We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fern Hill Hotel

Traveller (55)
Dining (15)
Room & Suite (8)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A family-run hotel and firm favourite in the Midlands for over 20 years. Fern Hill has 26 rooms, a pub, the award-winning Snooty Fox a la carte restaurant, conference facilities, wedding venues and a chapel. We pride ourselves on offering the best service in the Midlands! We also have an internationally recognised (City & Guilds) Hotel School.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Tennis Court
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
143Reviews
75Photos
1Q+A
21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 48
  • 11
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Fifth visit to this establishment and boy do I keep getting surprised. Booked into an even more lavish, comfortable and homely room (maybe perks of repeat visit). The chef blew my taste buds out of my mouth with a yummy mummy meal! The staff fell short of carrying my tired
Read more
Response from FernHillHotel, Owner at Fern Hill Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Reviews like this make us beam with joy! Thank you Lerato for taking the time to write about your experience and let other's know. We will keep striving to impress with each visit. Your loyal patronage is highly valued and we look forward to having you stay with us again. Best regards Stephanie Szecsei
Read more
Fern Hill offer a world class service to anyone wanting to host an event at their state of the art premises. The staff all go out of their way to make sure that every detail is taken care of. The staff are all incredibly friendly and are always cheerful and helpful. The food is
Read more
Response from FernHillHotel, Owner at Fern Hill Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Laura What an incredible review! Such kind words and we are all delighted to have exceeded expectations. I will personally relay to all involved about your compliments. Here's to many more fun Sip & Sketch evenings. We certainly enjoy them a great deal too. Kind regards Stephanie Szecsei
Read more
Fernhill has paired up with the local and very talented Brent Dodd to offer an amazing evening of inspiration, humour, wine and delicious 3 course buffet of finger treats all while sketching your very own masterpiece! This is an event not to be missed and recently book to full
Read more
Response from FernHillHotel, Owner at Fern Hill Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear SAfricansweetP Thank you so much for taking the time to review one of our Sip & Sketch evenings. It always means a great deal to us when our guests do review on a positive experience. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves so much and will be back again soon. Indeed, these evenings are certainly becoming extremely popular. See you soon at the next one! Kind regards Stephanie Szecsei
Read more
+1
Booked 2 rooms for 3 nights over christmas. On arrival found rooms were poorly maintained and dirty. Cobwebs on the ceiling, unpainted wall repairs, and filthy carpets. The view from the room was a grass green pool. We departed immediately and booked in down the road at st ives.
Read more
Response from FernHillHotel, Owner at Fern Hill Hotel
Responded Jan. 21, 2019
Dear Mr Rabie Thank you for taking the time to find yet another review center to negatively impact our establishment. We're not surprised to see this. You made it very clear you had taken as many potentially damning photos as possible in a short space of time. You're evidently on a mission to mar other people's opinions of us. We've explained, apologised and tried our utmost to make up for it all. We realise you have made up your mind about us, so for the purpose of others reading this response: the pool is fixed, the external corridor leading to the rooms is now tiled (not carpeted) and we've re-painted the patch on the wall. We are one of the few establishments who take genuine criticism and constructively act on it. We pride ourselves on delivering high levels of service excellence. Agreed, our corridor leading to the room and pool, at the time, were in an unforgivable state. However, one remark I will counteract emphatically is that our rooms are not (nor were) dirty. For further reference here is our response to Mr Rabie's google review dated 10 days prior to the this review being uploaded: "Dear Dave Thank you for taking the time to negatively review our establishment. When we are in the wrong (as we were here; not our norm by any means) we bend over backwards to make up for it. Sadly you would not allow us to do so and refused our offer of an upgrade to our luxury suites. We're saddened that your review didn't mention our attempts to make amends; or that the pool had a sign on the gate stating it was undergoing maintenance after our pump was struck; or the fruit basket and wine we gave you (and that you took with you); or the fact that we refunded you in full; or that you and your family attended a spectacular, world-class Christmas Day Carvery at our hotel; and that all of you left happy in the end. But judging by your reviews of other establishments, you're not on Google Reviews to give credit where credit is due." I do trust you have a more positive year ahead Mr Rabie. Wishing you a wonderful 2019. Best regards
Read more
Booked in here for Christmas Day lunch and a sleepover on the 25th December. Lunch was fantastic Service fantastic Sometimes the ques were a bit long and you had to wait for some time for service but that was to be expected on Christmas Day Room good size in good condition
Read more
Response from FernHillHotel, Owner at Fern Hill Hotel
Responded Jan. 10, 2019
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review and for joining us over the festive season. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your Christmas day lunch and our service. Apologies about our swimming pool. The pool weir and pipes cracked and stopped working just over Christmas when no one could assist us and with all the heavy rain turned an awful shade of green. We cannot apologise enough for that. In terms of the closing at night, I am not sure how you slipped through the cracks in not knowing about this. On check in (and with booking) the reception staff were informing each and every guest. Again, my apologies. It must have come as a complete surprise if we hadn't informed you. This is the only time in the entire year we close our doors so that our staff can enjoy a night with their loved ones. I am sorry this upset to you. I have looked into your check in and the staff have been informed of this complaint. The complimentary platter of food in the rooms is a tradition the hotel has had for years and that other patrons have become familiar with. It's something light to nibble on for dinner. I'm sorry it wasn't to your liking. I do hope this will not be the last time you visit and that you give us another try. Best regards to you Stephanie Szecsei Director
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & SuiteBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Zimmer
Garten
Amazing garden @ the Fern hill Hotel... Happy people
Amazing garden @ the Fern hill Hotel... Happy people
Amazing garden @ the Fern hill Hotel... Happy people
PreviousNext
12
Does the double room have twin beds? Thank you.
You can request twin beds
0 votes
"The Garden room"
"We did not stay overnight"
"stayed in rooms 6 - 8 beautifully renovated with private balcony"
"It's a quiet area of the Midlands - all rooms would be good"
"Ask for Room 17 (Garden Suite)"
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
US$137 - US$250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalHowick
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing