We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Dimitris Resort Hotel

Room/Suite (46)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... facility with shower nozzle holder broken. We were shown our room and had to take the balcony table and chairs from our small...
... start of the season and probably considered too cold. The room was adequate, clean and a bit tired but perfectly fine, free...
... but the owners are also very dishonest. We booked the room through Airbnb which shows only 3 bed and 4 bed rooms as the...
Featured room amenities
See all room amenities (13)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
StewnGeorge wrote a review Jun. 2019
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions5 helpful votes
If you have a pool can you call yourself a RESORT? This place is no RESORT....more like a backpackers hotel. Rooms are small with absolutely no amenities, that is soap, shampoo, hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities, glasses.
Small shower facility with shower nozzle holder broken.
We were shown our room and had to take the balcony table and chairs from our small room and place them on the balcony. Fridge was not plugged in, no water provided.
We came back after dinner at 9.00pm and bar/reception was all locked up. Couldn't even get a cup of tea.
I would advise anybody thinking of staying here, think again. There has to be better options.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MatalaDimitrisVilla, Owner at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded Jun. 11, 2019
Dear George first of all i want to thank you as you have choose us for your stay in Matala . Probably you have forget to write that you have choose the ECONOMY BACKAGE WITHOUT BREAKFAST AND DINNER and of cource the ECONOMY ROOM category....so as i have see you have receive everything you have pay and of cource you not receive the Facilities in the Premium Category ...this type of Reservation (PREMIUM) of cource has much more Facilities and services but is not 25 euro per night the double room...its about 75 euro per night. Thank you again and i wish you the best for the rest of the summer Regards Houstoulakis Dimitris Hotel Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo t wrote a review Jun. 2019
Hasland, United Kingdom64 contributions121 helpful votes
We are a family of 3 and stayed here for a couple of nights in April. There is free parking and a lovely veranda to sit out on. It is located a short walk out of town, maybe 7 minutes, and surrounded by fields, excellent for birdwatching. Unfortunately, the pool was drained as it was the start of the season and probably considered too cold. The room was adequate, clean and a bit tired but perfectly fine, free safety deposit box, small bathroom, plenty of hot water, and a fridge. It was clean but there were quite a few mosquitoes, so we kept the door closed. A kettle/tea making facilities would be brilliant. We enjoyed our stay. Matala is lovely. This place is good value.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Rooms
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
englishman74 wrote a review May 2019
Leipzig, Germany108 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
Beware this place is the worst we saw in 2 weeks in Crete. Not only is it a dump that should be condemned but the owners are also very dishonest. We booked the room through Airbnb which shows only 3 bed and 4 bed rooms as the options available. We went for the 3 bed option as we always like to have a bit of extra space. Upon check in they gave us the key for a room with 2 beds, so I wondered off to the reception to explain what I thought was a mix up. Unfortunately they told us that there were no 3 bed rooms available in fact she told us that they do not have any 3 bed rooms, which is untrue. So we had no choice as it was already late and I had just driven 4 hours across the island, we had to accept the room. When I got to the mosquito filled room and tried to have a shower which was not possible as there was no hot water. I checked the internet on other platforms to find that the room that we were given was half the price of what we had paid. We had been completely ripped off. So for the first time ever, we checked out the next day and were confronted by the lady telling us we will not be able to get a refund as we can't prove anything. To top it off she claimed that she knew that I was also a hotelier which is complete rubbish. We stayed in 4 other places in Crete which were far superior to this disgusting little place. Before the lady comes back by saying we knowingly booked the economy package that is totally untrue because they claimed to have '20 A class rooms' (see photo). Anyway we decided to leave Matala straight away which is a shame because it looks like it is a nice place but unfortunately Dimitris left a bitter taste in my mouth.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MatalaDimitrisVilla, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded May 20, 2019
Dear Mr Warner first of all i want to thank you for your choose to use our Hotel for your stay in Matala with AIRBNB. About your comments probably you have forget to write all the truth. 1) About triple or double let me remind you that your Reservation is for 1 Double-BB-ECONOMY room from the AIRBNB platform and NOT a Triple room as you request from our Manager , in AIRBNB the system when you put the choise "persons" and you choose the number "2" show you ONLY the Double rooms 2) After we show you all the AIRBNB papers about your Reservation you receive the room and you stay for the day and the next day the noon you have decide to let the Hotel without to pay and you have request the total ammount back...of cource we dont agree with that. 3) About the HOT WATER is totally untruth all you say becouse 30 days ago we have change the Solar System of the Hotel and the hot water is really to match for the 30 guest we have in the Hotel. 4) About the dirty room also is totally untruth becouse EVERY DAY there is a Cleaner who be in the Rooms and spend 30-40 minutes for every Room for Cleaning 5) ...and final after a "search" about you we found in many Hotel Guest Databases your "name" with similar problems who you do last year in June in your holidays in some others Hotel Thank you again and try to be more honest when you write something just to receive some money back from your holidays. Regards and i wish to you the best for the rest of the summer Houstoulakis Dimitris Hotel Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie672015 wrote a review Jul. 2018
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely family run accommodation. Breakfast was good, especially the bread.
Nice pool.area which can get busy with not enough sunbeds.
Rooms cleaned regularly and are a good size.
Problems with checking in as arrived to find our room occupied so had to.use a different room and move next day. Our transfer driver though was very helpful.
We asked to keep our room til the evening but unfortunately someone was booked in. We were however offered another room for €30 until we left. It's a shame it wasn't ready until well in the afternoon.
Manager and staff were friendly.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Dave W wrote a review Jun. 2018
13 contributions
Booked directly using the poor check bookings site. Sent a note to cancel for a partial refund which was ignored for a week (even though all previous communication was instant) was then told that I had to use the check bookings site to cancel - by which time I was too late for a refund -and in any case it was not possible to cancel using the site. Awful communication from the owner who started talking about getting his legal team involved. - not the Cretan hospitality I have been used too for 30 years.

So I told this story to a few friends and low and behold a number of others have had the same experience. One friend lost 500 euros because the rooms he booked were not cancellable and he was not allowed to let a friend use the room as it is not allowed. This was for the Matala weekend where rooms would relet immediately.

There are plenty of other lovely rooms and hotels in Matala so avoid this place if you can!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from DimitrisHou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded Jul. 4, 2018
Dear Dave About your commetns i thing is not "all the truth" you have use the Real Time Reservation System from CHECKBOOKING ...when you make a Reservation you receive a username and a password if you wish to make any "changes" or "cancel" your Reservation till 14 nights before the arrival date....you never use them and from our side we can not have access in your "data' to make any change in the Reservation becouse this is Unlegal from Europian Law. About your friend who you say "he lost 500 euro" he make a Reservation to our Hotel from BOOKING.COM under a NON-REFUNDABLE mode and as you already know these Reservations can not change or cancel thats why the Price in these reservations are really low ( -40%) ...this is the truth ...i understand that you probably you dont know to use the Technology of Internet to make changes or to follow "Term and Contitions" but our Hotel do... Also from our side we prefer to co-operate with guest who understand how the Internet work and to follow the "Term and Contitions" of a Net Reservation ....please try to forget what you can do in Greece 30 years ago becouse this style and this "philosophy" make all this financial problems in the Country. Thank you again and i wish to you the best for the rest of the summer. Houstoulakis Dimitris Hotel Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
123456