We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 622: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
 Click to rate
Northleach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our stay at Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel was quite a disappointment for both my wife and myself. Upon arrival, our first impression of the Hotel was that it was tired and unloved, nothing like the impression that we where given by the promotional pictures on line. Unfortunately, despite a very helpful receptionist, the inside of the premises was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CliffDutton
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were here for an afternoon tea with a Groupon voucher & thoroughly enjoyed it. More than enough choice for 4 of us. On the way out we asked if there was any chance of having Boxing day lunch & they very kindly accommodated 13 of us & 2 babies. On arrival we were shown to seats near the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindsay B, Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback regarding your Boxing Day Lunch at the Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, i have passed your comments onto my team. It was lovely meeting you all and hope to see you all again soon. Kind Regards Peter Miller Hotel Operations Manager

Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The actual hotel is lovely but in desperate need of a refit, the staff are the best I've ever encountered ,friendly and a can-do attitude and the food was absolutely amazing and more than makes up for the décor

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan T
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allan, Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback regarding your stay at the Hatherton House Hotel. I have passed your comments on to my team. Kind Regards Peter Miller Hotel Operations Manager

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I picked this hotel out from quite a few others as we had a buy a gift voucher. When we arrived the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was very basic and in real need of updating! The bathroom was really quite old and tired and the room was very cold! We then had a meal in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hilary B Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel. I will pass your comment's onto my team so we can discuss your point's. Kind Regards Peter Miller Hotel Operations Manager

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent staff fighting an uphill battle it seams with a tied hotel that needs money spent on it. The room was freezing and i had been "upgraded "due to a booking error at the original mercure i wanted to staff in and was recommended this one by the staff. Mouldy walls and windows in the hallway and the room and...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I4651EHianm
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 14651 EHianm, Thank you for taking the time to tell me about your stay at the Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, but i was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival, there are plenty of car park spaces and a local train station meaning access is almost perfect. There are signs around the car park saying fees apply for parking 7 days a week but we were told it didn't apply (this was a Sunday). A great reception area with a small seating area next to the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter2345
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Globetrotter 2345 Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback regarding your visit to the Hatherton House Hotel for Afternoon tea. I will pass your comment's onto my team, we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Peter Miller Hotel Operations Manager

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My second time using Wowcher voucher for afternoon tea. Admittedly it only cost £14 for 2 people which is cheap, especially with a glass of prosecco, but the quality wasn't good this time. We were shown to a table up a dark corner near the kitchen even though the restaurant was almost empty. It would have been nice to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Munchito22
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Munchito 22 Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback regarding your Wowcher Afternoon Tea experience. I will be having a meeting with all department's concerned regarding your feedback. Kind Regards Peter Miller Hotel Operations Manager

Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I purchased a wowcher for a three course and drink for two. It's the first time I have eaten in here. I can only praise the staff and the food. We almost had the restaurant to ourselves. The waiter was super efficient . We booked for 7pm and we sat down to order right on time. The menu was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Myraid T
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Myraid Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback regarding your wowcher three course dinner. I have passed your comment's onto my team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Peter Miller Hotel Operations Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We have recently started to stay here to see our nan every few months I love it I bring my son who's 2 he loves the pool small just what you need could do with a paint and to get rid off the mold but that don't put us of coming we love it my son sits in the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph Q
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steph Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback regarding your stay at the Hatherton House Hotel. I will pass your comments onto my team. We all look forward to seeing you again in June. Kind Regards Peter Miller Hotel Operations Manager

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Got brought a wowcher for the restaurant for 3 courses and a glass of wine. Visited the restaurant looking forward to a night out after Christmas. When we arrived at the restaurant and told the waiter we had a booking he said ok sit anywhere and left us to seat ourselves. We sat down a bit confused as he didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tate987
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tate 987 Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback, regarding your wowcher meal deal. I was sorry to read you did not enjoy this experience. I will be holding a full investigation into this, with both the waiting on team and also my head chef regarding the standard of food being served. This is not...

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penkridge
5.2 km away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
173 reviews
3.9 km away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
670 reviews
24.0 km away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
28.3 km away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#6 of 21 in Telford
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel is ideally located for both the leisure and business traveller, close to Junctions 12 and 13 of the M6 motorway. You can really relax at the Hotel, a wonderful setting surrounded by rural countryside in the peaceful market town of Penkridge. The hotel has a leisure centre and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

Address: Pinfold Lane, Penkridge ST19 5QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Penkridge
Price Range: $104 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Quality Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
over a year ago
Canterbury, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that does not back on to the Rugby club. Music can go on after midnight. Don't leave valuables in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles Rayc37, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best Western Tillington”
 of 5 bubbles georgebailey37, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles timlinnington, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Couldn't advise on this one.”
 of 5 bubbles seniorsurfer60, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be careful of the shower !!”
 of 5 bubbles TELITLIKEITISTEL, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5