We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Wellness Resort

1 Redonda Bay, Playa Redonda, Nicaragua
Special Price
20% off room rate
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Mirador del Cristo de la Misericordia
    21.0 km
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 1 week ago
Gem of the Emerald Coast
We returned to Aqua last June for a week and spent our honeymoon... more
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 503: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We returned to Aqua last June for a week and spent our honeymoon there in May of 2013. This place is truly one of a kind and worth the value as long as you align your expectations ahead of time. You should know before you go that this is not an all inclusive style resort like those in Cancun or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travis D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I don't normally write bad reviews but this place really deserves it. It's no more a four star hotel than A hamburger chain is a four star restaurant. We had a luxury suite on the beach which had a lovely view and was acceptable but not for the prices charged. The staff have no idea what they're doing, not their...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LetItBeReal
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was a great place to chill and relax after long time working. Every morning you will wake up with ocean sound and birds singing. They have lovely staff. The manager of the restaurant was a French Sympa girl called charlotte, I needed a cigarette and she gave me hers, very very polite and nice staff. Great food. Lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mahshid87
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just terrible. We booked here more than nine months ago. The last place on our itinerary after staying in three other places in Nicaragua.. Leon, Grenada and Ometepe. This is by far the most expensive of all the places we have stayed in Nicaragua, and by far the most disappointing. It was supposed to be our treat after staying at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barbeach R
Stephanie L, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear barbeachR, As noted below in the response to your spouse’s comments, unfortunately, during your stay, we had a pipe break and our maintenance staff worked tirelessly to get it fixed. During this time, guests were asked to move to the beach deck where the issue was not prevalent. Although they are not perfect, our local, Nicaraguan staff makes every...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We checked into our "ocean view" room. Which to be fair had an awesome view of the ocean. But it was 200 steep steps down to it! There was a beautiful plunge room right outside our room... awesome I thought. (See photo, it's literally at our door)Till I found out it wasn't ours to use but the neighbouring room! Great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachandRob
Stephanie L, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear RachandRob, Thank you for noting the amazing views of the ocean offered at our resort. Unfortunately, during your stay, we had a pipe break and our maintenance staff worked tirelessly to get it fixed. During this time, our wait staff asked guests to move to the beach deck where the issue was not prevalent. Since this is a Spanish...

Central Ontario
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We travelled with our 16 year-old daughter and stayed for four nights in the Quetzal Luxury Suite. It was a perfect location - 1/2 way down to the beach with a touch of a beach view (but called jungle view). We loved all that Aqua had to offer. The beach is lovely, the food excellent, the yoga invigorating, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Aqua wellness is located at an absolutely beautiful spot unfortunately my family and I were unable to enjoy the beauty due to the extremely poor customer service, inedible food, spotty wifi, and issues with our rooms. The first two days of our stay we tried to eat the food at the resort and we were very disappointed and also sick....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank travelingissweet
Stephanie L, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear travelingissweet, Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know about your experience at Aqua. I am sorry that you believe that you got sick at our resort and felt it necessary to eat elsewhere. To our knowledge, no one has ever been sick from our food and every effort is taken to ensure we...

Kentucky
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a week over the Christmas holidays and we had an absolute wonderful time. We surfed, hiked, kayaked and mostly we just relaxed and listened to the monkeys talk. They are far enough from everything that you are forced to unplug from your life but close enough that you can put on your shoes and hike over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnP42301
Stephanie L, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Thank you JohnP42301! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at Aqua. We are more than thrilled that you enjoyed yourself here and I will be sure and pass along the kudos to everyone you mentioned. We hope to see you back soon!

Boston
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The positives: beautiful spot on the water, safe part of Nicaragua, staff are friendly and really try, not too expensive. The rooms are small, but nice and clean--luxury tree houses which are cool. Very close to nature, monkeys and raccoons. Definitely a hotel for in shape, active people, as there are about 300 steps from reception which is at the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ancahe
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The property and the rooms are absolutely stunning. The service here is the exact opposite, TERRIBLE. We paid $444 for one night, which is 4-6x what other hotels are charging. If you're charging such an exorbitant premium, you had better deliver. The disappointment started the moment I booked the hotel. The website let me book for 3 nights. It wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nicholas M
Stephanie L, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Nicholas M, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, as negative as it was. Feedback like yours helps us to improve our customer service. We are happy you appreciate the beauty of Aqua and its surroundings. However, I am disappointed to know your experience was not completely positive. Our reservations team was very responsive to your requests...

873 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (616)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (205)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (198)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Forest View Penthouse (33)
Viewed
Forest View Treehouse (21)
Viewed
Ocean View Luxury Suite with Pool (43)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Redonda
14.7 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.4 km away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
342 reviews
22.6 km away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#11 of 26 in San Juan del Sur
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
17.9 km away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
395 reviews
0.9 km away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aqua is a luxurious eco- and wellness resort with a private white-sand beach on Nicaragua's picturesque Emerald Coast. Guest accommodations are set in beautifully crafted Tree Houses on a wooded hillside overlooking the ocean. All have decks; some have full kitchens and outdoor plunge pools. Guests enjoy yoga classes, spa treatments and hiking, and water activities including stand-up paddle boarding, snorkeling, kayaking, surfing and fishing. Our guides take guests for excursions to nearby colonial cities, parks and volcanoes. Aqua's open-air bar/lounge and restaurant, with its wood-burning pizza oven and menu of healthy international cuisine made with local ingredients, are directly adjacent to the beach. The lush forest that envelops Aqua is alive with spider and howler monkeys, and a wide variety of colorful tropical birds. Aqua is the perfect spot for a destination wedding, a honeymoon, an active family vacation -- or a serene getaway where you can enjoy nature and one of the most idyllic beaches in Nicaragua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aqua Wellness Resort

Address: 1 Redonda Bay, Playa Redonda, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Redonda
Price Range: $279 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Wellness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Aqua Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Wellness Hotel Playa Gigante
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aqua Wellness Resort staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Aqua Wellness Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with a kitchen, you will need it! Restaurant is really BAD”
 of 5 bubbles ancahe, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get close to the water if possible and if wifi is important, don't stay in the upper deck of conziuelo room”
 of 5 bubbles janined842, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a space that features a plunge pool. You won't regret it. If you don't like walking, try to rent closer to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Y6267PWsamk, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If a lot of stairs are an issue check to see if they have rooms closer to the restaurant, those dont have as many stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles nabglow, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the top of the hill so you can walk the stairs and stay in shape! Don't complain.”
 of 5 bubbles 237peytonl, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5