We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Shambles

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Shambles
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 64: English reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

My fiancé Rob and I joined friends to have a Christmas dinner at the Shambles. The table was decorated beautifully. Service was excellent. Food was amazing. It was the best Christmas meal we both had eaten. Everything was like the best home made fayre you could ever dream of! Excellent value for money too. We would drive an hour again...

Thank Person M
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Steak and ale pie was delicious! Thumbs up for the Mediterranean vegetable lasagna. Service was quick and staff were friendly. Large portion sizes...so put the stretchy waist pants on 😊 Nice little find on a Sunday afternoon drive.

Thank lucy b
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Fabulous, wholesome, home cooked food. We enjoyed a Sunday carvery with a fantastic selection of meats and plenty of vegetables. Lovely staff, easy free parking and very reasonably priced. So much better than spending Sunday slaving over a hot stove, and to be fair, it was cheaper to eat out here than it would have been to cook at home....

1Thank caronhighamwood
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Every so often I and the family go out for a meal as a treat. As we've not been so impressed with our regular pub/restaurant since a menu change, we decided to go a little further afield and try out The Shambles and were not disappointed. We visited just after the lunch rush on a half term Friday, and ate...

Thank RacheM75
egeLeicester, Owner at The Shambles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn I have passed on your comments to my staff And once again thank you and look forward to seeing again

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Thought we would go eat as we were passing. Ordered some food. One dish was fine but the sauce was congealed, hence very thick, the other dish did not look good and didn't taste good either. Obviously gone down hill since 2015.

Thank Daksha M
egeLeicester, Owner at The Shambles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. My question to you did you mention this to the waitress I suspect not but merely came on this site to complain Our standards are as high now as they were when we took on this challenge 8 years ago We have worked hard to achieve our awards and feed...

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This is the second time our group called Simply Social have eaten at The Shambles in Lutterworth, our first visit there were ten of us and this second visit there were twenty. To make thing easier we all gave our menu order before we arrived. Our food was served quickly considering the amount of our group and have say the...

1Thank Miller212013
egeLeicester, Owner at The Shambles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn I have passed on your comments to my staff We all look forward to seeing you again George

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I was in the area for a friend's party. All I needed was a place to keep my stuff, a shower to get ready, a place to rest my head and a good, proper, freshly cooked breakfast and coffee to sort me out in the morning. Also somewhere that wasn't going to break the bank. Was more than happy with...

Thank David B
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stayed here last night and really enjoyed our stay, very comfortable and clean rooms. The only thing I could fault would be the shower pressure. The pub itself was decent too, unfortunately we didn't get to eat here during the day but the food looked and smelled good. The breakfast menu differed from the one given in the rooms...

Thank Alex R
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed just for the one night whilst working nearby, this is a pub with 5 rooms over the pub. The room was very clean and smart, basic but definitely adequate. The only slight grumble was the shower pressure was poor. The breakfast was very good and very fresh. The staff were very pleasant and efficient. The parking was easy...

Thank Paul B
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

What a lovely place! Called 5 mins before we sat down. What a nice reception to only being called 5 mins before we turned up! Beer was brilliant, could have stayed all night! Food was brilliant, you won't leave hungry. My meal was lovely and hot. Steak was cooked to perfection and so tender. Chips were proper ones too. My...

Thank Edoardo M

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (1)
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutterworth
0.1 km away
Greyhound Coaching Inn
Greyhound Coaching Inn
#2 of 2 in Lutterworth
263 reviews
5.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
6.8 km away
Premier Inn Rugby North (M6 Jct1) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
844 reviews
12.3 km away
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
7.9 km away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Shambles

Address: 10-12 Bell Street, Lutterworth LE17 4DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Lutterworth
Price Range: $80 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shambles 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your The Shambles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Shambles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good I imagine”
 of 5 bubbles G7584YValexr, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be the same with quiet location. No noise that I was aware of.”
 of 5 bubbles J9792CWjohnw, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay on a Friday due to the disco being held directly beneath your room.”
 of 5 bubbles JacquelineIreland_10, 5 Oct 2014 | Read review
“I do not recommend staying here”
 of 5 bubbles Anon1924, 22 Apr 2014 | Read review
“room 1 is near the exit where you can smoke”
 of 5 bubbles RowlandJ_12, 20 Feb 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay