We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Booking.comUS$202*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,386: English reviews
Princeton Junction, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 25 August 2013

If you are expecting the Mayan Riviera type of resort you will be disappointed for sure. It's a timeshare/resort so has a lot of locals on the weekends. Rooms are clean, but old and can use some updating. Restaurants and food are excellent. My son had an accident in the room and they rushed over an onsite paramedic to tend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malavi B
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Malavi B: First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. I was pleased to read from your review that you found our staff was helpful and we hope that your son is feeling better now. Our main priority is for all of our guests to have a welcoming stay. I do however...

United States
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The room was smelly and moldy to the point to make me and my elderly mother so sick that we ended up having to take antibiotics and other medicines due to respiratory problems. The doors around our room were moldy too.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gloria A
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Gloria A: Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Central Pacific. Your candid comment is an opportunity for us to keep up with our service on a daily basis, and in order to meet all our guests’ different expectations. We regret to know that you were not satisfied with our...

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Honestly, I'm not sure why there has been so many negative reviews of this Doubletree. Let me be clear. You are in one of the most beautiful and unique country sides in the world. If you are spending your time in Costa Rica hanging around the Doubletree, you are doing it WRONG. This place is perfect for unwinding after a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank bms1283
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear bms1283: We are really glad to know your opinion about our resort and service, we also truly appreciate your positive feedback which is very important for us, and for the whole Trip Advisor family. It is good to know, that you enjoyed our strategic location and your appreciation for our natural resources and the variety of flora and fauna...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The roons are fine but old. They are clean. The pools are filthy and the service is the worst. Employees are actually rude and not willing to please you. Food is below average even for an all inclusive, but the worst was the staff. At the burger bar, they refused to split my burger even though he had a knife...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Carlos U
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Carlos U: We appreciate the insight you provided regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I understand from your review that you were not entirely satisfied with your visit, we cannot miss to express our concern with the description of your experience in our hotel, as we work with dedication and pleasure to make our guests feel comfortable from...

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have just returned home from our vacation in Puntarenas. We stayed at a number of different hotels including the Doubletree Hilton. I am amazed, actually shocked by the negative reviews that this hotel has received. We stayed for 4 nights and had an excellent time. We stayed in building #3 which is the newer building. The views of the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank slinowsky
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Slinowsky: It is nice to know that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were delighted with our service and Food. Also, we really appreciate that you have brought to our attention the cordial and friendly service that you have received from our staff who are always willing to serve each of our guests with a kind smile....

Dawson, Georgia
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The all-inclusive resort was very family friendly. Lot's of activities for all ages. (Try zumba in the afternoon in front of all the guests). The good: The staff is friendly and well spoken. Most of the vacationers were primary Spanish speakers, the staff had no problem communicating in English. The grounds were well maintained. Enjoy the hotel iguanas! They are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TSS39842
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear TSS39842: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. I was glad to read that you enjoyed our pool and that you found our grounds to be well maintained and our staff friendly; however, I understand that we did not provide you the exceptional stay we always wish to provide all our guests....

Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We checked in and after seeing our room and walking around the grounds asked for a refund and they said no so we were stuck here for a week. I complained to Hilton who said the same thing. I was in tears. I'm now taking my complaint to the BBB. The ocean is so disgusting you can't get in. They...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Michelle P
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Michelle P: I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We do our best to provide exemplary service to each one of our guests, and your experience is not typical. I am so sorry that your rest was disrupted by some of our guests. I thank you from bringing this to my attention so that I...

SI, NY
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I don't know where to begin! I was part of a group that booked 6 rooms. Staff is inattentive! Examples: Members of the staff often finish their personal conversations before "helping" - 1. There was an unnecessary line for people to be seated at the buffet, meanwhile there were many empty tables and plenty of staff standing around talking; 2....

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank zukemania
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Zukemania: Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay. Your feedback is a valuable component in monitoring our success and identifying areas that may need improvement. Our volcanic sand beach is part of our tropical scenery, typically of the Pacific part of our country, our beach was recently awarded by the ICT (Costa Rican...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I am here in the resort now. I have never written a review and could not wait to get home to write one. I never liked name calling but this hotel is probably worst I have ever experienced. I am really trying to find a reason to enjoy and like this hotel but everywhere i turn has been a dead...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank joone119
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear joone119: Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I understand from your review that you were not completely satisfied with most aspects of our hotel. Your feedback is truly appreciated, is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services....

Kentucky
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent a week at the hotel in July 2013 and had a great time. We stayed in building 3 and had a wonderful view of the ocean. The ocean water was pretty mirky so we enjoyed our time at the pool. There are several very nice pools that are well maintained. I had read quite a few reviews before...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Island100
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Island100: Thank you so much for your review. We always aim to ensure every guest feels as at home, so we are very happy to hear from you that your vacation time with us was nice and pleasant. I am pleased to know that you found comfortable the room and that it let you enjoy the wonderful ocean view,...

1,836 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1573)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
View from Room (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (316)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (305)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
3:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (595)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (151)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Lobby Pool (15)
Viewed
Main Pool (18)
Viewed
Relaxation Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Doubles Room (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (112)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Roble
34.0 km away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
786 reviews
36.3 km away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
10.4 km away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#7 of 21 in Punta Arenas
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#2 of 2 in Punta Leona
147 reviews
40.0 km away
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
#2 of 7 in Tambor
1,121 reviews
40.0 km away
Croc's Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble, Punta Arenas 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Arenas > El Roble
Price Range: $179 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica staff and other travellers.
132 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (132)

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pool view rooms seemed the best situation”
kelseyc430, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in Building #3, very modern that has Junior Suites with a Balcony”
  • My room - Junior Suite....patio is on the right side.
  • Very large bathroom
  • Pool with Swim Up Bar.........kids area to the left of this.
RedDeerHotel, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“building 3”
sharonrJ9365GC, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the building away from a main pool”
, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms in the main building...close to the lobby, buffet and pools”
193deannes, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$202* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$228
PricelineUS$200
Orbitz.comUS$228
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates