We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shimoda Yamatokan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Shimoda Yamatokan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shimoda Yamatokan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Itabuna, BA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

I lived in Japan for about 18 years ,and one of my favorite place to spend my summer was Izu Shimoda . Beautiful clean the weather was perfect for the whole year. The ocean always blue with cristaline water.. The local food nice and very cheap, the local farmers so kind as well. . Missing Shimoda rigth now hope I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marli V
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Booked this hotel prior to my arrival into Japan. Tried to book directly but had issues being out of country so I found a site "Agoda" very similar to U.S. online hotel sites. Couple of things you should know when booking many hotels in Japan. if you book on an on-line booking site, you are not treated the same as... More 

Helpful?
Thank RCE121
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
434 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Very very nice "hotel". It's in real japaneese style where you can wear yukatas and sleep on tatami mat. There are no beds. Rooms view sea view (perfect) with lots of surfers. Food delicious. Very wide choice and perfect service. There is also swimming pool and onsen with hot water.

Helpful?
Thank Piotr H
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2015

This was our first stay at a ryokan, and we were beyond pleased. Our room was roomy and comfortable with amazing views of the ocean and beach. Dinner and breakfast were absolutely delicious with beautiful presentation. The onsen was top notch as well. The outdoor onsen was spectacular, overlooking the beach. Of our two week trip through Japan this onsen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rach0601
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We laid down the big bucks and it was absolutely worth ever cent. We paid a bit extra to have an outdoor hot tub with a view so that we could hand in the tub when our baby boy took his nap. We also got one of the bigger rooms, which turned out to be huge. More than enough room... More 

Helpful?
Thank FamilyByTheBeach
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Hotel is well situated just few steps to the beach. It's 10 min drive from the station (shuffle is available or about 1'200yen by taxi) Dinner and breakfast were very tasty. The Onsen has an amazing view of the area/beach. The hotel has all amenities required for families with young children and surfers! Great service and staff. During off season... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joel S
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2015

i insisted to stay at this hotel due to the rave review about this hotel even my husband suggested elsewhere. but we were not thrilled at the end. This hotel is quite some distance away from Shimoda city center and the station. it would be best if you drive or arrive by shuttle. yet the last shuttle from station departs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Z9829RCkh
s-yamatokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay with us. We regret that we cannot provide our total services for this time. No meal and B&B package are all self-service applied. If you have chance to come Shimoda again, we recommend you two meals plan with our total services. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

We had a nice stay and the Japanese breakfast was excellent. Service is good on an individual basis, but hotel policies are strange. We were told we could have a late checkout and then they tried to bill it to us, while no price was ever discussed. Nevertheless, we had a great stay as the onsens are nice and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank elmidou xoxo
s-yamatokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

We are very happy to your nice feedback. Wonderful view, nice seafood, good hospitality are our treasure. There are any package with meals or no meal in our hotel. We recommend you with two meal package, anyway. If you have any change to come Shimoda again, we look forward to see you. Thank you very much. More 

HK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2015

The hotel is definitely a good choice. Beach views are perfect. We can't help spending hours by just sitting in the room and facing the beach. Of course, enjoying hot spring inside the room together with the fantastic view is also extremely relaxing. The meals provided by the hotel are also good. Lots of choice for fish. Staff are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank commonest
s-yamatokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

We are glad to hear from your feedback. Stunning ocean view from our hotel is our treasure. We hope you enjoyed nice view. Looking forward to see you again anytime you would like to refresh! Thank you. More 

Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2015

I've stayed here a couple of times. The first time we had a standard tatami room without dinner/breakfast included. We just brought out own drinks & some food that we microwaved from a local 7eleven (not walking distance). The room is very cheap when you do it this way. The second time we stayed we had dinner & breakfast included... More 

Helpful?
Thank VirtualHorizonZ
s-yamatokan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shimoda Yamatokan, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying with us. We are happy to hear from your nice feedback. We are always waiting for your coming. Hope to see you again in the near future. More 

621 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (350)
Viewed
Amenities (122)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Luxury Room with Outside Bath (45)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Seaside Pool (3)
Viewed
Standard Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)
Viewed
Twin Western Style Room (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimoda hotels
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
#3 of 66 in Shimoda
252 reviews
Hotel Izukyu
#4 of 66 in Shimoda
160 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Prince Hotel
Shimoda Prince Hotel
#7 of 66 in Shimoda
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Juraku Hotel
Shimoda Juraku Hotel
#11 of 66 in Shimoda
45 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Central Hotel
Shimoda Central Hotel
#2 of 66 in Shimoda
152 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda View Hotel
Shimoda View Hotel
#9 of 66 in Shimoda
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shimoda Yamatokan is located on the oceanfront of beautiful TATADO beach. Make yourself at home while enjoying sumptuous meals and relaxing in the hot springs.Each room is set in traditional Japanese style, with tatami mats and futons. Further, each room has a private balcony for magnificent ocean views and relaxation. Savor the seasonal local delicacies! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shimoda Yamatokan

Address: 2048 Kisami, Shimoda 415-0028, Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Shimoda > Shimoda Onsen
Price Range: $98 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shimoda Yamatokan 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Shimoda Yamatokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamatokan Hotel Shimoda
Yamatokan Resort Shimoda
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Shimoda
#5 Best Value Hotel in Shimoda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shimoda Yamatokan staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Shimoda Yamatokan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are equal.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelkR8270YU, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“See view on the lower floors.”
 of 5 bubbles Telebroker, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“If you can, try to book package with meals included. Otherwise there is great dining outside of the hotel about $10.00-$12.00 cab ride.”
 of 5 bubbles RCE121, 6 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Pretty sure every room has an ocean view. Question is do you want tatami or western.”
 of 5 bubbles VirtualHorizonZ, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Book a room with private balcony & bath. You'll get amazing view while relaxing in a hot bath.”
 of 5 bubbles Re&Jo_P, 27 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay