We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia

Show Prices
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Scarsdale, New York
Reviewed 12 August 2016

This is a C+ property that charges B prices. We stayed in a yurt, but would have been more comfortable spending the night in our car. Room was sweltering, crawling with various insects, and had nothing but cold water. Noise from nearby yurts made it impossible to sleep or relax as we could hear every word our neighbors said as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank joyjaso
hawaiiislandretreat, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review

Mahalo for your feedback. We're very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The Yurts are canvas sided structures and, during the day, they can get warm. We refer to staying in one as 'Glamping'. Fortunately, in the evening, they do cool off and are quite comfortable. Each yurt has a separate enclosure with a toilet and...

Reviewed 1 August 2016

What a beautiful place! Set in its own grounds, this is a rather grand hotel aimed at those who want complete tranquillity. We stayed in one of the yurts which are arguably not very special, but this didn't matter for a couple of nights. Hotel pool is very good (and was empty when we stayed). Hotel was not doing meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
hawaiiislandretreat, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review

Many people who see our lodge for the first time ask if it was originally built as a luxury home in a bygone era. When you refer to it as "a rather grand hotel", that rings true. It does have a grand design! Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to share your experience with others.

Kenai, Alaska
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We attended a wedding at this facility and the service and the entire place was REALLY REALLY nice. I would highly recommend this facility. the location was absolutely beautiful. The food was exceptional for the "Meet and Greet" (night before the wedding) and also the buffet after the wedding was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenaikathy
hawaiiislandretreat, Owner at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review

It was a beautiful wedding and we were absolutely delighted to be part of it! Mahalo for sharing your experience with others. With warmest aloha from all of us at Hawaii Island Retreat.

West Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 6 July 2016

For three days, my son, his fiancé and many friends took over the Retreat to celebrate their wedding. The groom's parents hosted a meet and greet for the 90 people the night before the wedding. Jeanne arranged for John Keawe, an award winning slack-key Hawaiian guitarist and his wife Hope, to perform. She also arranged a fire dance...a magical night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotthean
hawaiiislandretreat, Owner at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review

Aloha and Mahalo! "Memories that will last a life time". It's what Hawaii Island Retreat was created for so I hope you can imagine how happy and grateful we are to receive your generous feedback...

Louisville, Colorado
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We recently visited Hawaii Island Retreat for a destination wedding. The grounds and facilities are world-class, and I mean gorgeous. It is built on old sugar cane farming land, and the land and gardens have been extensively rebuilt, re-planted and re-designed. The main building is gorgeous, half inside and half out. The subsidiary buildings (meeting rooms in separate buildings) are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank catherinejphillips
hawaiiislandretreat, Owner at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review

Aloha, I am happy you were able to enjoy and appreciate the amazing beauty of this place. It is unfortunate that the meals were not to your taste. We create meals to the specifications of the bridal party. Many attendees complimented us on the food. I can appreciate there are differences in taste. There are two shower houses in the...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 17 May 2016

If you are looking for a truly peaceful, spiritual get back to nature experience this is the place. I have been to Hawaii several times and never left feeling so grounded. No matter if you need to just chill by the ocean or be active with Yoga, hiking and adventures this retreat feels like home. If you are looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chaos50
hawaiiislandretreat, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review

Aloha, Hawaii Island Retreat was created as a place of intentional peacefulness so it's incredibly gratifying to hear that's what you experienced with us. Mahalo nui loa! The Team at Hawaii Island Retreat

Reviewed 12 May 2016

I have been to the retreat twice. It is serene, beautiful, off the beaten path, and a place of true healing. They serve wonderful, healthy, locally sourced food, are very helpful about suggestions for places to see and go, and best of all, create an environment for deep relaxation and inner connection. It is not for everyone--being small and unusual--but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy K
hawaiiislandretreat, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review

Aloha Nancy, Mahalo for your kind words...we feel blessed to have you here! Aloha, The Staff at Hawaii Island Retreat

Reviewed 11 May 2016

3 star ratting because the price within the main house guest living quarters does not match up to the customer service standards of all of the staff. Rooms in the main building are beautiful however noise carries easily between rooms and from dinning area. Some times very loud. Cooks professionalism varies drastically between staff members. Congruence not really there, however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine M
hawaiiislandretreat, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review

Aloha Jasmine, We appreciate your helpful comments. Mahalo for taking the time to give us this feedback.... Aloha, The Staff at Hawaii Island Retreat

Marin County, California
Reviewed 8 May 2016

There was little or no hot water that either my husband or I could get by adjusting the faucet every whichway. Before our trip we confirmed with the owner that the windows had screens- she lied! Our cottage had a screen on the door ( with a broken lock) and no screens on the windows, so it did not feel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thetreelady
hawaiiislandretreat, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review

Aloha, It was good to hear you enjoyed our natural beauty and décor…thank you. We were a bit surprised by some of your other comments. At the time of your original reservation, you booked several nights in one of our suites in the main lodge - all have screens. Subsequent to that, you also booked several nights in one of...

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

This is a serene, magical place nestled on the cliffs of the Northern tip of the Big Island. The rooms are gorgeous, the amenities top of the line and the service was wonderful. Highly recommend this location for couples, retreat, peacefulness.. Absolutely fabulous!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michal C
hawaiiislandretreat, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review

Aloha Michal, Mahalo for staying with us and for the kind words...we greatly appreciate it! Aloha from the Team at Hawaii Island Retreat

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaau
28.1 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
27.0 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
36.6 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
70.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
33.6 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
50.9 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled among towering pines and cooling ocean breezes Hawaii Island Retreat and Spa is unique among Hawaii Destinations. Located on 50 acres of North Kohala's coastal land, this boutique hotel is the ultimate in sustainability merged with a luxury spa retreat. Our elite 17 room boutique lodge features farm-to-table dining, spacious yoga studios with polished hardwood floors, and luxurious guest rooms with roomy private bath and balcony. We offer elegant venues in a distinctly Hawaiian setting. Perfect for group retreats, weddings, reunions, and corporate retreats. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia

Address: 250 Lokahi Road, Box 185, Kapaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96755
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kapaau
Price Range: $281 - $761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaii Island Retreat At Ahu Pohaku Ho`Omaluhia Hotel Kapaau
Hawaii Island Retreat At Ahu Pohaku Ho`Omaluhia Kapaau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our choice was a room rather than the yurt, due to having a shower in the room”
 of 5 bubbles oceananimal, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the bungalows”
 of 5 bubbles mk824, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose the Golden Penthouse if available (and if you're okay climbing stairs)”
  • Spa waiting room
  • No elevator in hotel. Penthouse is up two flights. May need a hand with your luggage.
  • Massage lanai overlooking meditation meadow
 of 5 bubbles jmR618HF, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an ocean view if you want one.”
 of 5 bubbles Chris778083, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“loved our room facing the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles Fitzcentral, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5