We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

PricelineUS$115*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$179*
US$115*
Great Deal
US$152*
US$179*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Panoramas (98)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6,256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
See the most recent reviews
Showing 5,452: English reviews
Lewes, Delaware
Reviewed 7 March 2015

The hotel room was run down. Needed upgrades. Sofa dirty dingy, mattress shot. the outdoor space fantastic. No shower pressure, no hot water with shower. No response to request to address these issues.

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Judith R
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear Judith R, Thank you for your comments and recently staying with us at our Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico. We sorry about you experience at our property with the room. We regret that there were issues that we were not able to address during your stay but will certainly follow up. We hope that you reconsider staying with...

Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 6 March 2015

Opportunity for improvement are the rooms. The pool area is nice but needs maintenance. Price for alcohol beverages too high. Breakfast is very good with variety. They did activities for the children.

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Enid M
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear Enid M, Thank you for your recent stay in our Gran Melia golf Resort Puerto Rico. We appreciate your comments about the rooms, pool areas and beverages as it help us make the necessary changes and improve our services. It is nice to hear that you like the breakfast variety and the activities for children. We hope you give...

Huntingtown, Maryland
Reviewed 6 March 2015

As soon as we arrived, the hotel had a very calm, relaxing and laid-back feeling. Check in at the Red-Level took much longer than it should have but that was our only complaint. The rooms were clean and we tracked in a lot of sand everyday (traveled with children) and every time the cleaning staff came in to clean there...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SarahdaraR
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear SarahdaraR, Thank you for sharing this excellent review with us on Trip Advisor. I’m delighted to know that you have enjoyed a delightful vacation with us. Thank you for mentioning employees our staff that was able to achieve our number one goal, that is of guest’s satisfaction. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the hotel, grounds, cleanliness of the...

solita25
Reviewed 6 March 2015

The entire experience was disappointing. The rooms are nice and big, but not the best. The bed isn't comfortable, the sheets aren't good quality. The pool was dirty, there were iguanas right on the side of the pool. The breakfast was ok. The food at Nami was ok, the chicken was good, but the sushi was incredibly disappointing. The Spanish...

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank solita25
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear solita25 Firstly I would like to thank you for taking from your valuable time to share your comments with us and for your recent stay at Gran Melia Golf Resort. I do apologize that we were not able to meet your overall expectations during your stay. Your comments have been passed to the pertaining departments so that we may...

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 March 2015

This resort is so beautiful. The lobby is open air meaning no walls so you feel the breeze flowing right through. They have a koi pond right past the lobby and we even seen an iguana walking through enjoying the shade. The pool was huge with cabana's to relax in, I enjoyed the cabana's so much, I wish all hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank blueiceraptor
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear blueiceraptor, I would like to thank you on behalf of all our staff for sharing such wonderful experiences with us. Positive comments like yours are the reason we keep trying to better ourselves every day. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoy the breathtaking facilities, and were able to relax in our unique cabanas. Again, thank you for...

Reviewed 5 March 2015

The grounds are absolutely beautiful. Our favorite part is the pool. It is very large and some sections are 5 ft deep. We went there for Spring Break and the weather was very pleasant, in the mid 80s -- perfect for swimming. The downside is the location (far from everything else) and the beaches, which are non-existent. The beaches are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kkAlexandria
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear Thi T, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Gran Meliá Golf Resort Puerto Rico. I was pleased to see that you found the facilities and the grounds to be great. Our beach is a natural reserved are our options are limited in regards to the water sports. However it does not limit from...

South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 March 2015

My wife and I lasted one hour at this resort on Feb 25th. We walked what they call a beach. It is a short rocky pile of sand that sits on a conservation property. It is an inlet of water, not a beach! Horrible. if you are a beach lover like us, do not stay at this resort!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jdfm4794
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 March 2015

great experience, had the beach to ourselves, staff exceptionally friendly, check in very slow and food not great. go out to eat. rooms big, comfortable and beautiful. family and child friendly, magnificently long and large beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan11030
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear susan11030, Thank you for sharing your kind review during your recent weekend trip in Gran Melia Golf Resort. I am very honored that your vacation turned out to be great experience. We pride ourselves in making sure our guests feel at home. My staff's commitment to service comes from a genuine passion to ensure that each guest has a...

Hampton, New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We were here for 6 nights, February 20 -26 We had an easy and fast check in. The lobby staff were very courteous, well spoken and ready for any questions you have. We had a rental car that aided in the speedy check in. We did witness some long lines at check in but this was due to bus drop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canegarden
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear canegarden, Thank you for choosing our Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico for your recent vacations. We are glad you took the time to write about your experience and that it was nice. Regarding the entertainment we already make the necessary changes to our activities program (day and night) for the enjoyment of our guests. We hope that for...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 March 2015

The atmosphere and service was terrific . I found the hotels and bar to be very pricey within the resort . All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful . I was never informed about any melia rewards programs, nor was I credited my points for this stay

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlyesposit K
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review

Dear Kimberlyesposit K, Thank you for your recent stay in our Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico. We are happy to hear that you like our property and that our staff was friendly and helpful. Regarding the Melia Rewards Program I am really sorry that you were not informed. If you still need the information from Melia Rewards please do...

4,320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3601)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Dining (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (848)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (735)
Viewed
Room/Suite (382)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
View from Room (125)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (1329)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (690)
Viewed
Amenities (129)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Club Pool (41)
Viewed
Other (299)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
Spa Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
2.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
31.3 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
6,871 reviews
23.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 km away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
30.8 km away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
4,693 reviews
5.2 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Trump International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Price Range: $192 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rio Grande
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico staff and other travellers.
173 questions
Ask a question
Clementon, New Jersey

PLEASE HELP LOTS OF QUESTIONS!!!!!

I was able to purchase this hotel as a Groupon deal for my best friend's 40th birthday. We aren't traveling until June 18th and this will be both of our first times in PR. The photos took my breath away and the cost was reasonable enough for me to surprise her with the gift after having some pretty rough times lately. I am really hoping this much needed getaway gives us a chance to escape the blues.

I know about the deposit per night, but usually deposits are returned unless you use them. However it seems like people are stating that they are getting charged for ludicrous items. (Towels cost what?) Or complaining about the treatment and true condition of the property. Then some are saying its a dream come true.

We don't expect million dollar service, just a good, peaceful beautiful time. Without me feeling the need to hide a credit card statement from my husband. We are extremely excited to be taking a trip together (having our own families and work makes that hard). Some person even said they were charged an upgrade fee of $3k?!! That is what scared me enough for someone who has been here to hopefully set my mind at ease.

What is included in Red Level? Is it a better option than paying a la carte? We are blessed to have breakfast included in the Groupon (thanks!) but it seems the Red Level doesn't do much more than that?

We've been hoping to come to Puerto Rico for years. Any advice would be truly appreciated. This place is very very pretty. I truly hope its the paradise it appears to be in the photos! The pool alone is amazing!!

Also more about the beach? Do swim shoes help with the rocks or don't bother. How about excursions (budget friendly).

Thanks to everyone who replies in advance. I will be responding after our return.

Happy Travels!

over a year ago
3 months ago

See all questions (173)

Questions? Get answers from Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room is outdated but the bed was amazing. If you're on a budget it will serve it's purpose. ”
victord192, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Get the Red Level Beach front room with the tub on the back patio! I didn't, but sure wish I would have done the beach front. Red Level was worth the extra money. ”
kryscott99, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Red Level Gran Premium Suite with 2 toddlers. The rooms were extremely spacious and the hot tub on the patio, although it filled slowly, was great for when it was raining outside but the kids still wanted to swim. Kitchen was just what we needed (cooktop and dishes, but no oven or dishwasher). Pools were great and there was just enough beach for the kids to build sand castles. Free washer and dryer for laundry in the Club Melia area was an extra bonus. However, checking in was extremely difficult. There wasn't enough staff or attention paid to the fact that there was a very long line. 3 hours later we were finally in our room. The parking situation is also a bit convoluted (don't take a white card, hold the card on the box for at least 5 seconds, etc). ”
laurenm915, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Inspect the room before guest check in! Make sure they are clean and free of odor, mold and roaches!”
628annmariem, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view rooms are amazing”
lanisesurrell, 16 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$115* /night
View Deal
Melia.comUS$152
Hotwire.comUS$179
Booking.comUS$150
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates