We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mui Ne Backpacker Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 980: English reviews
Start your review of Mui Ne Backpacker Village
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Clean place and probably the only one that has something to do in town but a really unpleasant stuff and gives you the feeling that only want to get rid of you. And sand dunes trip is not that special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank שחר ש
John J, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do take your views very seriously. During check in and check out times the staff are very, very busy and it's sometimes difficult to devote 15 minutes to one person who finds it difficult to decide whether to join the sunrise sand tour or the sunset sand tour when...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really nice pool area and bar with a good selection of food and drink. We were able to book a sand dunes tour through the hostel which was good for the price, (we'd recommend going with a bigger group so you can split the cost of a jeep up the white dunes. It wouldn't be pleasant to walk it in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snapitup2
John J, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our dorms are basic sure and very clean, however, I'm unsure what basic has to do with relaxation!!! Our dorms have fan, AC, personal power points and your own personal locker. Let me know if there is more that we could do. We did advise you how to get to...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

As far as hostels go, this is a great one. The rooms are extremely basic - wouldn't say the beds are overly comfortable and only have a single thin sheet - but it did the job for the one night we stayed (in a private room). The social atmosphere here is awesome however, the pool is so fun (and clean)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katrina O
John J, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hi Katrina, Thank you for your kind review. We certainly do have a great social atmosphere at the Village, it's a great place to meet people and have fun in the sun!!! Our beds have innerspring mattress to suit western tastes not the very hard Vietnamese mattress. I wonder how much you were paying at the "luxury resort" ... it...

Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at backpacker village from the 20th-22nd and was immediately impressed. The pool, and the bar area are beautiful, while the rooms are quite basic but functional. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean which is all you can ask for. The hostel is located just up the road from the beach, and is surrounded by restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelseycail
John J, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. All amenities are close to our location. I disagree with the "pricier"aspect as we keep our prices in line with the other hostels in Mui Ne and we are consistently 10% cheaper than hostels in Saigon, Hoi An ect. Travel safely and Kind Regards, John and the Staff at MBV

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the backpacker village for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Rooms were basic (as advertised) and clean, staff friendly, pool and restaurant nice, and the drinks and food were reasonably priced. The bar staff had organized events (beer pong, karaoke) each night. The Aussie owner John was there one evening and is a real character to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGills
John J, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review ... we do have a lot of fun at the Village. The old boy has to have some time off after late nights these days!! The reason we take a deposit (which is refundable) for the towels is because they were growing legs and we were losing so many!!! It's not a cost to the...

Paradise
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Mui Ne is basically a kilometers long strip of hotels, restaurants (from fancy to basic) , bars, travel agents and a few shops. No real town as we know it. The main street is not a very feng shui place to be, however the Mui Ne Backpackers Village is. As soon as you've got your bracelet and are allowed in,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eva-Quirinius
John J, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hi Eva, Thank you for your terrific review and very kind words. The staff from reception and the hosts to the restaurant, housekeeping and the laundry ladies all try hard to get it "right" here at the Village. We really appreciate your comments and will strive to keep up the good work. Safe travels and take care, John and the...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We came from HCMC to Mui Ne and stayed at the Backpackers Village with our family of 5. What a gem! Affordable, clean, friendly, hosipitable, we stayed in a dorm room of 6. Just us. Pool was a added bonus. Lots of activities were organised for everyone to get involved with. Front desk alway willing to help. Our family definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spencerfamily-5
John J, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hi Nicki, Seanand Crew, Thank you very much for the great review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us here at MBV. Enjoy the remainder of your experiences in Vietnam and stay safe. Safe travels, John, Thuy and the Staff at MBV

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Very clean bathrooms and toilets (3 each) for men and women separately. The swimming pool area is great. Very cosy. Nice terrace and bar. Fun evening activities. Rooms are really basic (just 8 beds: 4 in each side of the room) which makes it feel a bit like you are in the army.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominique V
John J, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a warm review. MBV is a fun place to visit and our accommodation is very clean and we don't have bunks. Enjoy your time in our beautiful country.

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

So if you are up for a piss up every day and night then this is definitely the place to go. The pool area is stunning - best time to just chill around it is in morning. The general staff are not the friendliest but I got to meet the manager, Shane and he seemed like a nice guy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn F
John J, Manager at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for staying with us and we are very happy you were able to chill by the pool each morning...I think that is the best time to catch some sun. Hope you get a chance to visit again in the future. Kind Regards, Shane

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Generally, this is a clean hostel with basic facilities. Booked a bed in a 8 bed dorm. Bed is with personal reading lights and lockers to store your valuables. Happy hour at the bar till late, it's good if you are looking to meet new friends and party till late. Pool to keep the heat off during the day if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ironwill08
John J, Manager at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for staying with us and we appreciate the review. Sounds like you had a good stay with us and experienced all we have to offer. I think you would agree that our menu is worth the price you pay...some great options for all travellers...at very reasonable prices. Hope you get a chance to stay with again in the...

264 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mui Ne
9.2 km away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 21 in Mui Ne
298 reviews
2.3 km away
Mia Resort Mui Ne
Mia Resort Mui Ne
#3 of 121 in Phan Thiet
748 reviews
0.7 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#16 of 121 in Phan Thiet
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 21 in Mui Ne
656 reviews
1.7 km away
Mui Ne Hills Bliss Hotel
Mui Ne Hills Bliss Hotel
#5 of 121 in Phan Thiet
480 reviews
1.9 km away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mui Ne Backpackers was one of the first guesthouses to open in Mui Ne, back when Mui Ne was a little-known coconut grove with a few woven huts along the beach. From those early days until now, this family-run property has been one of the most popular budget alternatives to the big resorts that have popped up along the main road. Mui Ne Backpackers has long been recommended by Lonely Planet and other reliable travel guides. Book direct on our website for 1 free Saigon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Address: 137 Nguyen Dinh Chieu | Ham Tien, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Price Range: $15 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Mui Ne Backpacker Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mui Ne Backpackers Resort - Vietnam-Austria House Hotel Mui Ne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mui Ne Backpacker Village staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mui Ne Backpacker Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There all good!”
harryhY6242OM, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Mountain dorms if you want some quiet time”
shanec241, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“private room has english movie channels/sports etc”
, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the 4-bed mixed dorm rooms if you can! They're spacious and have their own en-suite bathrooms.”
ArthurNielsen, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Exclusive room $20 US”
NickCollins77, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$23
Hostelworld.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates