Hotel Torre di San Martino

Hotel Torre di San Martino

Traveller (187)
giardino
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, Jun 2
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
C$195
C$176
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 2 hotels in Gazzola
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
In a village from the year 1000, a residence with few rooms cut into the ancient wall structure, with canopy beds and antique furniture, warm carpets and soft lighting: this is the Residenza TORRE DI SAN MARTINO, a unique location for unforgettable stays for couples, families or people on business.A combination of ancient flavors and modern services awaits you, as well as a wide range of solutions for you to enjoy the area and its many attractions, including culture, food and wine, history and nature. In the wonderful Valtrebbia, in the province of Piacenza, an hour's drive from Milan, you will find this charming place, a favorite of kings, queens, noblemen, heads of state and thousands of tourists.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Tennis court offsite
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Water park offsite
Massage
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Castello di Rivalta, 29010 Gazzola Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Linate Airport
60.9 km
See all flights
Parma Airport
60.9 km
See all flights
474Reviews2Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 277
  • 145
  • 27
  • 17
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
robertlP2693TV wrote a review Jul 2020
Antibes, France1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In a quiet location this elegant old property has buildings and grounds that firmly establish it as an attractive place to stay. An outdoor restaurant and the neighbouring castle complete the scene. Highly recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jvella893360 wrote a review Jan 2020
Malta, New York1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A great place for some R&R. Beautiful setting for Christmas. Pity there wasn’t snow as it would have been even more magical. More info about the grounds could and should be given to guests. Breakfast needs a little improvement. Coffee was perfect :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Great room but mini bar and breakfast could be improved
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James1612 wrote a review Apr 2019
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg41 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay at this hotel often when we drive down to Italy. Each time we have a great stay. The hotel is fantastic, the location is beautiful and the restaurants are excellent. The rooms a very well maintained. Breakfast is ok, the coffee is great!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LudovicaZ18, Proprietario at Hotel Torre di San Martino
Responded Jun 6, 2019
Dear Guest, We thank You for Your beautiful review and that Your stay was wonderful. We hope to see You again soon. Thank You Best Regards Hotel Torre di San Martino
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vesnaldo wrote a review Aug 2014
Trieste85 contributions79 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When looking at the web site of this hotel, it may look good, because there is no SOUND in the photos, BUT ...
- the old clock of the church wakes you up at SIX o'clock, and goes on every hour for the whole day, so that even a possible nap in the afternoon can have a maximum duration of 59 minutes, before being waken up again;
- if your room is located under the penthouse for the breakfast - (as it happened to us) - from six o'clock on the personnel walks over your head to prepare the tables, so forget about sleeping;
- but problems exists even much later at night, because of the open-air bar: nice if you are sitting and drinking there, but very disturbing if you are sleeping just above it.
The management is quite unfair. We booked for 3 night, but had a medical emergency and spent the first night at the hospital. We had so to leave because of "force majoure" in the following morning, BUT had to pay for the whole three nights we booked. Thus, be prepared to loose your money if some catastrophic event is stopping your holiday - (the region is prone to earthquakes, by the way).
We had but did NOT enjoy the breakfast: very basic, served in a claustrophobic penthouse where tall people risk their head.
This is a good example of a place to AVOID.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Please, avoid the Room 9. It is presented as a "Junior Suite De Luxe", but it is very...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Torresanmartino, Direttore at Hotel Torre di San Martino
Responded Sep 26, 2014
Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your permanence at the residenza di Torre San Martino. I read attentively each of the points you have made, and have found a few things that I would like to expand. First of all, the hotel policy – contained in the terms and agreement section contained in the email you received (and presumably read) at the time of the confirmation of your booking – is clear about withdrawing from the hotel without at least a 24 hours notice. This policy is not different from that of any other hotels. This said, the hotel staff offered you a voucher worth a stay for two nights all-included, in order to avoid a monetary loss from your side and to offer you the possibility to enjoy what you paid for. As for your complaint about the noise, there are two points I would like to make: first on, the hotel is located in a medieval burgh that has kept some of its traditions and history, and I imagine this is exactly why one would book a holiday in an old town rather than somewhere else. Our guests can experience the tranquillity of living in a fascinating, ancient burgh, while residing in a modern hotel with every comfort they could ask for. The bells of the church of S. Martino have been keeping the time for all the generations that have inhabited Rivalta since the XIV century, and are indeed part of the tradition and atmosphere one would expect to find when visiting a place like Rivalta. I am frightfully sorry if this did somehow fail your expectations. Secondly, the hotel staff tries to keep the noise to a minimum, but it is of course inevitable that every once in a while, in order to communicate, they produce some little noise, after all, they are not ghosts! The movement you must have heard up and down the stairs was probably when fresh brioches and croissants are brought upstairs to the canteen directly from the oven. Other than that, the staff normally prepares the tables for breakfast and then leaves the area, with no additional movements. This leads me to a consideration about the ‘claustrophobic’ penthouse. As the hotel is located in the old medieval walls of the burgh, I am sure you can understand that there cannot be a wealth of space comparable to that of a non-historical setting. Expanding the area would surely ruin the beauty and atmosphere of the area and break the harmony created by the presence of the medieval walls and keep, which date back to the early eleventh century. And finally, the province of Piacenza has the lowest seismic danger in the whole region of Emilia Romagna, as you can read here http://www.tuttitalia.it/emilia-romagna/61-piacenza/classificazione-sismica-climatica/. If this alone was not enough to make one feel safe, just think that the walls and towers of Rivalta survived centuries of sieges and devastating battles, and were indeed designed to resist to the blows of the artillery. Ludovica Zanardi Landi
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hgoldman77 wrote a review Oct 2009
hgoldman77144 contributions176 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked Residenza Torre expecting a restful pause in a packed sight-seeing trip but when we arrived we found a deserted hotel with less than a skeleton staff, none of whom spoke English. After a large tour bus of Germans departed from lunch at the unbearably hot, smelly bar, the place was virtually deserted and closed up. No entry to the castle by 3 p.m. on a Saturday afternoon. Although there were almost no guests, we were given a tiny room; a dying black fly lounged on the white bedspread of the four-poster, one of the curtained posts blocking any view of the TV. We decided to leave within 20 minutes of arrival given the fact that there was no service, the bar was insufferably hot and smelly, and the restaurant looked over-priced, stuffy and stale. The entire staff had been given a business-holiday at a meeting out of town, leaving us with one maid and the book keeper, neither of whom spoke English. We still have received no apology from the manager. This is a beautifully situated facility in need of a manager or owner who knows how to maintain the place, and offer guests a good and comfortable time. Fortunately, we were able to get to Bologna in about an hour, in time for an excellent dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2009
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fiona D wrote a review Oct 2011
Walsall, United Kingdom46 contributions57 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My children paid for 2 nights at Residenza Torre di San Martino as a birthday present for me through a special offer on Groupon at 149 euros. I had read the small print and understood that the room we would have was not to be in the Residenza but in one of the'Cottages' but on the website these were made to look very nice ( photoshop?) and therfore our hopes were high.
The little walled borgo of Rivalta is enchanting ( visit the castle) and when I arrived at the reception to check in the young man was very pleasant. He gave me a key, a map and some explanations of how to find the cottage. He also handed me a voucher for 'breakfast' and explained that Groupon guests ( here we go!) are only entitled to a coffee and a croissant in the bar next door to the hotel and not in a dining room as one would imagine.
I then got back into the car and drove the 300metres to the gated complex where the cottages were. The 'cottages' were terraced apartments around a courtyard. My cottage was no.22. It was all closed up with the shutters and the garden ( 6ft x 6ft) was a mess so not a good first impression. The front door opened directly into the very small bedroom ( 14sqm). The bed was directly in front of the french window and there were no net curtains which meant that you either had to keep the dark curtains closed during the day or anyone passing by could see all that was going on! There were spiderswebs everywhere ( I have the photos!)The bathroom was very nicely fitted, extremely clean with excellent quality towels etc.The bed was comfortable. The main road outside the cottage was very noisy and the soundproofing of the bedroom wasn't adequate.
The next morning I went to the reception to recuperate my passport that I had handed in the day before but the front door was locked and a note on the door said to call a number ( expensive if you have a Uk mobile ) to get assistance. I decided to return later and when I didthe door was still locked. On my third attempt, in the afternoon I was lucky, the same young man was on the desk.I took the opportunity to enquire at what time our room would be made up ( it was already mid afternoon ) and was informed that Groupon guests didn't have their rooms serviced! When I mentioned the spiderswebs the young man told me that the room had been cleaned thoroughly the day of our arrival but in this particular hotel spiders webs could form in 30 minutes! I do think that staff should learn to accept a small complaint and deal with it rather than offer a lame and not very clever excuse. The spiders webs were dusty they had been there so long!
My conclusion is that a high class establishment with enormous possibilities has made the bad decision of selling rooms off cheap on Groupon and lowering the standards of the Hotel for the guests who make the most of the offer. These guests then go home dissatisfied and spread the word about their experience. Yes, Residenza San Martino did put a few pennies in the pot but at what price?
p.s. I work in the hotel industry.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matteo L wrote a review Jul 2016
7 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked Hotel Residence Torre Di San Martino as part of our Wedding in June 2016. Everything was perfect the hotel is so beautiful and the rooms so quaint and fitting with the style of the location. As we were getting married at the Church in the grounds our family filled most of the rooms in the hotel. Everybody loved their rooms all slightly different in finishing details but all equally wonderful. The staff were all very helpful, a special thank you to Jennifer who helped us to book and organize everything we really appreciate all you did to make our stay so enjoyable and the perfect wedding! The breakfast was delicious with lots of different choices, something for everybody. The hotel bar offer a great selection of drinks and cocktails! I would recommend this hotel and location to everybody it really is a beautiful place. THANK YOU!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
az-france wrote a review Mar 2016
st paul france27 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a very unique village. The service was friendly, the recommendations and booking for dinner was super, the hotel itself is in the spirit of the village. We very much liked our stay here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie499270 wrote a review Oct 2019
Kingsville, Canada637 contributions137 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
a great place to stay outside of Trebbia and steps away from one of the great General Hannibal's Punic victories against Rome. Spacious, clean and quiet rooms, a beautiful garden setting dining room with excellent food, make this an ideal place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LudovicaZ18, Proprietario at Hotel Torre di San Martino
Responded Oct 12, 2019
Dear Guest, thank You so much for beautiful review. We are glad that You enjoyed Your stay. Thank You Best Regards Hotel Torre di San Martino
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
viesnia2016 wrote a review Nov 2018
Vilnius, Lithuania40 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good quality hotel, warm and clean rooms, comfortable beds in a ancient village complex. Didn't have time to visit spa and the restaurant was fully booked, but hope to check during the next time. Good choice for romantic getaways.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Torresanmartino
piacenza, Italia
Buonasera, colgo l'occasione per informarvi che stiamo progettando la nostra esclusiva Spa all'interno del borgo medievale di Rivalta. Nel frattempo , da Giugno 2015 , abbiamo inaugurato il nostro centro benessere dove e' possibile prenotare massaggi e trattamenti estetici. In questo periodo abbiamo interessanti promozioni che includono massaggi gratuiti al risveglio. Se desidera puo' prenotare una camera de Luxe King Size Grand Comfort con vasca idromassaggio, abbinata alla prenotazione di massaggi e/o trattamenti Augurandomi di averLa presto nostra Ospite, porgo cordiali saluti Ludovica Zanardi Landi
Marta C asked a question May 2015
139 contributions34 helpful votes
Ho visto che la camera denominata "doppia comfort" ha la vasca idromassaggio inclusa.. è per due? Grazie!
Answer from Torresanmartino
piacenza, Italia
Buongiorno, nel ringraziarLa per averci contattato, sono a comunicarLe che le nostre camere De luxe King size Grand Comfort dispongono di vasche idromassaggio singole, la suite offre una Jacuzzi doppia Cordialmente Ludovica Zanardi Landi
jvella893360 wrote a tip Jan 2020
Malta, New York1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great room but mini bar and breakfast could be improved "
Read full review
radzewicz wrote a tip Jul 2018
Marana, Arizona1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wish the parking availability was a little bit closer."
Read full review
Belgonzo wrote a tip May 2018
Los Angeles, California67 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"One of the older rooms upstairs- especially away from the restaurant."
Read full review
rpolacek wrote a tip Nov 2017
san francisco24 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Junior Suite!"
Read full review
Karen G wrote a tip Oct 2017
El Cajon, California10 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"make sure you can get in to their eating establishments before you head out for the day."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gazzola area.
PRICE RANGE
C$209 - C$243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Residenza Torre di San Martino
LOCATION
ItalyEmilia-RomagnaProvince of PiacenzaGazzola
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Torre di San Martino - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Torre di San Martino
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Torre di San Martino?
Nearby attractions include Museo delle Cere (6.6 km), Castello di Rivalta (0.4 km), and Castello di Grazzano Visconti (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Torre di San Martino?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Torre di San Martino?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Torre di San Martino?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Torre di San Martino?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Torre di San Martino?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brazuka, Osteria Vecchia Pergola, and Antica Locanda del Falco.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Torre di San Martino?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Torre di San Martino?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Torre di San Martino?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Torre di San Martino?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Borgo Storico Di Grazzano Visconti (6.6 km).
Does Hotel Torre di San Martino have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Gazzola HotelsGazzola Hotel DealsHotels near Hotel Torre di San Martino
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars