We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aqua Wellness Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Aqua Wellness Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aqua Wellness Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 487: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Checking in: cold towels and the most amazing juice to welcome us to Central America. The hotel is a lovely piece of luxury nestled into it's natural setting. The treehouses (ours was Sapote SLS) are in the trees up on the hillside - we woke up and monkeys were hanging out on the trees right beside us!! The wooden treehouses... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Rachel, Our staff is delighted that as a travel professional, you think so highly of Aqua! Your review indicates you really "get" what a special place Aqua is -- the tree houses, the spectacular setting, the barefoot luxury, and let's not forget the monkeys! We look forward to welcoming you at Aqua again! Best, Sharon More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

We were disappointed with this place from the moment we drove in. For 500 dollars a night plus, we would have expected better signage and a better road (remember: for just a 100 bucks more you could stay at Mukul which is just 10 minutes away... The road there is perfectly paced with gorgeous foliage and flowers lining the drive...... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank IreneWV
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear Irene WV, We are sorry that you found aspects of your stay unsatisfying, but I don't feel it's appropriate to compare Aqua to our neighboring resort Mukul, for Mukul is considerably more expensive than Aqua (not just $100 more a day, as you mentioned,) and the resort was designed to appeal to guests who value ultra-luxurious comfort and amenities... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Great location, great yoga, great beach, good accommodation, average restaurant, poor organisation skills. Clearly great for nature lovers. Yoga instructor Christian is absolutely the top. Not the mention the view at the yoga saloon. If you organise a tour at the reception be ready to ask a lot of questions. They are poor organizers and not clear with the prices.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Istanbulapt
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear Istanbulapt, Thank you for your forthright review of Aqua -- especially for a guest who came to Nicaragua all the way from Turkey!! I'm sorry if you felt the tour prices weren't clear. We are about to update our tours offerings, which should make everything much easier for guests. Glad you loved the friendly service, and it was nice... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

Just got back from a long weekend getaway with friends to this AMAZING resort! It's a hidden gem, tucked away in the forest on a mountain that dips right into a quiet bay on the pacific coast. The grounds are breathtaking. You're literally immersed in nature, but have all the luxuries of a top notch resort. We stayed in a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Androniki1
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear Adroniki, Thank you for such a thorough and glowing review of Aqua! I'm so glad to hear you loved the setting, the food and the service. How nice of you to call attention to the staff by name. It means so much to them that guests appreciate and remember them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Aqua... More 

calgary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2015

I just spent 6 nights at this resort. I traveled with a group for a wellness retreat and the setting was spectacular. The restaurant staff went above and beyond in their kindness especially Carlos, Eddy and Jenny. The room i stayed in had a partial ocean view and a plunge pool which was so enjoyable. The A/C in the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank avidtravelercalgary
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear AvidTravelerCalgary, Thank you for your great review of Aqua. We're so glad to hear that you found the staff kind and helpful, and that you called them out by name. I'm sure that Carlos, Eddy and Jenny will be thrilled! You were right on about the monkeys and birds that can wake you early, and I'm glad you didn't... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

This trip was highly recommended by a close friend so we were even more excited for the experience! We were greeted promptly after our arrival by our driver, Edwin. He was very eager to drive us safely to the resort and to share some local information. Once we arrived at the resort, this really energetic young man "Jose" welcomed us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your beautiful review of Aqua. We're so glad to hear that you found the resort fabulous and the staff so helpful. I love what you said, "We certainly recommend this resort for those that are interested in relaxing, meditate, enjoy the nature, great customer service and be at peace!" We hope to see you at Aqua again... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

I'd say 95% of the reviews about this place are accurate. With that being said, I went on a Wellness trip with 16 women. The rooms were above my expectations. New, clean, air conditioning was working at full capacity! The resort is literally in nature's Wonderland! You must like lizards, birds, monkeys, kinkajous, small skunks and raccoons. They are constantly... More 

Helpful?
Thank kellyann b
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Wow, KellyannB, can we use your Trip Advisor review as an ad for Aqua?!! You really captured what the resort and total experience is all about. Thank you for mentioning the friendly and helpful staff by name -- it will make their day! We hope to see you at Aqua again soon! Best, Sharon More 

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

We were upgraded on arrival to a luxury suite right at the top of the resort. The room was comfortable and well appointed. On the plus side the views were terrific and we were level with the howler monkeys, and on the minus side it was a sweaty hike up from the restaurant/beach, but it was nice to be far... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sheila H, So glad you spent the last days of your Nicaragua vacation at Aqua! As you mentioned, one of the benefits of having a Tree House up high on the hill is the amazing view -- and being up close and personal with the howler monkeys. But, agreed, it is a hike to get up there. Think of... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2015

A beautiful romantic resort with all the ingredients for a perfect "glamping" (glamorous camping) experience. A private cove overlooking the Pacfic, extravagant treehouse-style lodging offering a little glimpse into the lifestyle in the tropics, a variety of outdoors activities (yoga sessions with a view, many trail and beach running routes, paddle boarding at sunset, and kayaking), restaurant overlooking the water,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amal K
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2015

an amazing hotel, barefoot luxury as the manager calls it. Wooden houses on top of trees over an amazing p[rivate beach. we travelled with our 2 daughters, 16 and 18 . we were lodged on a luxury beach suite w private pool plus a tree house suite for the girls. This meant a house that was our room with a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Clara G
SharonatAqua, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear Clara from Portugal, How wonderful to hear that you and your family came a long way from Portugal to get to Nicaragua, and that your stay at Aqua made it all worth it! I agree that it's an amazing experience for a family to share its own Tree House and to watch the monkeys and racoons playing around so... More 

857 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (599)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (102)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (189)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (198)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Forest View Penthouse (33)
Viewed
Forest View Treehouse (21)
Viewed
Ocean View Luxury Suite with Pool (43)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Redonda
2.4 km away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
330 reviews
14.7 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
17.2 km away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#11 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
273 reviews
17.9 km away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
389 reviews
0.9 km away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aqua is a luxurious eco- and wellness resort with a private white-sand beach on Nicaragua's picturesque Emerald Coast. Guest accommodations are set in beautifully crafted Tree Houses on a wooded hillside overlooking the ocean. All have decks; some have full kitchens and outdoor plunge pools. Guests enjoy yoga classes, spa treatments and hiking, and water activities including stand-up paddle boarding, snorkeling, kayaking, surfing and fishing. Our guides take guests for excursions to nearby colonial cities, parks and volcanoes. Aqua's open-air bar/lounge and restaurant, with its wood-burning pizza oven and menu of healthy international cuisine made with local ingredients, are directly adjacent to the beach. The lush forest that envelops Aqua is alive with spider and howler monkeys, and a wide variety of colorful tropical birds. Aqua is the perfect spot for a destination wedding, a honeymoon, an active family vacation -- or a serene getaway where you can enjoy nature and one of the most idyllic beaches in Nicaragua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aqua Wellness Resort

Address: 1 Redonda Bay, Playa Redonda, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Redonda
Price Range: $279 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Wellness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Aqua Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Wellness Hotel Playa Gigante
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aqua Wellness Resort staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Aqua Wellness Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a space that features a plunge pool. You won't regret it. If you don't like walking, try to rent closer to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Y6267PWsamk, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If a lot of stairs are an issue check to see if they have rooms closer to the restaurant, those dont have as many stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles nabglow, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the top of the hill so you can walk the stairs and stay in shape! Don't complain.”
 of 5 bubbles 237peytonl, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for Villa if Budget Allows!”
  • One of the Villas
 of 5 bubbles CharlieOrlando, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher location of the room, the more magical the view. Get provisions for your house before arriving.”
  • View of sunset from unit
  • Ocean view from the unit
  • Kinkajou Luxury Tree House
 of 5 bubbles vamean, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay