We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 200: English reviews
Start your review of Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Externally the Cardiff East Premier Inn looks like it could do with a re-paint. But internally it is well decorated and well looked after. The room was very clean and comfortable and I recommend staying at this hotel if you are traveling to Cardiff International Pool for a swimming Gala as it's only a 20 minute drive away. Only draw...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank William S
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently refurbished as new but bathroom smells of damp, big black damp mould in the bathroom, bed feels damp too, I would not come back No bath only shower which wasn't a problem Bar and restaurant next door is nice however

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ali, Thank you for taking the time to review our Cardiff East Hotel. I am very sorry to hear you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room during your stay. We aim to ensure every visit is perfect and so I apologise we let you down on this occasion. Please be assured I have passed your feedback on...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here, unfortunately this weekend was rugby weekend and the price had increased by 100% but that's business I guess. I will stay here again as normally it's good value for money. There is a park and ride just over a mile away, so getting into Cardiff was easy. We stayed here initially...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KWi273
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went to Cardiff for reunion. The room was standard Premier Inn; clean and comfortable, if a little small. The bathroom was tiny. Breakfast in the morning was huge and great value for money. This hotel is on the main bus route between Newport and Cardiff which was a big help as I was travelling by train.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Slap bang in the middle of Cardiff and Newport, this proved an ideal location to visit our son at university and enjoy two cities. The rooms were small but clean and comfortable and the staff extremely friendly. The pub next door was a little pricey but the food was very good ( especially the steak). Good transport links by bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed171
Reigate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel has had a refit yet they've managed to forget the fact that it's on the A48, almost literally on it. The noise from the road is non-stop. Rooms are very small, they don't have a bath and overall, whilst they're new and fresh, the road noise is the biggest issue and one that hasn't been sorted. The girl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derechReigate
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read of your disappointing stay with us, our friendly, approachable teams are something that we take pride in and I am sorry you feel the team member did not reflect this, we will pass this feedback onto the management team. With...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No remote control for the TV and no buttons on the screen so we could not use the TV at all. Also, the bed sounded like it would break any minute and the bathroom had a strong smell of cleaner / detergent. Lastly, as we were in Room 1 we could hear all guests and staff walking to and from...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannibal M
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hannibal, Thank you for taking the time to review our Cardiff East Hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience staying with us as it was not up to the standards you were expecting. We aim to ensure every stay is perfect and so I apologise we let you down on this occasion. We wish...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel lovely. Staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant is poor. Took over an hour to get served in a half full restaurant (there were 2 of us), food was dry and or fatty. Chips were uncooked. Breakfast next morning was similar. I'd definitely go to the hotel again, but wouldn't bother with the meal deal at this one.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N S
North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights mid February for a weekend break with friends. The room was clean and tidy, and the bathroom was clean too. The bed was comfortable and the quantity of pillows was useful too. Despite being on a major road, the hotel itself is indeed very quiet. The breakfast had an unlimited continental buffet, and the cooked bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank llama86
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Booked tow nights. Room was very small and bathroom was tiny. No electric shaver point available. Black mould at base of shower screen. Booked breakfast which was good overall but many advertised items were not available. Staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor T
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Trevor, Thank you for taking the time to review our Cardiff East Hotel. I am sorry that your recent stay with us was not up to our usually high standards. We pride ourselves on the great service and experience we offer and so I apologise we let you down on this occasion. Please be assured I have passed your...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
11.0 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
12.5 km away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
1.3 km away
St. Mellons Hotel
St. Mellons Hotel
#45 of 76 in Cardiff
470 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Star in your own tale of two cities at the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff East. With our location slap bang on the A48 between Cardiff and Newport, you'll have the best of both worlds within easy reach. Play lord of the manor at Tredegar House and Country Park, or see rugby royalty at the Millennium Stadium. Take a glimpse into the past at Big Pit National Coal Museum, or look to the future at Cardiff, Glamorgan and South Wales universities. And when your day's story comes to an end, fill up at our on-site Beefeater restaurant and settle down in our extra-comfy beds. Important info This hotel is situated next to a main road. Bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note, this hotel has shower facilities only. Directions: M4 (J28), Take the A48 to Castleton and St. Mellons. Continue on at the first set of traffic lights, straight on over 2 roundabouts into Castleton and the hotel is on the right hand side, behind the Coach & Horses Beefeater. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 9 miles Cardiff Airport 19 miles ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel

Address: Newport Road, Castleton, Newport CF3 2UQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport > Castleton
Price Range: $81 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even numbers at the rear are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Ed171, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for even numbered room so at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles LesEd, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Better than average premier inn”
 of 5 bubbles carolej2017, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Always very clean and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Dlittlewoodhing, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A room at the back - away from the main road. But I suspect all the rooms are quiet being set back from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles LitsaStJohns, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5