We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Room/Suite (46)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
avatar-image
... Breakfast, Lunch or a Dinner. So we booked an A class double room with a balcony and a view of the pool. Upon arriving at...
avatar-image
... start of the season and probably considered too cold. The room was adequate, clean and a bit tired but perfectly fine, free...
avatar-image
... cancellable and he was not allowed to let a friend use the room as it is not allowed. This was for the Matala weekend where...
Featured room amenities
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator in room
Internet
Baggage Storage
Air conditioning
Wifi
Bottled Water
Family Rooms
Smoking rooms available
See all room amenities (13)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
avatar-image
JohnWebb wrote a review Oct 2006
Perth, Australia6 contributions20 helpful votes
Where should I start…….I know this is a long review but its worth reading even if you just want to have laugh at our expense.

This was our first trip to Crete and after looking on the web and at the hotel website, we booked directly with Matala Dimitri Villas (Elena) and got a quick response back saying that: For the Hotel Details I have to tell you, there are 15 A Class Rooms in the same complex with private WC, telephone, Safe Box, Refrigerator, Air-Conditioning, Heating, 2 swimming pools and Balcony or Terrace. We are 250 m from the main Beach of Matala. Next to the main Hotel building there is our Taverna who you can enjoy your Breakfast, Lunch or a Dinner. So we booked an A class double room with a balcony and a view of the pool.

Upon arriving at Matala we proceeded to look for the hotel only to find that it is on the edge of the town about 1000m from the beach up a small laneway, not exactly 250m is it! Please be advised that the photos on the website are no reflection of the hotel and have been doctored. We went to the reception only to find no one there but a hand written note advising us that we were no longer staying in this hotel but at the pension next door. Thinking we were walking into a private residence we met an elderly lady who could not speak English. She eventually called a neighbour who advised us that this was the pension. A bit of sign language later and we are shown to a room with no telephone, no Safe Box, no Refrigerator, no air-conditioning, no heating and our balcony is the communal walkway to our room!

Obviously we are looking unhappy so the neighbour calls Elena who says that this is our room. We tell her about the email and the fact that the room has none of the facilities described on the website or on her email and she says to stay there and she will come and discuss it in 2 hours. So we go sit by the pool, which by the way is pretty and should be considered the only saving grace. It is shared between Dimitri Villas and the pension. Please be advised that the adult pool is nice and big and the children’s pool is about the size of a bathtub. There is a taverna by the pool (run by Matala Dimitri Villas) however, it is shut during the day, as the owners are never there so if you need to eat or drink anything bring your own.

Well Elena finally arrived about 4 hours later by which time it was near 8.00pm and we were told that that was the only room they had, that they had the full money for room so we could either stay in the room or leave. We decided to stay at least one night as we were too tired and had no idea where else to look for a hotel and so we went out to dinner. On our return we decided to have showers only to discover that there was no hot water! Deciding to go to bed brought out a few new surprises, first coffee stains on the sheets of my fiancée bed and a bloodstain on the cover of my duvet….yuck! Tired and laughing thinking perhaps we have been expecting too much we fall asleep. We are woken at 5.30am by the owner’s dogs barking one on the ground floor and the other (presumably a female in heat) on the roof directly above all the rooms. Well no matter how much shouting for them to shut up from everyone in the pension it was of no use so we decided to get up.

Breakfast is okay with a couple of cereals and some boiled eggs. After telling Elena that there was no hot water she said to speak to the elderly lady (which if you can remember does not speak English). A bit more sign language and she gets the picture saying it will be fixed. Deciding that it was better to stay away from this place we spent the entire day out at Kommos beach (highly recommend). Returning that evening we were again confronted by no hot water the dogs and decide that the first thing we do in the morning is to pack the car and leave as soon as possible.

I know you get what you pay for, but you do expect to at least stay in the hotel you booked and get the facilities that are promised.

STAY HERE IF YOU DO NOT WANT TO STAY AT THE HOTEL YOU HAVE BOOKED AND WANT TO HAVE NO HOT WATER, NO TV, NO TELEPHONE, NO SAFE BOX, NO FRIDGE, NO AIR-CONDITIONING, NO HEATING, NO CLEAN SHEETS AND NO SERVICE!!!

This place is absolutely diabolical, probably in the top 5 of the worst places I have ever stayed and trust me after India and the far east I have seen some scary places! Do not stay here, there are plenty of other much better places in Matala and Crete.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2006Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jo t wrote a review Jun 2019
Hasland, United Kingdom68 contributions129 helpful votes
We are a family of 3 and stayed here for a couple of nights in April. There is free parking and a lovely veranda to sit out on. It is located a short walk out of town, maybe 7 minutes, and surrounded by fields, excellent for birdwatching. Unfortunately, the pool was drained as it was the start of the season and probably considered too cold. The room was adequate, clean and a bit tired but perfectly fine, free safety deposit box, small bathroom, plenty of hot water, and a fridge. It was clean but there were quite a few mosquitoes, so we kept the door closed. A kettle/tea making facilities would be brilliant. We enjoyed our stay. Matala is lovely. This place is good value.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Rooms
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dave W wrote a review Jun 2018
13 contributions
Booked directly using the poor check bookings site. Sent a note to cancel for a partial refund which was ignored for a week (even though all previous communication was instant) was then told that I had to use the check bookings site to cancel - by which time I was too late for a refund -and in any case it was not possible to cancel using the site. Awful communication from the owner who started talking about getting his legal team involved. - not the Cretan hospitality I have been used too for 30 years.

So I told this story to a few friends and low and behold a number of others have had the same experience. One friend lost 500 euros because the rooms he booked were not cancellable and he was not allowed to let a friend use the room as it is not allowed. This was for the Matala weekend where rooms would relet immediately.

There are plenty of other lovely rooms and hotels in Matala so avoid this place if you can!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DimitrisHou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dimitris Resort Hotel
Responded Jul 4, 2018
Dear Dave About your commetns i thing is not "all the truth" you have use the Real Time Reservation System from CHECKBOOKING ...when you make a Reservation you receive a username and a password if you wish to make any "changes" or "cancel" your Reservation till 14 nights before the arrival date....you never use them and from our side we can not have access in your "data' to make any change in the Reservation becouse this is Unlegal from Europian Law. About your friend who you say "he lost 500 euro" he make a Reservation to our Hotel from BOOKING.COM under a NON-REFUNDABLE mode and as you already know these Reservations can not change or cancel thats why the Price in these reservations are really low ( -40%) ...this is the truth ...i understand that you probably you dont know to use the Technology of Internet to make changes or to follow "Term and Contitions" but our Hotel do... Also from our side we prefer to co-operate with guest who understand how the Internet work and to follow the "Term and Contitions" of a Net Reservation ....please try to forget what you can do in Greece 30 years ago becouse this style and this "philosophy" make all this financial problems in the Country. Thank you again and i wish to you the best for the rest of the summer. Houstoulakis Dimitris Hotel Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
keith_williams2 wrote a review Jul 2015
Chester, United Kingdom423 contributions233 helpful votes
+1
We spend 14 nights at Matala Dimitris Villa in July and could not have chosen better accommodation for our holiday.

From arrival to departure, the family who own and run the Dimitris did everything in their power to ensure our stay was an enjoyable one. Certainly the room was on the small side, but given that we spent very little time there, apart from sleeping, it had everything we could possibly need including a TV (although we never even plugged it in!) a fridge and very efficient air conditioning.

It was thoroughly cleaned daily apart from Sunday and the bedding and towels were changed every other day.

Breakfast was included in the price and included fresh bread, home made cakes, eggs, cold meat, tomatoes, yoghurt, honey plus loads of fresh melon and was way better than we've had in much more expensive hotels in Greece. Plus the location - sitting outside alongside the swimming pool, provided the perfect start to our days.

The hotel position was perfect for us - free car parking and a nice, easy 10 minute walk to the centre of Matala, while being far enough out of town to be totally quiet and peaceful at night.

Incidentally we actually stayed in the same room as the previous reviewer who seeming had an issue with cockroaches. We spend 14 nights in that room and during that time did not see a single cockroach in or close to our room!

As others have mentioned the WiFi coverage isn't brilliant in the rooms, but works perfectly on the terrace and around the pool area. When there was an issue with connection, a simple word with Marianthi and it was fixed almost immediately.

Overall we both loved the Dimitris and will certainly return in the future. It's not, nor does it claim to be a 5 star resort hotel, what it was to us was a 'real' Greek holiday with friendly, welcoming people who did all they could to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Per-Olov L wrote a review Nov 2016
Gotene, Sweden171 contributions105 helpful votes
The location is outside the village of Matala in a quiet lane about 7 minutes from the beach.
The rooms in the first annex by the pool are bigger than the second annex. Both have a small balcony. The room at the second annex had a moldy smelling bathroom.
The staff is very fiendly, a mother and her daughter running the place. We had half-board so they prepared excellent meals for us every night which we had by the pool. I can really recommend that you take half-board as the price was excellent.
The breakfast was ok with a limited selection also eaten by the pool.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to get a room in the annex by the pool. They are bigger and better bathrooms.
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456