We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kinloch Lodge

Booking.comUS$43*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Kinloch Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kinloch Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 270: English reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

I shared a room with 3 other people. The rooms were clean. The kitchen well equipped, but despite the best efforts of the staff, a little untidy. The dining area with lounge useful because of the sandflies. The restaurant/bar was quirky and relaxing. The food was good and the staff helpful. I used their track pickup/drop off which was good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizziePZ
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Lizzie Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed our quirky restaurant. Apologies that the the kitchen was a little untidy. The kitchen is only as tidy as the last person that used it after our cleaning times - first thing in the morning, after check out and early evening. Transfers are from $15 pp down to the Greenstone and...

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Great place to rest and relax after trekking in the area. Clean, Peaceful and quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff (those I can remember are John, Toni, Jenni, Ziggy and Tom ). I missed the pre-booked boat service to the lodge and there were no more boat service. Luckily Angel, who works at the trading post (an affiliate entity of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thiam Peng K
Kinloch_Lodge, General Manager at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Thiam, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a good rest.

Te Anau, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 April 2017

A good rest at the end of the road. Interesting history and character. I thought the kitchen facilities were excellent and another visit would use these. Found the dining room dinner less than memorable - very bland food with little or no flavour but big restaurant prices - very disappointing and will not eat there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Granny24648
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Granny24648 for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our restaurant. I see that you have just joined Trip Advisor and have only made one review total and this seems to be due to being disappointed in our restaurant. We would love to know what you chose. We work extremely hard and do our best...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Close to the start of the Routeburn, nice facilities and atmosphere, location beside lake. Friendly staff. Good facilities. Everything good. Location almost end of the road, unsealed for last part. Restaurant on-site too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happysheepChina
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Free hot tub - access to endless coffee tea and cookies - plenty of coat hangers - wifi access - excellent food - we had poached salmon and chicken marsala - lots of historical memorabilia and attractive paintings which were not for sale

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Timarumapsandprints
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you lovely people from Timaru. Glad you loved your time here. We hope to see you again. Take care Toni

Reviewed 28 March 2017

Recently stayed in the most beautifully designed little cabins overlooking mountains and lakes. They are brand new and because of the build and finish they are serenely quiet. It is the best feeling to open the blinds to such an amazing view literally at the end of your bed. A great getaway and with the bonus of amazing food served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zippy_trent
Kinloch_Lodge, Manager at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review! We're glad you made the most of the gorgeous view, we hope to welcome you back one day.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Perfect location, amazing scenery and lovely staff, food and wine very much enjoyed - perfect for relaxing, recharging & falling in-love - will always be remembered as a very special place/time for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tysonrika
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are really happy this was "magic" for you. Every season is totally different here, though now is definitely my favourite time of year. Clear days, hanging mists, golden colours and as you say - a touch of "magic". See you again we hope.

Ontario
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for several nights at the eco lodge. The rooms were fairly small but very comfortable and relaxing with the adjoining lounge. History oozes from this place with many period furnishings and decorations. The lodge is also set in a very lovely lakeside location and very centrally located for some of the best hiking in New Zealand. Do not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank durableOntario
Kinloch_Lodge, Manager at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our heritage lodge, it does feel like a trip back to 1868 in there. Sounds like you made the most of our stunning local walks!

Reviewed 25 March 2017

What a lovely escape from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown. The lake was a beautiful sight to behold in the morning. I had a wonderful first evening with a Kiwi family in the restaurant while enjoying great wine, and an equally fantastic second night watching the stars with a friend in the quirky treehouse they had built in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ariel D
Kinloch_Lodge, General Manager at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Ariel. We do try to help people come prepared for our location with our website and confirmation emails but we understand that it can get missed so we do try to provide what we can to help. Glad you had a great time and made the most of the location.

West Tisbury, MA
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We stopped a night prior to hiking the Routeburn Track but I can well imagine spending days on end relaxing at Glenorchy. The restaurant is excellent for dinner, but with the available kitchen you can make your own meals as well. The views are sublime, especially from the hot tub, under the stars at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidandlynne
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, we hope you had a great time on the Routeburn track. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
30.4 km away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#1 of 58 in Queenstown
223 reviews
31.5 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,354 reviews
30.5 km away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#25 of 58 in Queenstown
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
33.6 km away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
539 reviews
36.2 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a spectacular setting on the lakefront opposite Glenorchy township between the Routeburn and Greenstone tracks, a stay at Kinloch Lodge is a highlight of any holiday. One of just three places in the Southern Lakes to become an authors pick in the Lonely Planet guidebook. Kinloch is a haven for walkers, fishermen and people who want to feel close to their natural environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kinloch Lodge

Address: 862 Kinloch Rd, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Price Range: $82 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinloch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kinloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch Hotel Glenorchy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kinloch Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Perth, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kinloch Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a room in the Heritage Lodge for sure!”
ChicaSuiza, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“The lodge suited us well. Grab a front room if you can to soak up that billion dollar view.”
Kimandzanoor, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Bring your own food and cook in the excellent kitchen”
Granny24648, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring mozzie spray!”
tysonrika, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Kinlock lodge offers budget to luxury accommodation and we chose the luxury option for our anniversary.”
641leanner, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$43* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$82
Hotwire.comUS$82
Expedia.comUS$82
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates