We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate

Orbitz.comUS$110*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$244*
US$110*
US$113*
US$244*
US$110*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 208: English reviews
Start your review of Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding. Great grounds and food. Stunning setting for a wedding. Things got bad when the wedding ended. We had the rooms directly underneath the wedding party room. And from midnight, when the wedding ended, until 2:15 that morning they prepared the room for the next wedding. Lots of noise including hoovering, moving the whole dance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelGaunt
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We stayed in the 1960's style apartment two days ago and was told I was getting it at a great rate ($180) because it is very dated and about to be demolished next week. The view was spectacular, I felt like we were in our own wing looking out over Auckland city with nikau palms etc fringing the view. Huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the stunning and secluded rainforest setting of our Hotel. While the demise of the particular accommodation room referred to will be the end of a time for this apartment there are a number of new rooms going in that will have the same spectacular views and...

Los Alamos, New Mexico
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Waitakere Estates was a nice place to spend our first night in New Zealand. We enjoyed feeling tucked away in the Ranges but still close enough to grab a bite to eat in Titirangi and to see Auckland from our balcony. Our favorite part was waking up to a myriad of birdsong in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HCr0ss
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. At Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate we have an extensive pest eradication programme in the surrounding rainforest which assists to enhance the bird life around the Hotel.

Holywood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017

This is a boutique hotel in a very isolated spot with fabulous views over looking Auckland. We arrived at 7.30pm to a very average welcome and were advised to have dinner at 7.45 as restaurant would be closing. No help was given with cases and as it is on a steep hill and we were tired after a long drive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilary W
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and regret your arrival experience was not up to our usual standard. We recommend guests heading to the Airport see our reception staff for advice on the best way to the Airport avoiding some of the traffic congestion.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We spent one night in Waitakere Estate and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our spacious room had fabulous views extending to the horizon beyond Auckland city and the ocean from the high vantage point. Being relatively small it made it feel like we were staying in an intimate mountain retreat. We also enjoyed an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZM2011
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed and appreciated our Boutique Hotel located in its stunning ridge top rainforest setting.

Reviewed 31 March 2017

After a 90+ minute drive from Auckland International Airport, due to afternoon commuter traffic, it was a more-than-welcome-sign confirming that this was the place we were supposed to be. This motel is exquisite with their views, cleanliness, amenities and with a peaceful comfortable spacious suite, only dated. I can't recommend it highly enough. Thank you for providing such an amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vacationcupl
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed our Boutique Hotel along with the magnificent views, peace and tranquility.

Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We travel a lot (and both are travel industry executives), but we have seldom seen such a wasted opportunity. Not because the hotel is so bad, but because it could be so much more almost without spending a dollar. First of all, when we arrived they had blocked the driveway to the reception because they wanted us to use the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1406
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor. At Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate we take dinner reservations anytime from 6pn to 8pm however the Restaurant only closes after the last guests leave the Restaurant. In most Rural parts of New Zealand high speed internet is not available. As our area is not expected to have high speed broardband available for another...

New Zealand
Reviewed 25 March 2017

The location is amazing if you have your own car (otherwise very isolated). The views are stunning - out to Rangitoto, over Auckland City, over the Waitakere's. We attended a wedding (great setting) and the catering was delicious. Service was great and prompt. Breakfast was delicious, with lot's of choice. The rating reflects the fact that we got no sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGs
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we regret your sleep experience was not satisfactory. With the exception of the one apartment all of our accommdoation at our Boutique Hotel is well separated from our function venue.

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Depending on the reasons for your stay, this hotel could be heaven or it could be hell. Located in the Waitakere Regional Park outside of Auckland, the isolated property has a mountain viewpoint over the city of Auckland. According to the hotel's management, the hotel was built in the 70's with the 2 room bungalow annex and squash court the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review

Thnak you for your review, we regret you were not satisfied with some aspects of your stay. At Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate all rooms and restaurant/lounge areas have been extensively refurbished over the last few years in a colonial style fitting with the overall Hotel's character. The only Building which has not been refurbished, which incorporates the Squash Court and...

Reviewed 11 March 2017

We regularly stay in Auckland but due to lack of availability we had to spread our search outwards and found this place. We arrived in the dark in the middle of a storm so we certainly knew that we were in rain forest. Check-in was quick and friendly and our room (no. 3) was just off reception. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnFLUB
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review for our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the cuisine in our Restaurant, At Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate we do endeavour to cater for all dietary requirements while still providing an interesting selection of menu items. We are also glad you appreciated our customer service.

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiatarua
19.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,138 reviews
20.2 km away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
25 reviews
8.6 km away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
20.2 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,242 reviews
19.7 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heritage Boutique Waitakere Estate is set in a stunning rainforest setting only 30 kilometres from Auckland City and the Airport. The property is a 21 room 4 star boutique hotel with restaurant and lounge bar facilities. The hotel's ridge top setting provides magnificent views of the surrounding rainforest and of Auckland City. There are extensive bush walking options on-site and in the surrounding Waitakere Ranges Heritage Park. The spectacular West Coast beaches are also neraby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate

Address: 573 Scenic Drive, Waiatarua 0650, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiatarua
Price Range: $156 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland`s Waitakere Estate Hotel Waiatarua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Omokoroa Beach, New Zealand
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Amazing views, historical location. Enjoyed reading about the history of the place and the family behind it.”
paulinebC3320MN, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Recommended BEST View Rooms may be 21 and 23”
Vacationcupl, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor, away from dining room and function rooms, as you may be kept awake from staff clearing up function rooms.”
KiwiGs, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is the best- two windows- one a view into the city, the other into the bush”
BMoniqueB, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
Kiwidemon, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$110* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$113
TripAdvisorUS$110
AMOMAUS$244
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates