We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coffee Shack Backpackers

Save
Traveller (148)
Pool & Beach (20)
Room & Suite (14)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“surf lessons”(38 reviews)
“across the river”(21 reviews)
“daily activities”(12 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Coffee Shack Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
209
55
22
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
209
55
22
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf lessonsacross the riverdaily activitiesfree dinnerhole in the wallsouth africakings housedorm roomtoastieswild coastfantastic placedifferent activitiessurf packagekiller poolan adventuregreat surfgreat facilities
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 296 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2017 via mobile

Stop over for coffee and hot chocolate. Very popular with the young backpackers. It hums at night and battle to get in. They have drumming and fun for everyone.Very well maintained and toilets are exceptionally clean.

Thank Shelly S
Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded April 7, 2017

Hello Shelly Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you enjoyed your coffee and hot chocolate. We hope to see you again in the area, safe travels. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Reviewed March 15, 2017

I had a lovely stay at Coffee shack, the 5 nights I spent there were lovely. They have friendly staff and affordable meals. You can get a really good 2 course meal for R70.00.( NB: this was about 10 months ago, it's possible that the...More

Thank vmaqezu
Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded April 7, 2017

Howzit Vuyo Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had a great time. Yes our dinners are still R70 per person for a two course meal, although there is a chance they will increase...More

Reviewed February 22, 2017

The location is outstanding! There is a shuttle which is great for tourists without a car and even for guests with cars because the road is awful (compared to normal roads). Very nice staff and cozy rooms. The offered 'for free" trips are also worth...More

1  Thank Shorty237
Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded April 7, 2017

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had an amazing time. Thank you for mentioning the free trips and surf lessons, which we offer on rainy days. Guests also forget that we offer...More

Reviewed February 18, 2017

I stayed at Coffee Shack for about nine days and found it really difficult to leave! The beaches are amazing, the staff are super friendly and helpful, and the hostel attracts an eclectic group of really cool travelers. I did the five day surf package...More

1  Thank Caroline G
Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded April 7, 2017

Howzit Caroline Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you really enjoyed doing our 5 day learn to surf package. Thank you also for highlighting the fact that many people end up staying longer, particularly...More

Reviewed February 16, 2017

I have mixed feelings about this place, and I feel that people really need to be more aware of what they are in for here. BEWARE of a guy who goes by the name of ERIC (I have attached a picture). He claims to be...More

4  Thank Komodosam36
Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded April 7, 2017

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and sorry to hear about your bad experience with Eric, which has obviously left a bad taste in your mouth. We do not know why Eric handled the situation the way he...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Coffee Bay
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Internet
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$25 - US$28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$25 - US$28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (148)
Pool & Beach (20)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (3)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
vixjades
February 22, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David M | Property representative |
Howzit Vix The road is tarred (sealed) the whole way from the N2 down to Coffee Bay, there is only about 600m of gravel road to Coffee Shack. Most of our guests have the smallest hire cars available and have no... More
1
Vote
Leandre B
October 31, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David M | Property representative |
Howzit Leandre I hope that you are well? Camping at Coffee Shack is R90 per person per night. You probably do not have to book, if you are coming this week, as the camp site is relatively empty, unless you need the shuttle... More
0
Votes
Amanda M
April 18, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from David M | Property representative |
Howzit Amanda, I hope that you are well? Great to hear that you will be coming to stay with us at Coffee Shack. To be honest it is pretty hard to give you a direct yes/no answer to some of your questions, because obviously... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"I enjoyed the private more than the dorms"
Read review
"Ones closet the main building and bar"
Read review
"Across the river is quieter"
Read review
"Staying in a rondavel adds to the experience."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing