We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Dolphin Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Dolphin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 307: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friends came and stayed with us for the New Year and we took them to the Dolphin for lunch as always has been quite good. This occasion they excelled and everything was just super. Warm plates, hot food and very good portions brilliant selection to choice from and the food was the best we have eaten for ages. All five...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Dolphin Hotel in Beer may not be the nearest Pub to the beach, but it is certainly the best. We are lucky enough to live only 15 minutes away in Honiton, and we visit the very pretty fishing village of Beer often. At weekends we enjoy the very good Full English Breakfasts which are available in the bars until...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hunter111
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Whitley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Cheap and very good food.but the worst night sleep ever.will not be staying again.but must say 50%staff very good .ither 50%didnt want to be there..beer is a lovely place to visit .lively walks for the dog and hotel very dog friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have noted your comments and will take necessary action. We would look forward to welcoming you back.

Nn11 0tq
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here for Sunday lunch. The carvery was excellent. Upon entry to the building you are pointed by arrows on the walls towards the function room for the carvery. You can sit at any available table you wish. However, there are no clear instructions on how to order or pay for the carvery. We found a table to our liking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

epsom. surrey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked 2 rooms to stay here for 2 nights in December 2016. Booking was made over the phone with Pam who was very helpful, courteous and efficient. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The other room was very large with a double and single beds and maybe not so clean having a free standing wardrobe which was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HIls123
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Whilst visiting friends who live in Beer,on 20th November, they asked us to join them for Sunday lunch at the Dolphin. The carvery lunch was exceptional and generous along with the service by Danny who I believe is the proprietor. The roast beef was cooked to perfection and and was very tasty. We all really enjoyed it. Well done Danny.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RickScraptoft
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 16 November 2016

Went here with five others, food was excellent all freshly cooked and plenty of it excellent service and friendly staff, it has a good menu and is reasonably priced. Sorry can't say about accommodation we've never stayed but for me well worth five stars.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gordon W
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This is a lovely family run hotel, bar and restaurant. We enjoyed a lovely meal, the best food with great service. Not a bad price either. everyone was so friendly and accommodating. i stayed in the hotel last year and it was just as good then as it was this time. i would recommend this to everyone. families young and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wendy W
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

As part of the celebrations of 2016 Beer Luggers club we had a a carvery at the Dolphin, Plentiful meat with lots of vegetables certainly no problems there. An excellent standard of good quickly served, can recommended the Dolphin any day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simon s
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

South West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Arranged to meet friends and have evening meal with them. They had booked in for bed and breakfast. Once there we decided to do the same. All the staff were very polite and extremely helpful. The meals we choose we're all first class.We were very impressed.great menu, great service and staff, comfortable bedroom, excellent breakfast. The whole evening was perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia W
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
2.6 km away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
583 reviews
6.7 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
290 reviews
11.2 km away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
375 reviews
0.1 km away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#5 of 9 in Beer
281 reviews
0.0 km away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dolphin Hotel is an impressive historic Hotel situated in the beautiful fishing village of Beer on the Jurassic Coast. We have 22 bedrooms, a Restaurant, 2 Public Bars and a Function Room. We specialise in hearty portions of local seafood and home cooked meals. We have our OWN CAR PARK! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Price Range: $117 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Beer
The Dolphin Hotel Beer, UK - Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dolphin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room away form the bar”
 of 5 bubbles HIls123, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother.”
 of 5 bubbles skibereencork, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room as far away from the bar as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles RogerAckroyd, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms above the kitchen!”
 of 5 bubbles ChristopherH221, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a front room. (only 4 of them though), and you might want to avoid any over the kitchen!”
 of 5 bubbles 442ElizabethP, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay