We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glenorchy Lake House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Glenorchy Lake House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Glenorchy Lake House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 December 2015

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here on the last 2 nights of our honeymoon. We couldn't have found a better place! We rented the entire house and were so happy we did. The house is appointed with wonderful touches including a heated tile floor in the master bathroom, soaking tub, cozy fireplace in the dining/kitchen area,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Summergirl332
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Glenorchy Lake House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review.

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 27 November 2015

From the moment I walked in I knew this place was special. Beautiful appointments, modern facilities, fridge filled with treats, and a warm and welcoming staff. Across the park is Lake Wakatipu and the Glenorchy Wharf. Walk next door to the Glenorchy Trading Post if you prefer that special coffee. Very comfortable beds in a quiet community. In the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Glenorchy Lake House, responded to this review

Thanks Andy. Hope to see you again one day.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2015

What a beautiful location and house. I had it all to myself and I was spoilt staying here. The breakfast spread was delicious and generous, the room and bathroom were luxurious, comfortable and spacious and the living area homely and inviting. I didn't want to leave the lake house and I hope to come back soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank meganc266
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Glenorchy Lake House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review Megan, it was wonderful to have you here and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again and safe travels for the future.

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We had a fantastic stay at this property. Beautiful location. A delicious breakfast and afternoon tea were provided. Very comfortable room and bed. Great service from the hosts. Thanks for the great stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferjI2773AD
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Glenorchy Lake House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Jennifer, so pleased you enjoyed your stay!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 April 2015

While the house is cute, the biscuits and afternoon tea was delicious and the king ensuite looked very nice, my husband and I did not feel safe staying here. The locks on the bedroom doors do not work, and one of the doors to the outside does not even close entirely. Furthermore, a set of spare keys for anyone to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BonnieK717
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Glenorchy Lake House, responded to this review

We're sorry you didn't feel safe Bonnie and we're also sorry for the delay in responding to your review. We have reviewed our doors and locks and we have replaced one lock, all our doors work as they should. We don't usually keep keys under the mat so not sure why this happened then, we do leave keys for other...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Stayed here during our honeymoon for 2 nights and it was probably the best part of our trip. Unbelievable scenery, beautiful house with awesome beds, great breakfast and loved the outdoor hot tub! Just a beautiful, relaxing place to really take you away from everything. Enjoy the slow pace of life here... it was gorgeous. The cafe next door is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura B
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 26 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed two nights in January 2015. This is a lovely lodging. Has everything you need and is comfortable and quiet. Close to "town", spacious and airy with nice views from the decks. Breakfast very good with local produce and plenty of fresh fruit. They claim to make the best coffee in their adjacent Trading Post. They are right.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tokyocarl2014
Sydney
Reviewed 14 January 2015

One of the best places I've ever stayed at. Beautiful scenery, the king room with ensuite is amazing and very comfortable. Great breakfast, fantastic location friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend it to anyone and would love to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KelbyTommy
Michigan
Reviewed 9 November 2014

Excellent accommodations, fantastic breakfast. Comfortable bed and beautiful bath. Gorgeous view of the snow capped mountains. Comfortable common area and kitchen. Close to the lake, and a few shops and restaurants. Peaceful and stunning scenery.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle D
Queenstown
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Gorgeous situation. Our favourite memory of the 2 days was listening to the bird song and watching the mountains slowly emerge from the clouds this morning, whilst drinking coffee on the verandah. And second favourite was time sitting in the hot tub out in the garden - magical to hear the near-silence of evening with just the odd bird and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma W

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
31.2 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
28.4 km away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
211 reviews
27.9 km away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#29 of 57 in Queenstown
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
29.1 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
1,306 reviews
29.6 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Casual luxury in a remarkable setting.The Glenorchy Lake House offers amazing, uninterrupted views of Lake Wakatipu and the surrounding mountains. You'll find comfortable beds, tasteful decor and an outdoor therapeutic massaging spa perfect for star-gazing. A scrumptious breakfast prepared at a time of your choosing fortifies you for a day enjoying the great outdoors. All this just a 45-minute incredibly scenic drive from Queenstown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenorchy Lake House

Address: Mull Street, Glenorchy 9372, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Price Range: $245 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenorchy Lake House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Glenorchy Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glenorchy Lake House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The master suite is well worth the extra cost for the lake and mountain view!”
 of 5 bubbles annaelund, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the room with privat bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles GijsJongeneel, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All first class double rooms with your own ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles royr256, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“King room is absolute luxury with a bed to die for!”
 of 5 bubbles michellecD3960YB, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This is a bed and breakfast with only two bedrooms. Both are beautifully appointed and both bathrooms are spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyF811, 27 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5