We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

636 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 631: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
 Click to rate
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Came here for a cream tea and, when we turned up, the outside of the hotel and the grounds looked a little tired and neglected. Inside, it brightens up a little. Very friendly greeting from the gentleman at the desk who showed us to a table. He offered us a selection of teas or coffee and came back with two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Although a little dismal the hotel was very clean and had comfy beds and pillows. The plumbing was a bit noisy, and the shower in our room didn't work.However the staff were cheerful, efficient and friendly. The lounge/bar area was just about adequate and service was prompt. The All-in break was disappointing as the beer was not of a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nanjake
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Took my friends for a birthday meal..They were over the moon with our meals! The staff were excellent I have to say. As was the meal. Garlic mushrooms to start, pork belly and lovely potato wedges and veg for the main and delicious lemon cheesecake for dessert. Would definitely recommend it! Many thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iluvidriselba
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I refer to the review claiming the establishment is akin to 'faulty towers' -firstly its fawlty towers - I feel you are a professional complainer - my mother and I were in the restaurant the same night as you - I suggest you start reading the world news and get a grip - we had a lovely meal and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Northernrocks
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Northernrocks Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback regarding your visit to the Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House. i have passed your comments onto my team. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Peter Miller Hotel Operations Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel itself is looking run into the ground and in serious need of some TLC. The name Mercure normally inspires confidence and a little prestige, as well as some form of expectation. This hotel based on appearance seriously lacks on all fronts. Where to start... ok it was a business meeting. All our rooms were booked (x3) however unfortunately,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MayhemTommo
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mayhem Tommo, Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback, i have passed your comment's onto my team. Kind Regards Peter Miller Hotel Operations Manager

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

1.let the phone ring continual 2.when phone finally gets answered told to ring back in a hour to speak to appropriate person. 3.when you ring back you have to wait for phone to be answered, an then you get told she in meeting.she will ring you back in hour a hour 4.does not bother to ring you back you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayden98
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hayden98 Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback regarding your experience. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure we strive to provide a superior service to everyone. I will be taking appropriate measures to address this and prevent this happening again, once again my apologies. Kind Regards Peter Miller Hotel Operations Manager

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a weekend all inclusive adult family break at Hatherton House. It was a great location with one member of our party arriving by train. The station is 100 yards away. We had nice rooms which were spacious. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Service was attentive and efficient. Evening meals included steak at a supplement with blue...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sangr0wn
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SangrOwn, Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback regarding your stay at The Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel. I have passed your comment's onto my team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Peter Miller Hotel Operations Manager

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is handily placed one minute from the train station. First impressions are it is looking tired and in need of some investment. The staff on reception were very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in room 203 which is roomy but in need of some tlc. The food in the hotel is of a good standard, the English breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond B
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our second visit on an all inclusive basis. I think the hotel is looking tired and the decor needs freshening. The welcome was friendly the room wasn't ready but immediately a young lady said she would complete it so we could go straight to it, how kind. Our room was large and warm, very welcome on a rainy day. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill, Thank you for giving me your feedback regarding your stay at the Hatherton House Hotel. I have passed your comment's on to my team. Ian,myself and all the team hope to see you again soon, no fence painting done. Kind Regards Peter Miller Hotel Operations Manager

Northleach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel was quite a disappointment for both my wife and myself. Upon arrival, our first impression of the Hotel was that it was tired and unloved, nothing like the impression that we where given by the promotional pictures on line. Unfortunately, despite a very helpful receptionist, the inside of the premises was no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CliffDutton
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cliff Dutton, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations . Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is...

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penkridge
5.2 km away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
176 reviews
3.9 km away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
705 reviews
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
11.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
16.6 km away
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel is ideally located for both the leisure and business traveller, close to Junctions 12 and 13 of the M6 motorway. You can really relax at the Hotel, a wonderful setting surrounded by rural countryside in the peaceful market town of Penkridge. The hotel has a leisure centre and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

Address: Pinfold Lane, Penkridge ST19 5QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Penkridge
Price Range: $103 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Quality Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
over a year ago
Canterbury, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a small lift but then long corridors.”
 of 5 bubbles nanjake, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not back on to the Rugby club. Music can go on after midnight. Don't leave valuables in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles Rayc37, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best Western Tillington”
 of 5 bubbles georgebailey37, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles timlinnington, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Couldn't advise on this one.”
 of 5 bubbles seniorsurfer60, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5