We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-07-30 2017-07-31
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Coffee Shack Backpackers

    On the Beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    2017-07-30 2017-07-31
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$26
    View Deal
    Traveller (117)
    Pool & Beach (18)
    Room & Suite (13)
    Swell Eco Lodge
    158 reviews
    #1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
     
    Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
    7 reviews
    #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
     
    Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
    114 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Coffee Bay
     
    Mdumbi Backpackers
    122 reviews
    #2 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
     
    Overview
    • Excellent71%
    • Very good20%
    • Average6%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “surf lessons” (34 reviews)
    “coffee shack” (143 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Pets Allowed
    Laundry Service
    Shuttle Bus Service
    All hotel details
    {"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"containerClass":null}
    Swell Eco Lodge
    158 reviews
    #1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
     
    Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
    7 reviews
    #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
     
    Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
    114 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Coffee Bay
     
    Mdumbi Backpackers
    122 reviews
    #2 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (321)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for Coffee Shack Backpackers
    See the most recent reviews

    51 - 55 of 270 reviews

    Reviewed 20 April 2016

    This backpackers is everything a backpackers should be! When you arrive they give you a drink on the house, and there is free dinner on Sundays! The staff is so friendly and welcoming. They offer laundry services, food, and fun water activities. My friends took...More

    Thank Hannah L
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 26 April 2016

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had an AMAZING time with us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our surf lessons, we do recommend them! Safe travels and hope to see you...More

    Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

    I have never come across such rude staff during my past 3 months of travelling. The bar staff are friendly but the people on reception are so unapproachable and quite frankly, scary. I actually managed to have an entire conversation with a woman who had...More

    4  Thank Danielle L
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 26 April 2016

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and give us feedback. I am really very sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with the reception staff. Coffee Shack is generally known for having very friendly and...More

    Reviewed 6 April 2016

    Amazing Scenery, Helpful Staff... Absolutely do not miss this place when visiting South Africa or the wild coast. Careful in the rainy season for the roads, however they will make your adventure seem more worthy. awesome staff with awesome value.More

    1  Thank Danger L
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 8 April 2016

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had a great stay. Thanks for highlighting that you need to drive even more carefully down from the National road (N2) when it rains, and that...More

    Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

    This was a great backpacker I really enjoyed my stay here. Got the shuttle from mthatha which was late but we all got free dinner and drinks which was generous! This is a bit of a party backpackers and great place to meet new friends....More

    Thank Angela L
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 8 April 2016

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had a fun stay. Sorry about the shuttle being late that day, but unfortunately there was a problem with the brakes of the vehicle and obviously...More

    Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

    The Coffee Shack is an absolute gem. I was on my way home from Cape Town on a solo road trip and the Coffee Shack was the second stop on my journey. I planned an overnight stay but when I got there and got into...More

    Thank Jewell4u
    Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 3 April 2016

    Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and glad to hear that you had an awesome time. The hike to Hole in the Wall is a "must do", but as you mention, it is a proper hike and does...More

    Swell Eco Lodge
    158 reviews
    #1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
     
    Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
    7 reviews
    #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
     
    Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
    114 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Coffee Bay
     
    Mdumbi Backpackers
    122 reviews
    #2 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Beachfront
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$23 - US$27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 13
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coffee Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Eastern Cape >
    • Coffee Bay
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (117)
    Pool & Beach (18)
    Room & Suite (13)
    Dining (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (89)
    Family and Play Areas (3)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
    114 reviews
    6.08 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Delicious Monster
    85 reviews
    51.24 km away
    Panarottis Mthatha
    27 reviews
    57.11 km away
    Friends Wild Coast Cafe
    35 reviews
    .15 km away
    Wood n Spoon
    32 reviews
    53.00 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Hole in the Wall
    165 reviews
    6.81 km away
    Nelson Mandela Museum
    23 reviews
    55.73 km away
    Offshore Africa
    11 reviews
    56.64 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Amanda M
    18 April 2017|
    Answer Show all 3 answers
    Response from David M | Property representative |
    Howzit Amanda, I hope that you are well? Great to hear that you will be coming to stay with us at Coffee Shack. To be honest it is pretty hard to give you a direct yes/no answer to some of your questions, because obviously... More
    0
    Votes
    Cindy7ZN
    16 September 2014|
    Answer Show all 4 answers
    Response from Thys16 | Reviewed this property |
    Hi there! The road isn't a regular one, but its pretty reasonable. Perhaps the final kilometer could be slightly tough but doable. They have wifi so you're set for Skype, don't expect the best connection tough, one should... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Rooms by Kings House"
    Read review
    "Kings house, the view is magnificent"
    Read review
    "Go with the flow. Wifi in main reception."
    Read review
    "Rooms on the other side of the river are quieter and a have an okay view."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing