We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Jenolan Caves House

Room/Suite (253)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... wide staircases and photos of times gone by. Large, clean room and nice ensuite - no TV of course (as stated) but came...
We stayed at the Lodge behind Caves House, the room was large, the decor is tired, it had a king size bed and two singles which...
... The carpets are thread bare, the ceilings in the dining room are flaking paint. You had to pre book dinner and pay a...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Kelv_P wrote a review Jun. 12
Brisbane, Australia5 contributions
Thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night stay at Caves House. Lovely old buildings with wide staircases and photos of times gone by. Large, clean room and nice ensuite - no TV of course (as stated) but came prepared. Had the 2 course dinner in the Chisolm Dining room. Quality food and more than we could eat, sitting around the large fire.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Jenolan Caves House
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Kelv_P, Greetings from the Jenolan Caves House! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Chef Mark and team are delighted to see recognition and thank you personally. With a terrible weather events earlier in the year and related precinct closures, we are going through considerable change in our operations. Hope we see you again for either a bit of Christmas is July or a decadent High Tea at Chisolms. Hope to see you again at Jenolan. Please follow us on our social media handles to learn about our projects, updates and new offers. Be safe, Jenolan Caves Reserve Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gayle p wrote a review Mar. 2021
Sydney, Australia33 contributions48 helpful votes
We stayed at the Lodge behind Caves House, the room was large, the decor is tired, it had a king size bed and two singles which were very comfortable. The problem is that is only had two chairs. It has a small kitchenette, my friend who are short could not reach the kettle on the top self or the mugs on the bottom self, so lucky I am 178. I would I like to see a small table and three chairs even fold away.
We had our evening meal in the dining room in Caves House, it was excellent perfectly cooked and presented. The restaurant is tried and needs refreshing. We had High Tea the next next day, which was presented beautifully, the the scone I am sure we gluten-free, not a good taste and they crumbled. We did not order gluten-free. The staff were excellent. For the price the accomodation was good. Would have dinner there again, but not high tea.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
justcruizen wrote a review Mar. 2021
Sydney, Australia207 contributions220 helpful votes
I am amazed this place can still function, well barely. We stayed 1 night. If I had my time again I would have booked an extra night in Katoomba and driven here and back in 1 day. The building is really run down. I would have thought that like many other hotels the Covid closure would give then time for a tidy up. The windows have not been cleaned in years, I'd say 5 or more. The carpets are thread bare, the ceilings in the dining room are flaking paint.
You had to pre book dinner and pay a booking fee!! ( never in my life have I ever). They knew exactly how many were dining and the times, yet they had 1 staff to run the entire restaurant and bar area. There was 1 table of ten an about 10 couples dining. The poor guy was so stressed and didn't know who was next. It took an hour before others gave him a hand. He did a fantastic job but management should be fired.
The food quality was very basic. the rooms had no heating and it was to get down to 6 deg that night.

Cave tours are fantastic.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Jenolan Caves House
Responded Mar. 8, 2021
Dear justcruizen, Greetings from Jenolan Caves! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are partially in agreeance with your comment tagline, as we really wish to all patrons to stay in Blue mountains, Oberon, other nearby regional areas and definitely at Jenolan. With ravaging bushfires, floods and the pandemic, Jenolan was closed for better part of late 2019 to end of 2020. The work and money invested to bring back the site to function has actually amazed most of us. From re-laying water distribution to setting up severs, from setting up electricity network to have our basic internet network back. The floods had damaged almost all precinct and the guides offices, visitor shop and ticketing office are buildings that are still waiting to be functional. We have received a $19.5 million grant from the NSW govt. to fix dated hardware in the precinct and upgrade it to modern standards. The first part of the upgrade project was completed during the Pandemic closures when 6900 cubic meters of debris was removed to clear out Blue lake. This was given priority to ensure no damages to 600 old Platypus boroughs and the native platypus that live around Jenolan. We are also working on the upgrade to the 120+ year old Jenolan Caves House, which will include, a complete electrical high current upgrade (to accommodate Air Conditioning, Ventilation and new equipment loads), a refurb to all furnishing, carpets, furniture, room amenities, restaurant and bar redesign. We will also add relevant Fire safety standards and other building code defined upgrades to this heritage structure. With cleaning, because we are in the middle of a valley surrounded by parks land and in a delicate Karst environment, we do not use any harmful chemicals, insecticides etc. within the precinct. This increases spider and other insect activity. We personally are looking into getting some sort of leniency in this aspect but without success thus far. Post the rains, this summer has had never-seen -before rise in spiders and other insect activity. We have just received a $200,000 quote to clean the building façade, which is for a business shut for one year plus, seems like a tall ask. We are working to get work done in this aspect to ensure, the façade is maintained in its pristine best. The place is in desperate need of paint, change of soft furnishings and even modern amenities like WIFI, telephones etc. As we respond to you, we will continue to work on improving the facility. We will also ensure the place improves with the flora/ fauna around. We are in the process of filling up multiple hospitality positions, which would definitely improve guest experience and ease service delivery for all our patrons. Kind regards, Jenolan Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmecook wrote a review Feb. 2021
Brisbane, Australia19 contributions4 helpful votes
I have always wanted to stay at this impressive Victorian Guest House, and as long as you take perspective with you, you won't be disappointed. Yes the guest rooms are run down in regards decor (I'm guessing 1980s) and some aesthetic maintenance. But the beds are comfortable and the shower pressure and water quality amazing. Don't miss dining in the glorious Dining Room - Chisholm's, at both dinner and breakfast the food was great and the service impeccable. With some tender loving care (which I believe is coming later this year) this could be an amazing venue, I can image weekend murder mystery parties, or fabulous Downtown Abbey inspired balls.

Warning: the roads in and out are challenging, particularly if you come in from the west.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Jenolan Caves House
Responded Mar. 8, 2021
Dear pmecook, Greetings from Jenolan Caves! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. You are absolutely right about the planned renovations and we are really looking forward to them. The building is in severe need of fixing its heating/ ventilation and cooling setup. We also need to modernize the set up with replacements to worn out furnishings, carpets etc. The food and beverage team, chefs are thrilled to note your grand experience at our grand dining room. Post the upgrades, watch out our social handles with themed packages and offers. We will try our best to bring in a bit of Highclere castle into Jenolan :). Kind regards, Jenolan Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy broderick wrote a review Jan. 2021
9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The reason I gave this poor rating is because of our recent visit.
Firstly we did a fantastic tour to the Lucas Cave and thoroughly recommend this tour, however how quickly it faded when we got to our room. We booked directly through the hotel so no other agent was included, I would like to make that perfectly clear... Our room on the 2nd floor was spacious and the bed quite comfortable, and that’s when it got digressed. The room had wallpaper peeling off the wall and was tried to be hidden by a dressing table, a part of the carpet had been cut away and floor boards exposed, bathroom was showing paintwork that had been rubbed down and not completed, plus new woodwork had replaced and unpainted, and the vanity unit was in need of repair, this to me was neglected work, yes the hotel is old, I get that, but neglectful no way. During Covid times we decided to go to the lounge for a predinner drink, empty glasses and tables not wiped this is unacceptable..... dinner was disappointing and quite expensive, sorry we won’t be back, and to top it off we found out that the building is government owned !!!! Really
I do have photos to prove my disappointment, however unfortunately cannot attach, I’ve since been trying to contact the hotel to no avail....
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2021
Room Tip: Try and check your room first
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Jenolan Caves House
Responded Feb. 8, 2021
Dear wendybroderick, Greetings from the Jenolan Caves House! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are working with various Govt agencies to upgrade our existing facilities and the aging heritage infrastructure. The building has leakages, has ventilation issues, it has carpets that were put in around in-room sinks/ furniture that doesn't exist etc. Our Maintenance team is working on the issues which have been compounded by Fires and Floods from 2020. We apologise for the bad experience you have had and really hope that you were able to see past the bad paint behind a drawer, or torn wallpaper at Jenolan. There is wonderful heritage, caves (as you mentioned) and some wonderful artworks spread around the hotel. We are in the process of uplifting the infrastructure of the place with the nearly $19.5 million grant that has been received from the NSW Govt. It is going to be a slow process but a really essential one as the damages in the building need structural changes and not just a paint over. Your feedback is welcome and would definitely be considered during the upgrades planning. Please share your videos and photos with us at hotel.manager@jenolancaves.org.au. Hope to see you post the upgrades at Jenolan. Be safe, Jenolan Caves Reserve Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
123456