We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Pool & Beach (5)
8 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
US$182
View Deal
Official Site
US$205
View Deal
Free cancellation until 20-10-02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$215
US$171
View Deal
SAVE US$44
eDreamsUS$196
Booking.comUS$196
FindHotelUS$215
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Pool review highlights
... cleaning than i would expect even pre Covid-19. Swimming pool/jacuzzi was advertised as open but on arrival still closed...
... happen till check out. We were then informed that the pool was closed, even though the website stated it was open. This...
... large bed. We didn't use any of the facilities since the pool was closed for use due to covid and the we didn't feel the...
Most popular question about the pool
Hi, if you book a room, is pool and sauna included? No extra spa treatments.
Answer from GreenCH2013
Aug. 2019 |
Yes spa free but not treatments

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
familyb5 wrote a review Sep. 9
Carnforth, United Kingdom288 contributions138 helpful votes
Travelling through Scotland for a few days we booked this as a special treat. It was by far the most expensive accommodation and by far the worst. Fantastic location. Walking across carpark to hotel entrance noticed really overflowing litter bin. Staff on reception friendly on check in at 3.30 midweek(check in from 3). We asked if we should book dinner. Answer "we only have tables at 5.30 or 9pm!" As these times didnt suit we opted for room service and were advised it would take 15-30 minutes from ordering. Asked re breakfast and were offered 7.30,8 or 11am. People afterwards were only offered 7.30 or 11 so suggest you try and book times when you book a room! Bedroom large and bed comfy. Room appeared clean although shower walls above bath were disgustingly mouldy - I would be ashamed if mine were like that at home! Bath plug not attached to chain and cover missing from shower bar. Room service ordered. Chased it after 50 minutes, it arrived 80 minutes after ordering. Soup came without the bread which we didnt notice until staff had left. Mentioned it when he came back with dessert and he did offer to bring it then, which he did but without a knife for the butter. Restaurant setting lovely for breakfast. However menu very limited. Starters only of porridge,fruit salad,croissant or cereal bar. Mains of traditional or vegetarian full breakfast or Eggs Benedict. Fruit salad was served in a disposable plastic lidded bowl which wasnt even put on top of a plate. Asked re cereals as other places we stayed offered eg individual box of cereal but was told chef wont allow cereal at present. Service at breakfast not great although many empty tables - struggled to get more coffee. Observed staff reset a table and was concerned re the minimal cleaning without even moving the condiments plate - less cleaning than i would expect even pre Covid-19. Swimming pool/jacuzzi was advertised as open but on arrival still closed due to technical issues. Whilst having a drink in the lounge - as most tables in bar were reserved though empty, overheard several niggles to reception staff eg no loo paper, why are pool tables closed. Would we go back - unfortunately probably not though its a shame - with a bit more effort it could be fantastic!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Duncan Johnston, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Thanks for the helpful feedback. We had hoped to get the pool opened sooner, but as you mentioned there was an issue with the temperature, it is now sitting at a lovely 30C. We are now offering a wider breakfast service, as you can imagine, it has been difficult and quite stressful, for the whole team to adjust to the new normal. We are making changes to the way we work everyday. Kind Regards Duncan Johnston Resort General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C wrote a review Sep. 8
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel sits on a beautifully landscaped garden, right on the edge of the Loch. Completely picturesque. The reception was warm and friendly, we were asked to pay our bill upfront which usually doesn't happen till check out. We were then informed that the pool was closed, even though the website stated it was open. This was the whole point of the trip, to use the pool. Very disappointing. No information given about where any of the facilities were, i.e. restaurant, bar, etc. It was a case of exploring yourself to find them.

Our room was a ground floor right on the corner of the car park. As you can imagine, it gets very noisy and no privacy at all, with people, constantly walking past. The room and bathroom were very outdated, the sofa looked like it had seen better days. There was no welcome book or leafet to give you information on the hotel facilities, useful contact numbers, or any activities within the hotel or within the local area. The room had an iron which is a bonus, but no iron board, so ironing had to be done on the bed or the floor. One good thing about the room was the bed was very comfortable.

We booked a time slot for dinner in the hotel restaurant. The staff was very polite and helpful. There was a limited menu which is fine, we both choose the burgers and chips which was £16 each. The food was decent, but the portion size was far too small. We ordered the cheeseboard at £12.50 due to still being hungry, Good selection of cheeses, sadly it only came with 6 small biscuits. We had to ask for more.
Overall the food was ok, small portions, and extremely overpriced for what you get.

After a good sleep and freshen up, we headed to the reception to find out where we go for breakfast. 3 members of staff just stared at us, no good morning, nice sleep, nothing. 1 member of staff pointed and said through there, to the same place we had dinner last night. Very rude and unwelcoming.

The staff at breakfast were lovely, very polite, and chatty. Sadly the breakfast itself was very poor and well overpriced yet again.

We have stayed in a few Macdonald Hotels over the years due to the amazing reputation the company has, but sadly this has to be the worst one. £209 for bed and breakfast is overpriced and not worth it.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Duncan Johnston, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Hi James C81985, I was pleased to read that you had a good sleep, however the other issues raised were slightly disappointing. There certainly should have been an ironing board in the room. We did remove our in room information due to the current pandemic, though the team at reception are generally very good at giving information and do hand out a welcome letter with all relevant information included. It was a surprise that you weren't warmly greeted by the team at reception. Kind Regards Duncan Johnston Resort General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLawrences2014 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Felixstowe, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed in this resorts using one of our getaway interval timeshare weeks and stayed in the one bedroom apartments. We were taken aback from walking into our lounge at the amazing view from our huge patio doors, in fact we would often just sit and relax looking out taking In the grounds and the Loch and mountains beyond. The apartment was clean and tidy if a little dated but was in keeping with the scottisj Highland feel. Kitchen was adequate although was surprised we had no kettle provided so had to go back to the old fashioned boiling water in a pan for a cuppa! Two bathrooms very clean and a comfortable large bed. We didn't use any of the facilities since the pool was closed for use due to covid and the we didn't feel the need for spa. Being self sufficient we were using this as a base to explore the area rather than stay around the resort. Great to know future we can bring our dog too. Overall a lovely stay
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Duncan Johnston, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi TheLawrences2014, We do have absolutely stunning views from all of our apartments. I am sorry about the lack of a kettle- there certainly should have been one! Regards Duncan Johnston Resort General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma M wrote a review Aug. 2020
Exmouth, United Kingdom4 contributions
We stayed here for 3 nights with our 3 children. Fantastic stay, the location is truely breathtaking. The hotel staff are great, very friendly and attentive. Food was excellent quality. Unfortunately the pool wasn't open which would have really made it. Did some Kayaking through Go Country on the loch which was great fun. Also recommend the walking trails in Queen Elizabeth Forest Park. A great few days!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Duncan Johnston, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi emmamP8000UC, I am sorry that we were unable to open the pool during your stay, The Scottish Government have now allowed this and our pool will be open in September. Kind Regards Duncan Johnston Resort General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999kermit wrote a review Aug. 2020
Carlisle, United Kingdom169 contributions179 helpful votes
What a great find! Hotel is located in a beautiful location. The grounds were stunning, very well looked after. Although very busy the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. We chose to have our meals in our room as the views were stunning. The food was lovely, room service did a very good job. Ten out of ten for cleanliness .......I am extremely fussy about that.........well done housekeeping! Recommend a visit to the nearby Queen Elizabeth Forest visitor centre and the Three Lochs Drive. Absolutely stunning views! Aberfeldy village was worth a visit, parking was very easy, lots of interesting little shops and plenty places to stop for a bite to eat or a coffee. Thank you for a memorable stay and we can’t wait to return with our family when your lovely pool opens. Highly recommend this Hotel.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a balcony.....views were stunning.
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Duncan Johnston, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks 999kermit, We will have the pool up and running again in the first week of September. Kind Regards Duncan Johnston Resort General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the pool

Answer from GreenCH2013
Aug. 2019 |
Yes spa free but not treatments
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1