We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Madrugada Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Madrugada Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Start your review of La Madrugada Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It just popped out of no where on my trip advisor so i made a call to the hotel and i made reservations well since I wasn't so sure about the hotel environment I remember calling solomon the manager at the hotel who was more than welcoming. So i arrived there on a friday it was so late for me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariam s
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arranged for the hotel to send a taxi to pick us up from the airport. When we got there we felt at home straight away. The hotel is small and quiet and they know how to look after you. It is on a guiet beach with a lot less hassle than other parts of the island. The ladies are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

La Madrugada is a great hotel, on the east side of the island. Not too big, quiet, super friendly staff. Rooms clean, enough space, daily cleaning. Special thanks to the lady from the reception, general manager and taxi drivers. They took great care of us. Only had breakfast: simple but best fresh made crèpes! I would surely visit again! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karina f
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Big thank you to the staff of La Madrugada :) I spent a full week in January 2017 in this beautiful resort and had a great time. Very helpful and kind hotel staff. Good location if you seek relaxation as it is further away from any city or town. The hotel has it’s own beach front which is excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KittyCatSonskyn
Reviewed 2 February 2017

It totally matched the description. Good service, reasonable prices. Meals are okay, sometimes - very good - depending on a chef. Two pools are a perfect substitute for the ocean during low tides. Not the best beach, compared to Jambiani, but its okay. Utilities - AC, Wi-Fi, water supply, housekeeping - made no problems. As for the "dark side" The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Владимир К
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Called Solomon to have them pick us up from Stone Town. While on the ride I noticed our hotel street sign pass us by, I asked the driver where he was taking us, and he replied "dont worry, we meet Solomon first". My wife and I started panicking, the driver took us 20 minutes out of the way over to......

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jose R
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

My first visit to Zanzibar, stayed here 7 nights through th new year... The hotel itself is pretty from the outside.... However th rooms are terrible. The decor is awful, beds uncomfortable and creeky everytime u move th bed would make horrible noises. Pillows wer lumpy and uncomfortable.... The bathroom door wouldnt shut - had to wedge my empty cigarette...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KulsumZim
Reviewed 16 January 2017

The staff are very friendly, very kind and ready to help. Unfortunately, poor knowledge of the English language. The rooms are nice, and have been made in the African style. Cleanliness is good. The pools are in front of the rooms, where you can get clean towels every day. The hotel is located right on the beach. Unfortunately, at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anesa Z
Reviewed 16 January 2017

La Madrugada has a beautiful pool, ocean view and beach. But the management is rude, unhelpful and English speaking staff is a rarity. The manager, Juergen Roehm, walks around drinking beers and ordering food but is of no help when there is an issue. Half way through our stay, we were moved out of the room without even an explanation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nastasya K
Jürgen R, Manager at La Madrugada Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nastasya You booked your stay with an unvalid credit card. Therefore we sent you an email to sent us correct credit card details to confirm your booking where you never replied to. Therefore we cancelled your booking and informed you about. Even on this email was no reaction from you. When you arrived we tried our best to reactivate...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Do not be conned into vacation at this establishment. The reviews are not true to the standards, location, food, staff and rooms. Oddly I didn't encounter one person that was over the moon at this place. This experience has left us lost for words with regards to what we paid for. Rude Barman that blatantly ignores guests trying to order...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank marshgen
Jürgen R, Manager at La Madrugada Beach Resort, responded to this review

I do not know your problem but most what you write is just not correct. I know that impressions are different for everybody but our barman is friendly and serves everybody, otherwise he would not longer work here. When you compare prices for food and drinks then we are in the range of all other hotels. Just in local bars...

236 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makunduchi
55.9 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,450 reviews
32.1 km away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
237 reviews
8.0 km away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
223 reviews
13.6 km away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
245 reviews
82.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Madrugada Beach Hotel & Resort *** with its 37 rooms is located at the South-East coast of Zanzibar in Makunduchi, which is an amazing coral village with white sand beaches that go down in gentle slope on a turquoise background. Great location to relax from the business life, not recommended for people who search an exiting night life. The location is also perfect for various sorts of beach activities, but also an excellent base to explore the island. Amenties: 2 swimming pools, private beach, SPA and small Gym on site, most rooms with A/C and oceanview, free WiFi, Tour desk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Madrugada Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Makunduchi
Price Range: $52 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Madrugada Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your La Madrugada Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Madrugada Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from La Madrugada Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suits are one large room with 1 + 2 bads and no doors ...”
 of 5 bubbles anesaz2017, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“aircon and fridge a must”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have beach view.”
 of 5 bubbles KyraNaomi, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are more airy and with plenty of light.”
 of 5 bubbles nazirsufi, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor on the beach side”
 of 5 bubbles 915bartoszd, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5