We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thanda Safari

Expedia.comUS$539*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$567*
US$539*
Great Deal
US$555*
US$567*
US$539*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Thanda Safari
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thanda Safari
See the most recent reviews
Showing 298: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Given the cost I expected a WOW experience but instead was met with a very average one. The room and view from the room was exquisite and the service in the restaurant was exceptional but the experience was certainly not personalised which was what was expected. The incelment weather a few days before our arrival had affected the availability of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DrAugustaDorning
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to hear that you found the view from the room to be very special. In Zululand we have some of the most spectacular sunset and off course the rolling hills of Zululand is something special you will not see in other parts of our beautiful country. I am sorry to hear...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 28 December 2014

I am a tour guide and operator With my own company "Bup Tours "and travel with clients for a living and I must admit I Loved my stay here with my Girlfriend. We booked for three nights at the main lodge because it boasted great views from the room, each room had its own pool and deck all which sounded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BupTours
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of Thanda Safari Lodge. We are delighted to hear that, despite all your travels, you found our Lodge to be one of the best. The Lodge is built in the form of a traditional Zulu hut, explaining the large space and rounded walls. At Thanda we are very proud of our Zulu background and...

Melbourne
Reviewed 17 December 2014

Stayed at this camp for three nights. The game drivers were excellent and the drives OK although the park does not cover a large area and you soon get to know the park and it's confines.. Food was good as were the amenities. The complaint I did have was the location of the tents which themselves are well set up....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Takeiteasytheworld
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of Thanda Tented Camp. Thanda comprises roughly of 15000ha, but due to the lack of rain and hot days in this specific area the animals tend to favour certain areas on the reserve, close to the waterholes. Therefore game drives can tend to be in the same area as our qualified guides know which...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 15 December 2014

We stayed in the tented camp recently and what an experience. The "tents" are better than most 5* hotel rooms and the service ethic is unparalleled. The game drives and rangers are some of the best I have experienced. The only/biggest negative is the food. Way below average and disappointing given the rest of the experience. Considering the daily rates,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterDV
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari, responded to this review

Dear Peter. Thank you for your valued feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you loved the Tents and that you found our service to be professional and of high standard. Our guides have all spent years in the Bush and therefore developed a six sense for nature and our guests’ needs. I am, however, sorry to hear that...

South Africa
Reviewed 25 November 2014

We spent three nights at Thanda Safari Lodge. The staff at Thanda are proud of who they are and what they do. Each staff member introduced him or herself and each seemed to know exactly who we were in turn. There are only nine luxury suites in the whole lodge and we stayed in number 1 which is private and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaConcerned
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari, responded to this review

Dear Aly, thank you for your review of Thanda Safari Lodge. The Chef said they are happy that they could make your celebration a special one – even with the special dietary requirements. Willard and Zeblon had some amazing game drives recently and we have been fortunate to have the leopards show their faces for more than a couple of...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Arriving at Thanda on the friday afternoon after a busy work week was just the right medicine for the 3 of us.The reception each time you arrive at the lodge after a game drive was warm and special. Every staff member seems interested and alert to your needs.The food menu and meals are well thought out and the dinners were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thanda285
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Thanda with your family and for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. There is something special about the Bush and the sounds at night that makes one forget about all the worries in life. Our staff is always happy to share stories and to improve your stay any way possible. The lion cubs are growing up very...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 16 November 2014

We stayed in the tented camp. These luxurious tents are no where near normal tents and are very luxurious. The well furnished rooms come with victorian bath , outside shower to be closer to nature and a massive king size bed. The lodge itself which is hardly visible due to its ECO thatch boma's and tents, but has everything one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yihaa500
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Our Tented Camp is very special and unique as you so rightly mentioned – you have the opportunity to experience nature up close and personal without having to give up any of the added luxuries. Our lion family visited the area around the Tented Camp last night and you could hear the male roaring...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 15 November 2014

The tented camp is lovely, luxury, just wonderfull. Lions, cheeta in the wild and fantastic food. We felt like we were explorers in Africa. Amasing photographs to take home and memories that wil live forever. Danke

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeniSea
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had such a wonderful time at our Tented Camp. The camp was built with that old time safari feel in mind – think back to the days of Hemingway... You are welcome to share some of your pictures on our Facebook page www.facebook.com/thandaprivategamereserve. We are looking forward to your return...

Diemen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 November 2014

this is probably one of the best experiences when it comes to luxury travel. When you enter the reserve you park your own car and you are awaited by a guide and a tracker and a car and they will be at your service almost everytime during your stay. We have stayed in the tented camp. perfect bed, outdoor shower,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jeroenhesselink
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari, responded to this review

Dear Jeroen. Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you experienced some time away from everyday life by being “disconnected” and “de-stressed” without the mobile phones and internet. It gives one the opportunity to completely relax and enjoy what nature has to offer. Our tents are built with full privacy in mind and give you some of the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2014

This is the fourth time that we have stayed at Thanda and we did wonder whether it was gong to be one visit too many but I am pleased to say that we were not disappointed. The suite at the main lodge was as magnificent as ever and was perfectly clean. The food was good and high tea had improved...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shewholunches2014
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Safari, responded to this review

Dear Peter and Marian. Thank you for your wonderful comment. It was lovely to have met you on your last stay and we are very happy that you decided to come and visit us for the 4th time. We are delighted to hear that you feel our High Tea has improved over your last visit and our team in the...

577 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (439)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (259)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (50)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thanda Private Game Reserve
21.6 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
125 reviews
23.5 km away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
38.0 km away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in KwaNompondo
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#3 of 33 in Hluhluwe
357 reviews
9.9 km away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
23.6 km away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thanda Safari is situated 23km north of Hluhluwe in northern Zululand, South Africa, and is set on a 14 000-hectare Big Five private game reserve. Thanda, meaning 'love' in isiZulu, unites romance and exclusivity with Zulu culture and wildlife. The nine luxury bush suites at Thanda Safari Lodge have private infinity pools, viewing decks, private salas, lounges, fireplaces and full bathrooms with both indoor and outdoor showers. The individual bomas at each suite offer guests dining privacy. The public facilities at Thanda Safari Lodge include a lounge, library, dining room, boma, dining deck, wine cellar, cigar bar, private business area and viewing decks. Villa iZulu can accommodate 10 people, offering accommodation as a unit of five separate suites. Each suite is individually decorated and very private, with its own viewing deck. Public facilities at Villa iZulu include a boma, library, wine cellar, business area, heated pool and a magnificent deck overlooking a waterhole. Thanda Tented Camp is built in colonial safari style, offering an authentic bush experience in 15 tents. The tents have viewing decks and en-suite canvass bathrooms. Public facilities at Thanda Tented Camp include a dining tent, a boma area, and a sala consisting of an 'open-air' lounge and a 10x5m rim-flow pool. The Jabula Tent, located within Thanda Tented Camp, offers a sophisticated mix of romance, privacy and refined comfort in the heart of the African bush. It features a king-sized bed in a spacious bedroom, and a comfortable separate lounge area for relaxation. A highlight of Jabula Tent is the outdoor shower and splash pool which has spectacular panoramic views of the 14000-hectare reserve. Thanda's award-winning spa offers signature treatments that are based on a combination of western techniques and ancient Zulu holistic practices - learnt from traditional Zulu women, to massage, soothe and heal. Safaris in open game viewing vehicles are conducted exclusively for Thanda guests on the low-risk malaria reserve. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thanda Safari

Address: D242 off the N2 | Hluhluwe, 3915, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Thanda Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $607 - $1,508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thanda Safari 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Thanda Safari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanda Private Game Reserve Hotel Hluhluwe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thanda Safari staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Glendale, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Thanda Safari staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All houses are equally good.”
jaapv6, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Each suite in the iZulu Villa has views and is elegantly decorated.”
Pakamisa, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have great views!”
  • Entrance
  • Our tent!!
PeteandAly, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose the tent closest to the main area if you don't want a long walk.”
surfonsun, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms nearer the main lodge avoid long walks”
APOLLO1991, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$539* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$555
TripAdvisorUS$539
Booking.comUS$567
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates