We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Oak

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Oak
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Oak
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Marple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This is truly a dog freindly hotel. Special attention has been paid for travellers with dogs. Access direct from outside Room was clean and comfortable. Checkin and check out was trouble free. Food was good and reasonably price, staff were pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sumitraveller
Gayle G, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to shared feedback with us regarding your recent visit to The Oak. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the food good. We are dog friendly here and have water bowls located throughout the pub for their use as well as dog treats behind the...

Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Great Meal, the food was excellent,If anyone is around this area then you won't find a better meal. We did not stay at the Oak so I cannot rate the hotel side. Service was second to none,we will definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petemartin448
Gayle G, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to shared feedback with us regarding your recent visit to The Oak. It is great to know that you enjoyed the food and service and that you are planning on coming back to see us. All of our food is home-cooked and freshly prepared for our guests enjoyment and our 2 meals for...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Booked a while ago and was very happy with our stay. Pet friendly with Jasper the dog being performer in the bar. Food and accomadation excellent, breakfast a treat with The sausage being the star! Will be back for more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robertson1954
Gayle G, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to shared feedback with us regarding your recent visit to The Oak. Jasper - and all of us here - are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were happy with your stay. All of our food is home-cooked and freshly prepared for our guests enjoyment whether...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

When things go wrong, there is little in way of customer recovery. I booked 4 months in advance on their own website for a double, arrived around 5+pm and we were the last to check in and all they had left was a twin room. When I first queried it, I was given an excuse that my booking was made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank e0029
Gayle G, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Hello We thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent visit to us. We are concerned about the points that you have raised and will contact you directly regarding your visit to discuss further your issues. It would appear that your visit didn't offer the the high standards of service and food that we have become...

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Arrived on a very rainy afternoon. Bar staff chatting to each other and ignored us until I said excuse me. Checked in. Asked to swipe a card. Got to our room we stayed in No.8.. Nothing special. Laminate flooring in corridor and in room. Made the stay very noisy. Cast iron bed frame that was no where near a double,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
Gayle G, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Hello, We thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent visit to us. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the stay with us. The rooms were all refurbished in the last 12 months so for you to say that they "were nothing special" is very disappointing. The majority of other comments on this site all...

Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

The corridors and rooms have hard flooring which increases noise levels. Although the room appeared to be clean the grouting between the tiles in the bathroom was dirty and unsightly. Not what you expect from newly refurbished accommodation. There was metal frame bed in the room which was very small for a double and creaked like hell with every move....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterS6866
Gayle G, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Hello We thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent visit to us. Your feedback has been the focus of some in-depth training that we have done here with regards to standards and I can only apologise that you did not experience the high standards of room quality that we have become known for. I accept...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I like the informality of this place. I travel alone & don't always want to eat in the restaurant. Staff happy for me to order and take a tray back to my room, which was comfortable and equipped with the basics you need. Will book again when in that area...low price, reasonable quality room & food, pleasant staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
Gayle G, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Hello Many thanks for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent visit to The Oak. We are delighted to that we have gained a new customer and that you enjoyed your time with us so much that you will book again when next in the area. We look forward to welcoming you to The Oak again soon where...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I have just used the Restaurant at the Oak on three occasions.The food was very good very reasonable prices.Nice and hot and served with a pleasant waitress.I will be going back.You may have to wait a while after placing your order but it is worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma504202
Gayle G, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Hello Many thanks for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent visit to The Oak. All of our food here at The Oak is freshly prepared and home-cooked for our guests enjoyment and sometimes this can result in the food taking slightly longer to reach you than we would hope. That said you will always be told of...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Once again looking for good value but not too far from the city. We wanted to see Coventry which is a short drive away, so booked the Oak which offered dining as well. This is a typical English pub with accommodation in a separate adjacent building. The welcome was warm and friendly and the room had everything we needed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
Gayle G, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Hello Many thanks for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent visit to The Oak. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found the room comfortable and clean and value for money. All of our food here at The Oak, whether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner, is freshly prepared and...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Another pleasurable visit to The Oak! Staff and meal excellent. Have been coming here for 4 years and we have NEVER had a poor meal or shabby service. The Oak has a great atmosphere with lovely staff for whom nothing is too much. Would recommend to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fitzmor
Gayle G, Owner at The Oak, responded to this review

Hello Many thanks for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent visit to The Oak. We are delighted to know that you had another "pleasurable" visit to The Oak. All of our food here at The Oak is freshly prepared and home-cooked for our guests enjoyment and our 2 meals for £12 offer is available all day every...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baginton
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Coventry South
Holiday Inn Coventry South
#23 of 39 in Coventry
305 reviews
6.2 km away
Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#22 of 39 in Coventry
444 reviews
7.8 km away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,604 reviews
4.9 km away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Oak in Baginton, a village pub situated on the outskirts of Coventry. Ideally located and very close to Coventry Airport. 10 minute drive to the town centre with ample places to eat and drink. 5 minute drive to the Air Museum. Pleasant walks. All our rooms are well equipped and en-suite, some rooms have disabled access. We offer a nice relaxed environment with log fires, table service, traditional ales and good quality home cooked food. Our facilities include large bar area with comfy leather sofas and wing backed chairs for drinkers. Good sized garden and quiet location. Free parking for guests and free wifi access in the bar area. Please Note: We are a No-Smoking property. Dogs allowed, may incur additional charge. Children welcome. Check-In time: 12:00 and Check-Out time: 11:00. Pets are charged a supplement of £5 per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oak

Address: Coventry Road, Baginton CV8 3AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Baginton
Price Range: $88 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Oak staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Asking me about Hotel rooms. Can't rate, never stayed!”
 of 5 bubbles missakas, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“First floor rooms facing away from the pub are better in my opinion.”
 of 5 bubbles vicky42, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“They are all excellent, we had a look”
 of 5 bubbles rayw702, 8 Dec 2015 | Read review
“all the rooms are decked out different, check the web site.”
 of 5 bubbles swizzl, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Not anything on the ground floor!”
 of 5 bubbles heatherp600, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5