Hotel Restaurant De La Place

Hotel Restaurant De La Place

Place de l'Hotel de Ville, 17400, Saint-Jean-d'Angely France
chambre
Traveller (7)
Dining (6)
Chambre double hotel de la place
Room & Suite (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#2 of 2 hotels in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Hotel Restaurant De La Place their hotel of choice when visiting Saint-Jean-d'Angely. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Hotel Restaurant De La Place offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features newspaper. Plus, Hotel Restaurant De La Place offers a restaurant, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While visiting Saint-Jean-d'Angely, you may want to try some crab at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Le Scorlion.

Best of all, Hotel Restaurant De La Place makes it easy to experience some great Saint-Jean-d'Angely attractions like Tour de l'horloge, which is a popular architectural building.

At Hotel Restaurant De La Place, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Saint-Jean-d'Angely.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Place de l'Hotel de Ville, 17400, Saint-Jean-d'Angely France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 77 out of 100
77
Laleu Airport
57.8 km
See all flights
39Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 14
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
calgert wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was good value, we were happy with it. The reasons for the score of five are the excellent restaurant and the friendly owner who is fluent in english. He was able to fully explain the courses to us. When asked, he also suggested a local (Charentes) merlot, which was delightful. A minor drawback was that the wifi was not strong in our room, I had to step into the hallway to send an email.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sail1960 wrote a review Feb 2017
Southampton, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed and had dinner in this hotel and couldn't fault it. The proprietor was very helpful and the dinner service very good. Food was excellent so in all a good experience. Very good location in the centre of town, but beware the market day for parking!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol B wrote a review Dec 2016
Blakeney, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Set menu lunch to celebrate Christmas (early) partaken by about 3à people. Service was good, menu well thought through, but main course portion a tad on the small side. A small dining room so we rather overtook it. Needs more than one toilet!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roam531750 wrote a review Sep 2016
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a meal for a large group, including children. The food was delicious, I'd say the best we had eaten in the area but oh the service was so poor and really spoiled the meal. From the moment we walked in it was quite clear we, and particularly the children, weren't welcome, the waitress rolled her eyes continuously and bizarrely hissed at the kids! We booked in advance, so I'm not sure why they would accept a booking if they weren't happy to accommodate us?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P B, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant De La Place
Responded Sep 8, 2016
Thank you for your comment and we are glad you enjoyed your food. The table booking was for 10 and when you arrived you were actually 12. We welcome children into our restaurant we have 1 highchair available and a childrens menu with a choice of freshly cooked produce. Our staff went during service to a nearby restaurant to borrow a second highchair, which you decided not to use. We were happy to accomodated your extra customers in an already full restaurant.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Norman S wrote a review Oct 2016
Edmonton, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 1 night here on a self guided walking tour. The owner was clearly a consummate professional in both the hotel and restaurant ends of the business. The room was clean, spacious and well appointed. Wifi went out at one point but this was quickly remedied and reception was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas M wrote a review May 2016
Melbourne, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have returned to stay in La Place after two years to find it an even more enjoyable place to stay. Since my last visit our rooms have been tastefully refurbished, with renovated bathrooms, new floor coverings and furnishings and freshly repainted throughout. It is still an unpretensious hotel, but it punches above its weight as they say. My room looked out over a small terrace court yard. Though smallish, it was simply but very adequately furnished and had a stand for my suitecase, unlike most hotels we have stayed in. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and quiet and the sevice here is verry friendly and professional.
We dined in, and the food and service was excellent. Saint Jean d'Angely has mant attractions, and this small central hotel is a great base from which to explore it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Either have a room overlooking the square, or a quiet rom overlooking the terrace.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sw10tal wrote a review Sep 2018
England, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Waiter asked if we had a reservation in a quiet Resturant! Then huffed and puffed took 10 mins to even bring a menu! Choices were poor and atmosphere worse - will not recommend this to the English in St Jean!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from P B, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant De La Place
Responded Oct 3, 2018
We are sorry we were unable to satisfy your needs in our restaurant. We have a wide choice of meat, fish and vegetarian foods available, homemade with only fresh produce. The restaurant has been open for 22 years and has a big following of English and French customers. Cordialement,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thomas M wrote a review May 2014
Melbourne, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
De La Place is primarily a restaurant, but is well worth considering for accommodation. The carpet upstairs is very tired and needs replacement, indeed the rooms now seem tired and in need of refurbishment. My room, ' Mimosa' was large, as was my bathroom. I had plenty of room to get around the very large bed- actually two singles put together; the furnishings are tired yet still functional. The shower cubicle in the bathroom has strange doors that swing in and don't close very well, but otherwise it was more satisfactory than many smarter looking bathrooms and indeed bedrooms. Our evening meal was good, as was breakfast. The manager was most helpful and spoke excellent English. The Hotel de La Place is in the square with the major civic buildings, unfortunately spoilt by being a car park. The old town centre is close at hand, and there is plenty to see in the town.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The Mimosa room was very satisfactory. Expect two star quality and you will be pleasantly surprised.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
These reviews are machine translated from their original language. Show machine translations?
Antoine B wrote a review Apr 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean and nice hotel. The catering is excellent and the glass of wine chosen by the owner was extraordinary and inexpensive. Well done. I will definitely go back. The choice of the meal of the day with fish and gourmet coffee is a safe bet. Cooking the fish clearly showed the professionalism of the cook. I have nothing to say about the excellent service. The fish was fresh and I didn't know the species offered. A detour of choice in this unexpected medieval town.
Read more
Google
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Un parking avec beaucoup de places est en face. Pratique
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Thomas M wrote a tip May 2016
Melbourne, Australia236 contributions97 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Either have a room overlooking the square, or a quiet rom overlooking the terrace."
Read full review
Thomas M wrote a tip May 2014
Melbourne, Australia236 contributions97 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Mimosa room was very satisfactory. Expect two star quality and you will be pleasantly surprised."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint-Jean-d'Angely area.
PRICE RANGE
C$134 - C$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineCharente-MaritimeSaint-Jean-d'Angely
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Restaurant De La Place - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Restaurant De La Place
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Restaurant De La Place?
Nearby attractions include La Construction Pharaonique, Les Outils (0.4 km), Rum Runners (0.3 km), and Tour de l'Horloge (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Restaurant De La Place?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Restaurant De La Place?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Restaurant De La Place?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Restaurant De La Place?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hotel Restaurant de la Place, Le Scorlion, and Le Cabanon.
Is Hotel Restaurant De La Place located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Saint-Jean-d'Angely.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Restaurant De La Place?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Restaurant De La Place?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tour de l'Horloge (0.3 km) and Eglise De La Nativite De La Sainte-Vierge (5.2 km).
All Saint-Jean-d'Angely HotelsSaint-Jean-d'Angely Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Saint-Jean-d'AngelyHotels near Hotel Restaurant De La Place
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars