We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gordon Arms Hotel

Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (6)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in the centre of the historical town of Huntly, The Gordon Arms is an attractive listed building dating back to the 18th century. The hotel retains many original features and includes a function hall, dining rooms, lounge bar and public bar. Dine in the lounge, the dining room overlooking the square or in the adjoining Highlander Cafe Bar. The hotel is central for the many golf courses in the North East as well as the Castle and WhiskyTrails.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Full view
69Somewhat walkable
Grade: 69 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 1 km
3Attractionswithin 1 km
119Reviews
39Photos
0Q+A
13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 34
  • 25
  • 18
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed 2 nights, had to as was paid for by company. Arrived tired to a locked door???, had to get key next door and then find my own way to room. Got in, room was stale and very unappealing and cold. Decided to make a coffee, there was no cups??, decided to then have a shower,
Read more
Response from Esther S, Owner at Gordon Arms Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Good afternoon I am sorry to hear that you had such an experience , if you would like to contact the hotel direct via email I will respond to your comments and concerns. We do appreciate feedback good or bad as we can only improve if we know what the issues are. I look forward to receiving your email in due course.
Read more
+3
My wife and I needed to visit family close to Huntly. Initially we selected the hotel because they take dogs. We knew the some reviews were poor but we decided to give it a try and booked in for 3 nights without the dog. We arrived in the Square in the centre of town and found
Read more
Response from Esther S, Owner at Gordon Arms Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Sorry to hear you had a poor experience, as you state we have a huge amount of work to do in hotel and are trying our best to get the hotel to a better standard. We have had it a very short time and it will take time to improve but we are hopefull that improvements will be made. The Breakfast you mention was not priced at £8.50 . The breakfast you received was free of charge . At the moment we are not taking reservations for the full cooked breakfast ( £8.50) We do not advertise WI-FI in rooms as it is an old building and we are aware that a signal is not available in some rooms , we advertise WI-FI in public areas only. Concerning the lack of juices etc , this will be brought up with the staff on duty . We know there is a huge amount of work and appreciate any feedback given , if you wish to discuss further please email the hotel direct where I will be pleased to discuss further. Thank you
Read more
If I had written this review on the day I would have given it top marks but alas this was our worst experience ever. Over 30 of us went for lunch one Sunday for a celebration and every single one of the adults came down with a terrible bug or food poisoning in fact some people
Read more
Response from Esther S, Owner at Gordon Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
I have replied to this via private email, I would like to note however to others reading this review there was no evidence that the "bug" was in any way connected to the serving staff or the food served on this occasion. Thank you
Read more
Went here for evening meal . Usual menu with specials ( given to us on a sheet of paper with date two days previous .... pea soup ,haggis neeps and tattles or mince neeps and tattles .) didn’t think any of these were very ’ special ‘ but opted for the soup as not very hungry.
Read more
we were passing thru and stopped by for lunch nice menu and we both started with the tomato soup just the ticket on a cold bleak sunday. both the roast and fish dishes were also very appealing. it was just enough to send us on our way and priced fairly will use again on our
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementGordon Arms Hotel
Grotty bathroom
Bathroom door lock. Many holes, but few screws!
Grotty shower
1/2 full complimentary bathroom items including a hair!
PreviousNext
1234
"In rural area, so all rooms are quiet. No elevator, and there are many steps to climb to the rooms."
"There are better hotels and B&B in the area"
"The best rooms are at the front of the hotel overlooking the square."
"Just avoid it, drive on to Inverurie!"
"First floor for shower - I presume Second floor for solitude, heat & bath"
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandHuntly
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing