightmares, there is a lot of information missing. First, let's start with the customer service aspect of this. These guests reported an issue with their room at approximately 9:30pm, six hours after checking in at 3:30pm that day. Our manager quickly responded to the situation and asked to be allowed to investigate the problem; however the guests refused to allow him into the room. Anytime there is a complaint of this nature, management will go directly to the room to see exactly what the guest is seeing and experiencing. Because they didn’t want to allow us into their room, we took their word for it. Our manager offered to move the guests into a newly renovated room. He took the husband to see the room, which he thoroughly inspected and verified it was acceptable and even took pictures to show the rest of the family. However, the guests chose not to move to that room, and instead wanted to check out. Considering the severity of their claim, we checked the guests out of the hotel that night with a full refund, no penalty, and with sincere apologies from our manager on duty. This was all within a half hour of the issue being reported to us, with several levels of management involved by telephone. Investigating the matter and determining the validity of their claim was our next step. Our Operations Manager and Executive Housekeeper both checked the room the next day. Every part of the room was heavily used, both beds used, quite a bit of trash remaining, shower was used, wet towels, and some of the hotel towels appeared to have been used to clean up some wine or juice that may have spilled. For a six hour occupancy, it seemed on par with a room that had been occupied for many days. With all the effort our managers put in to try and confirm the guests claim, they couldn’t find the "stuff" that was supposedly on the bathroom floor. We knew what to look for, and we looked everywhere for it, even on the walls. Nothing was ever found. In fact, our investigation revealed that the previous occupants of the room had also spilled some sort of paint or nail polish and our Executive Housekeeper was heavily involved in cleaning that bathroom with bleach, solvents, and magic erasers right before these guests arrived. Although she is human, she is unlikely to miss something like this while cleaning a room, especially with the heightened awareness of our entire housekeeping department due to COVID. We attempted to call the guests a good half dozen times over the next several days, but the phone number we had on file only went to a recorded message that the number was out of service. These guests made their reservation online and this was the phone number provided by the guests. We also tried to e-mail the guests, but did not receive any response. So at that point, we just chalked this one up as something totally out of the ordinary, discussed with Housekeeping to be even more vigilant than they already are, and for everyone to continue to try their best. While we take any reported issue, especially of this magnitude, very seriously, with no additional information there isn't much more we can do. Was this all a big misunderstanding? Possibly. Maybe one of the children simply had an accident? Anything is possible. But without being able to speak with these guests we have to consider the claim that nobody in a family of five used the bathroom for six hours, their phone number doesn't work and they won't return e-mails, they wouldn't let us investigate the situation before they left, wouldn't accept a fresh newly renovated room in a different building, are now reporting we have terrible customer service, and we never could verify 100% the issue existed in the first place. Considering we responded quickly, provided options to rectify the situation, gave them a full refund with apologies that night, all while unable to corroborate anything, what more can we possibly do? We are not trying to say their claims or experience was untrue, but this is how our investigation has turned up and without being able to communicate further with the guests, we aren’t able to provide them with a better solution or even inform them of the extensive investigation we conducted after their departure. The Margate Resort is an accredited business with the Better Business Bureau, and maintains an A+ rating because of how we handle situations like this. These guests are always welcome to contact us to discuss any additional information we are unaware of or may have missed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
123456

Questions & answers about the rooms

Answer from MargateResort
Dec. 2016 |
Hello, and thank you for your interest in our New Years Eve package. We are completely sold out of our New Years packages at this time due to space limitations in our main lounge. But to answer your question, no we do not sell dinner & entertainment packages without the lodging portion included. Thanks again for your interest, and if you decide you'd like to get a package for next year, the NYE packages usually go on sale a few weeks before Thanksgiving, and are usually sold out by the first week of December. Thanks again, and happy holidays!
0 votes
PreviousNext
1