We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abalone House & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abalone House & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Abalone House & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 246: English reviews
Johannesburg
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Having stayed at other hotels in Paternoster I was disappointed by Abalone house. The furnishings and feeling of the hotel and room were dated and a bit crowded. The service in the restaurant was slow at breakfast and you felt it was an effort for staff to serve you. The one outstanding area was the front desk, always helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BushFreak
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback about our eclectic décor and understand that it is not to everybody's taste. We take note of your service comments and apologize that this area lacked. We pride ourselves on delivering the best guest experiences and will address the points raised. We are however thrilled that you enjoyed the service of...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 27 March 2015

I spent 2 nights at Abalone House and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff are well trained, friendly and accommodating. A special thanks to Ryno at the Front Desk for going beyond the call of duty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelletm181
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your experience at Abalone House in Paternoster. We're thrilled to read that Ryno went beyond the call of duty to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We strive for perfection, and it's our highest priority to ensure that our guests' experiences are world class. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Teddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

An oasis on an oasis. Delightfully furnished with a wonderfully comfortable, cosy ambience and a most attentive General Manager.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 104Guinness1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We'll be sure to pass your compliments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Pontefract England
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We were visiting South Africa for the first time and on a recomendation decided to visit Paternoster and Aberlone house for our first three nights to wind down and relax before a hectic schedule round the cape. We were not disapointed whilst Paternoster is very quiet the beaches are beautiful the restaurtants wine and service superb. We loved our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blademan1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are delighted to read your wonderful review of your recent stay at Abalone House & Spa in Paternoster. Paternoster is indeed a quaint little fishing village on the West Coast and a hidden gem, hence our offering of a luxurious getaway destination with an in house Healing Earth Spa and Reuben's Restaurant. We're thrilled that you enjoyed...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Charming Boutique Hotel with flair benfitting from its past glory. Hotel does not deserve its five stars, food is exclusive and delicious but expensive.Probably the best hotel in Pater Noster. A two nights stay is sufficient.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Otti K
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments and comments following your recent stay at Abalone House & Spa.

Reviewed 3 March 2015

What a treat. Location, restaurant and spa were perfect. Staff were attentive yet not in your face(so to speak to). The only teak I could suggest would be to have a pillow "menu". I don't like anything other than feather/down pillows. All in all a perfect stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia D
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. There is no bigger praise than our guests sharing their experiences with us on Trip Advisor. All our Luxury Superior Rooms have a private outdoor space, as well as our Superior Seaview Suite, however, our Standard Superior Rooms do not but are free to make use of the public areas in front of their...

Lancashire
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed at Abalone House this time last year on business and our trip was rebooked on the strength of this fabulous hotel in pretty Paternoster. The homely feel of this place is created by Leigh and her staff- nothing is too much trouble and the personal touch makes you feel very special. My memories are made from the amazing breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jools66Lancashire
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

We are thrilled to read your review. It is a wonderful compliment when guests choose to return to Abalone House & Spa. We're delighted to hear that you had the full experience we offer; from the enchanting views of the Atlantic, to the delicious cuisine of Reuben's, to the calming treatments of the Healing Earth Spa. We will gladly share...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Abalone House Friendly welcome. We were shown to our room but told immediately that we could move to a better room tomorrow The second room was much nicer and had a private balcony with sun beds. Breakfast was very good. In Reuben's the food was good but not exceptional and a little overpriced. Leigh was very helpful with tips on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggie55186534
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your experience on Trip Advisor. We value your feedback and take note of all the points raised in your review.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2015

We agree with archieandfairlie that the service was poor but for Paddington the waiter who was a real star. Dinner was twice the price of the Noisy Oyster and the food not as good. The rooms were nice especially the top ones on the 1st floor. Swimming pool very disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 408Laurence
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed our first floor bedrooms and thank you for your compliments on our rising star Paddington. Your comments relating to the service you experienced are noted, and we are sorry that you did not find our swimming pool enjoyable. Recent comparisons between our restaurant and other top restaurants in town has...

San Pedro, Spain
Reviewed 21 January 2015

We stayed for three nights in Abalone House in early January. The views are of course stunning and our room was very nice. Unfortunately the service, and food in their dining room was very poor. At breakfast we had to seek out the waiter from the kitchen just to get a pot of tea, then again to get a menu,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank archieandfairlie
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We take note of your review and wish to refer you to our reply on your similar review on the Reuben's Restaurant page on Trip Advisor.

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
1.7 km away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
1.5 km away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
97 reviews
0.2 km away
Paternoster Manor Guest House
Paternoster Manor Guest House
#7 of 19 in Paternoster
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
378 reviews
0.2 km away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
0.3 km away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abalone House & Spa offers five star luxuries with serious seaside appeal. The boutique hotel is an eclectic visual tapestry of texture and authentic colours of Africa cocooned within a central poolside courtyard. Disappear into this world of genuine South African hospitality and be indulged. A 90-minute drive from Cape Town, Abalone House offers city-weary dwellers and discerning travellers an unashamedly sumptuous beachside escape, where extravagance and guest comforts take precedence. Feast at the bistro-style Reuben's at Abalone House, celebrity chef Reuben Riffel's West Coast offering that elevates this Paternoster destination to a new level of luxury escapism. The Healing Earth Spa offers ancient African traditions of healing and energy where pampering and rejuvenation await. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abalone House & Spa

Address: 3 Kriedoring Street, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Price Range: $298 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Abalone House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abalone House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone House Hotel Paternoster
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abalone House & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Abalone House & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Visit the Spa. Prices are very cheap to European standards .”
Hans9856, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we had a back room no view uncomfortable small. The very small tv on the wall far away from the bed and poor selection of channels.”
ilanaslomowitz, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is no such thing at this establishment.”
  • How is this for a 5 Star Luxury Boutique Hotel mini bar fridge?
  • This is the Luxury View! NOT!
  • This door leads to stairs directly into the reception, with no sound insulation & not much secur
  • This is one of the
  • Dark and dreadful 5 STAR LUXURY SEA VIEW SUITE
  • The safe is not attached to anything
JohanBrighton, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have the view”
denised634, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Loved our upstairs room with a sea-view although we could hear the restaurant directly below us at night...”
katiemY885SP, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5