We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abalone House & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abalone House & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Abalone House & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 246: English reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2015

First of all I will start this review by saying: For a proper 5 star experience I will highly recommend to rather go to Strandloper Boutique Hotel which is located right on the beach on the opposite side of Paternoster. That hotel is a pure DELIGHT - and we've revisited several times since our first visit in March. A home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristin J
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments are noted. We are sorry that you had an unpleasant experience.

South Africa
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Abalone House and Spa is a remarkable gem hidden away in the quaint fishing village of Paternoster. This 5 star slice of paradise offers everything you need in order to ensure you leave feeling recharged and rejuvenated (and just plain spoilt!). The rooms are spacious and comfortable and have all the quirks of 5 star accommodation. Reuben's restaurant is spectacular...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Abalone House & Spa in Paternoster. It is always an honour to read what our guests thought about their stay, and your compliments are most welcome and delightful. We have shared your review with both the Spa and Reuben's teams, as well as Leigh our General...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Abalone House provided the perfect venue for our July 4th wedding with 35 guests. Leigh, the General Manager was a wonderful hostess; she helped us plan everything from the menus, the flowers, the photographer, the hairdresser, the favours, accommodation for overflow in the village ... even the pastor! The day of the wedding was magical. All of the arrangements were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louiseburney
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your wedding at Abalone House and wish you a beautiful life together as husband and wife. It was our pleasure and honour to host your wedding in beautiful Paternoster. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Beautiful rooms with everything you need - the shampoo, conditioner and soap etc are all products from their spa which was such a treat! Underfloor heating in the rooms and bathroom to take the chill off (which the friendly Abalone cats love!). We had a slight problem with the hot water in the bath which was luke warm but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. The wedding you attended was a fabulous affair and we're delighted that you enjoyed your time at Abalone House with friends and family. We take note of your comments and will immediately investigate. We'll also share your review with Leigh and the team and thank you for your beautiful compliments. We look forward to...

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Stayed one night and upon arrival they upgraded us to a better room which was great. The room was lovely, beautiful decor and a good view of the beach. The fabrics and decor in the rooms were so lovely... cheerful, cozy, chic and luxurious. My girlfriend and I both remarked that we have never slept in a more comfortable bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RudiKoen
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

We're thrilled to read your lovely review Rudi. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Abalone House & Spa in Paternoster. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our Reuben's restaurant, as well as all the luxuries and amenities we offer in our bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 20 May 2015

We staid at the Abalone house in combination with a SecretEats dinner (elsewhere in Paternoster). Golden combination! Very friendly, great breakfast, beautiful views, plenty of good food around the corner + a classic beach.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wollie123
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We value your feedback and are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us and that your stay at Abalone House & Spa was the perfect match for your Secret Eats outing. We hope to see you again soon.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Blissful weekend away in Paternoster at this wonderful hotel. Everything from the decor, art, food, service, rooms and bed was perfect. We had dinner and breakfast at Reuben's which was delightful and our wonderful waitron Seka made meal/tea times even more of a pleasure. Thank you Abalone House and the phenomenal Leigh for seeing to our every need and making...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GabriellaRoumega
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. You are most welcome. We live to serve and hearing that you had a memorable stay is exactly what we wish for all our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon.

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

On arrival, we were warmly greeted by Leigh and immediately enjoyed champagne on the deck watching the stunning sunset! Our courtyard room was nicely appointed but when I return I will book a room with a view. Dinner on both nights was excellent and breakfasts were superb. We loved the laid back ambience and staff were friendly and knowledgeable -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dwooda
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're honoured by your compliments. We appreciate your feedback regarding service during breakfast and will address this accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back to Paternoster soon.

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Paternoster is absolutely idyllic. The hotel is 2 minutes walk from a beautiful beach. The hotel was beautiful. The breakfasts and dinners excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly. It was lovely having the Spa attached to the hotel. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and wished we had booked for longer!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ICTFCAnne
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We pride our self on our location and are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately we've never been able to visit the spa because the hotel phone is hardly ever answered and when it is no one can get hold of the people who work at the spa. The attitude of the staff over the phone is very "take it or leave it" and unfriendly. Ended up going to The Dunes Spa down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Karen. Our sincerest apologies that you had difficulty to get in touch with us telephonically. We have investigated your feedback and discovered that due to recent load shedding, our phone lines were unfortunately affected. This also affected our call quality and equipment as well as the various lines connected to our switchboard. We apologize for...

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
1.7 km away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
1.5 km away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
97 reviews
0.2 km away
Paternoster Manor Guest House
Paternoster Manor Guest House
#7 of 19 in Paternoster
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
376 reviews
0.2 km away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
0.3 km away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abalone House & Spa offers five star luxuries with serious seaside appeal. The boutique hotel is an eclectic visual tapestry of texture and authentic colours of Africa cocooned within a central poolside courtyard. Disappear into this world of genuine South African hospitality and be indulged. A 90-minute drive from Cape Town, Abalone House offers city-weary dwellers and discerning travellers an unashamedly sumptuous beachside escape, where extravagance and guest comforts take precedence. Feast at the bistro-style Reuben's at Abalone House, celebrity chef Reuben Riffel's West Coast offering that elevates this Paternoster destination to a new level of luxury escapism. The Healing Earth Spa offers ancient African traditions of healing and energy where pampering and rejuvenation await. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abalone House & Spa

Address: 3 Kriedoring Street, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Price Range: $297 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Abalone House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abalone House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone House Hotel Paternoster
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abalone House & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Abalone House & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Visit the Spa. Prices are very cheap to European standards .”
Hans9856, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we had a back room no view uncomfortable small. The very small tv on the wall far away from the bed and poor selection of channels.”
ilanaslomowitz, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is no such thing at this establishment.”
  • How is this for a 5 Star Luxury Boutique Hotel mini bar fridge?
  • This is the Luxury View! NOT!
  • This door leads to stairs directly into the reception, with no sound insulation & not much secur
  • This is one of the
  • Dark and dreadful 5 STAR LUXURY SEA VIEW SUITE
  • The safe is not attached to anything
JohanBrighton, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have the view”
denised634, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Loved our upstairs room with a sea-view although we could hear the restaurant directly below us at night...”
katiemY885SP, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5