We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coffee Shack Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Coffee Shack Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 262: English reviews
Start your review of Coffee Shack Backpackers
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On my first trip to Coffee Bay, a group of friends and I stayed at Coffee Shack backpackers and we weren't disappointed! Fantastic location (right by the beach), clean rooms and amenities and great food on offer. They also organise a range of activities from surfing to hiking (the "hike to Hole in the Wall" is a must!) The vibe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella B
peterborough
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to give the Coffee Shack a try on the recommendation of our daughter. Not sure what to expect our how we would fit in, bearing in mind we are in our 60's. Don't know what we were worried about, we had a great time and discovered age is only a number. We met lots of youngster from different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alsation
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Coffee shack is an awesome stop along the wild coast. Great community feel and friendly staff, with heaps of different activities on offer. We stayed at the campsite which offerred clean facilities including kitchen and hot water. It was a great experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wazbot3000
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at The Coffee Shack Backpackers! This is honestly one of my absolute favorite places stay at in the world! Everything is raw, wild and beautiful, everything you imagined Africa to be! We did so much activities here from surfing lessons for only R60!! to a hole in the wall hike and which was by far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chante_Nicole
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and we are honored to be one of your “favorite places in the world”! We also think that the Wild Coast is one of the most unique and beautiful bits of coast line in the world. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon. Cheers...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I heard a lot about Coffee Shack backpackers and couldn't wait to stay there. I finally went in March and loved my stay so much I want to go back as soon as possible! Coffee Shack is just by the sea and the river, rooms are in traditional rondavels, really cosy, and nice view on the bay. Staff are all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoebranche
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Salut Zoe Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and awesome to hear that we lived up to expectations. Glad you enjoyed the sun-downers, it is my favourite location. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Coffee Shack is a world class backpackers.I have been there twice now and 100% plan to return. It is set only a matter of meters away from the ocean. The place has a very chill vibe-- lots of happy, bare feet. One of the highlight is the dinner that they offer. Every night their local Xhosa staff prepares a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sorocy
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and awesome to hear that we are your “favorite” backpackers. Thank you – it is really great for the staff to receive these sort of compliments, and see that their hard work is really appreciated. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon. Cheers David...

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Stop over for coffee and hot chocolate. Very popular with the young backpackers. It hums at night and battle to get in. They have drumming and fun for everyone.Very well maintained and toilets are exceptionally clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelly S
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Shelly Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you enjoyed your coffee and hot chocolate. We hope to see you again in the area, safe travels. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I had a lovely stay at Coffee shack, the 5 nights I spent there were lovely. They have friendly staff and affordable meals. You can get a really good 2 course meal for R70.00.( NB: this was about 10 months ago, it's possible that the prices have changed). So I Stayed in one of the dorms, the room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vmaqezu
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Vuyo Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had a great time. Yes our dinners are still R70 per person for a two course meal, although there is a chance they will increase to around R80 in the next month or two. Safe travels and we hope to...

Muenster, Germany
Reviewed 22 February 2017

The location is outstanding! There is a shuttle which is great for tourists without a car and even for guests with cars because the road is awful (compared to normal roads). Very nice staff and cozy rooms. The offered 'for free" trips are also worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shorty237
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had an amazing time. Thank you for mentioning the free trips and surf lessons, which we offer on rainy days. Guests also forget that we offer free “sun-downer” trips to beautiful locations, most evenings, weather permitting. Safe travels and we hope...

Reviewed 18 February 2017

I stayed at Coffee Shack for about nine days and found it really difficult to leave! The beaches are amazing, the staff are super friendly and helpful, and the hostel attracts an eclectic group of really cool travelers. I did the five day surf package and it was an unbelievably good deal. The package included group lessons, private lessons, theory...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline G
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Caroline Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you really enjoyed doing our 5 day learn to surf package. Thank you also for highlighting the fact that many people end up staying longer, particularly with the 5 Day learn to surf package we really recommend tacking an additional day...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffee Bay
1.0 km away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#2 of 6 in Coffee Bay
174 reviews
0.0 km away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 6 in Coffee Bay
61 reviews
9.8 km away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
0.0 km away
Freedom O Clock
Freedom O Clock
#3 of 3 in Mdumbi
24 reviews
6.1 km away
Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Explore, discover and enjoy a unique taste of rural Africa! Coffee Shack is a backpackers' tropical paradise, located on the beach at the Bomvu River mouth on the Wild Coast of South Africa, where you will experience a way of life far removed from Western culture. We have a reputation of being a fun, good-value hostel with excellent facilities and the most amazing, friendly staff. We offer accommodation in traditional, thatched-roof huts, ranging from private rooms to dorms, as well as camping facilities in the garden next to the beach. Choose between self-catering options or try our delicious meals with a free 'potjie' meal every Sunday night. Weather and ocean permitting, join us for daily sundowners with magnificent views or taste freshly caught oysters and mussels at the bar before dinner. Stay for five nights and get your 5th night free! Our 'Babalaza Bar' is fully licensed and rocks in the evenings with its free pool table and range of drinks and cocktails. Join in the Killer Pool game or enjoy the chilled-out atmosphere around the firepit. Our variety of day trips include cultural walks exploring the local Xhosa culture, a traditional evening of dance and song at the home of a local family where you can try traditional Xhosa food and beers, beach days on the beautiful Coffee Bay, surf lessons, exploring Mapuzi cliffs and caves, hiking to the legendary "Hole in the Wall" or just walking in the local countryside with one of the local guides. We are accredited by Fair Trade Tourism South Africa and are committed to the improvement and upliftment of the greater community through various education and support projects. We are dedicated to making a difference to the local community and are thus 30% owned by the local Tshezi Community, who receive direct financial benefits from being involved in the business. We aim to encourage growth and empowerment opportunities for the local community through the development of meaningful partnerships. Coffee Shack runs a daily shuttle to Mthatha to meet the Baz Bus and other mainline buses at the Shell Ultra City in Mthatha (Umtata). We have free WIFI, safe parking and a laundry service. For self-drive, we are located in the Eastern Cape of South Africa, in the former Transkei area. Turn onto the Coffee Bay road approximately 20km south of Mthatha, continue 80km down to the coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coffee Shack Backpackers

Address: on the beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Price Range: $31 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coffee Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coffee Shack Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Coffee Shack Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go with the flow. Wifi in main reception.”
alsation, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the other side of the river are quieter and a have an okay view.”
vmaqezu, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beware of Eric the "guide"”
Komodosam36, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“"Big Dorm" was good”
744annas, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“En-suite if you are going to stay for a while”
mariusb69, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5