We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blanket Bay

Certificate of Excellence
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Blanket Bay
Blanket Bay
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blanket Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Irvine
Reviewed 22 January 2015 via mobile

Blanket Bay Lodge exceeded all of our expectations. The setting was magical but what was exceptional was the quality of the service. Staff members made us feel as if we were staying in a friend's home. They even told us not to bother to lock our room or valuables as nothing would be stolen. We didn't lock the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andiell
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we do appreciate the wonderful comments. The location is indeed superb with magical scenery that guests never tire of. The team is passionate about making every guest experience a special one, we are delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sydney
Reviewed 12 January 2015 via mobile

I'm reluctant to write this but I must say I was underwhelmed with our stay given the price. We have stayed at many gorgeous Aman resorts as well as Four Seasons and Peninsula Hotels for example. Prices in these places were much lower but service and special little extras far superior. Three nights of sous vide degustation dinners was unimaginative...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pollyannaSydney
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor report, we appreciate the time you have taken to review Blanket Bay. I am sorry we have let you leave Blanket Bay disappointed with the quality and value of your experience. The team is very passionate about making every guests experience memorable for all the right reasons so naturally we are also disappointed that...

Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewed 4 January 2015

I always hesitate to give a review of found jewels.... Better to keep it a secret right? This place is too good not to share. The whole place is made to make you feel comfortable and at ease. It is the best luxury resort I've ever stayed, every comfort is thought of before you even know you want it. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Summer F
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you had such a great time, there is so much to do in the area to keep everyone, even teenagers, busy. Rest assured we do not have microphones in the rooms but we are happy to hear the team was attentive to and anticipated your...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 18 December 2014

Gorgeous lodge and just because it's called a lodge does not mean you are roughing it. I lost count of the number of fireplaces. Our bathroom floor is heated. A separate deep tub, shower cum sauna, his & her sinks. Extra large king bed and our own patio. The view of the lake and mountains that greet you every day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose K
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

The team is thrilled you had such a great time, it was fun sharing each day with you, watching all the adventurers, and watching you take some time for relaxing. It is always a pleasure to see guests explore the area and participate in the many activities available. We look forward to seeing you back at Blanket Bay soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2014

November was our 40 wedding anniversary and the welcome extended to us by Brent and his team was outstanding.The view from our chalet was majestic snow capped mountains with a cosy fire inside. Incredibly comfortable bed with fresh flowers in our room and amazing attention to detail with a very high level of service.The food was superb with the chef...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karen53bb
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Not a place for budget travellers, but one of life's experiences. A superb building & location; faultless service & quality. Very expensive, but the cost is almost forgotten when you are surrounded by such luxury in idyllic surroundings. Good for the soul!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRC36
adelaide, australia
Reviewed 11 October 2014

Beautiful outlook onto lake, accommodation of excellent quality, very friendly staff. Dinner was very good- portion size measured. The open bar of beer and soft drinks seems a tight fisted gesture when we are in otago wine country! And paying handsomely for it.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank travelplanner057
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to providing the best possible services to our guests and I appreciate your feedback regarding local wine availability in the complimentary bar areas.

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2014

We stayed at blanket bay lodge during our holidays to New Zealand in september 2014. It is just about the most amazing location imaginable and the views of snow topped mountains are surreal to say the least. The rooms have a balcony/private terrace with spectacular views of the Southern Alps and Lake Wakatipu. The lodge itself though built in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sean s
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was our pleasure to take care of you and your family and we do look forward to seeing you again in the future, perhaps after graduation?? The Dart River experience is very special and one that encompasses more than a jet boat ride as you discovered. So glad you...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2014

First class accomodation ! Its expensive but if you are looking for privacy and serenity with breath taking views this may just suit you ! We drove ourselves from the centre of Queenstown and the drive itself is beautiful - very bendy road so don't have a big meal before you leave ! Our bedroom was very luxurious and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carolina C
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we have shared your comments with the team. You are right, the scenic drive to the Lodge is spectacular and one of the best in the world. We look forward to the opportunity to seeing you back at Blanket Bay in the future.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My partner and I were lucky enough to spend a night at Blanket Bay in mid July. We stayed in the Mt Aspiring Suite, which was beautifully appointed with an open fire and a magnificent view across the lake. There is an amazing attention to detail throughout the lodge, both in décor and in service. Every space is treated with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Leighton85
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

So happy your stay was everything you wished for and we do look forward to seeing again soon. We appreciate the time you took to write the review.

495 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (273)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Chalet Suite (60)
Viewed
Lodge Room (47)
Viewed
Lodge Suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
26.4 km away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
216 reviews
29.5 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
32.0 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
27.8 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
29.4 km away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stunning backcountry retreat sits on the lakeshore 45 minutes outside Queenstown in the Southern Alps New Zealand. Lofty beamed ceilings, rock fireplaces and vast picture windows frame the heroic stone and timber lodge housing the Great Room, Den, Game Room, Gym, spa and several indoor/outdoor dining venues.Thirteen rooms offer every conceivable amenity. Activities include an outdoor lap pool, bush walks, fly-fishing, jet boating, horse riding and scenic heli-flights ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blanket Bay

Address: Rapid 4191 Glenorchy Queenstown Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Price Range: $1,044 - $2,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blanket Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Blanket Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanket Bay Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blanket Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can't go wrong! We enjoyed being in a Chalet Suite, a short walk from the main building, ours was called "Stone Creek"”
  • Flowers in front of our room
  • Rooms have names, not numbers
  • Our own romantic fire
VirginiaR459, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a cottage at any cost!”
SteveAucklandNZ, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No bad rooms that I could see.”
spaqueen12, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have views.”
Paley, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I recommend the rooms on the first level or the villas. The rooms do not have a desk which makes it difficult to work when required.”
Hymie01, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates