We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

540 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 258: English reviews
Pennington, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Kemmons Wilson founded Holiday Inn on the principle of quality and consistency. The Holiday Inn Alicante is the antithesis of everything that he and Holiday Inn have stood for. It is a filthy old hotel, with stained walls, dirty carpets, tatty floors and broken beds. I personally could not stay in the first room I was checked in to and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikejnb
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by the reception lady who couldn't have been more displeased to see us. After demanding our passports she pointed the way to our room. After what seemed like a very long trip we couldn't wait to just lay down for 30mins. On opening the door we walked in to 1970. Everything is outdated from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pool is outside and not heated. So if you are travelling in Winter you cannot use the pool. Gym is very outdated. They don't provide free tea or coffee, stayed few times in budget hotels and they provide free Tea and Coffee. Resturant staff is not very helpful or polite. Menu is in spanish. Best to eat out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilson G
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan, responded to this review

Hi Wilson G, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with our property particularly with the pool, fitness center, and restaurant among the others. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you during your stay. Rest assured, your...

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well, don't know how to rate without being rude. This hotel has their good things: location, rate (winter), parking (important here), internet not bad. Anyway when considering stay here must be aware the hotel is old, needing a lot of work: wallpaper to be replaced (or fixed), not much electrical connections, etc. Breakfast is poor. Staff isn't courteous (unfortunately a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FMartinsAlmeida
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan, responded to this review

Dear FMartinsAlmeida, Thank you for leaving us a review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay.Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel for sure the location, in a residential place near to the beach of an pedro. Beautiful and peaceful. The hotel by himself I'd not expensive so is OK for price quality, the swimming pool is little outside and the water seems note fresh at all. Reception people very nice and cooperative,. Carpet in the room Is very old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolina G
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

For EUR40 a night this hotel is good value. Rooms are clean and the beds are decent. On the downside you can see and feel that the hotel is old and did not had a single makeover in the past decade(s).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maarten T
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan, responded to this review

Hello Maarten T,  I am pleased to receive your review. Thanks for opting to stay at the Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan, Spain.  I'm sorry to learn that you found our hotel to be dated. Your feedback is important and it will be sent to our hotel's management for improvements.  On the brighter side, I am glad...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel was nice and clean, a typical holiday inn. Although the staff are not very helpful, and the restaurant inside doesn't have much choice or even nice food. The food around the hotel is horrible. I tried about 10 different restaurants and the food was awful in them all. As far as entertainment and things to do there isn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bethanymags
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan, responded to this review

Hi Bethanymags, Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan, Spain and for leaving feedback. I appreciate your comments about the hotel's upkeep and I am pleased that your overall stay was satisfactory. It is unsettling to read that your expectations with the restaurant was not met because of the food options and that you found limited...

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

The upside to the hotel is the price. For a hotel with swimming-pool & sauna, 400 meters from the beach only, for €49 per night... the price is low, hence I gave it 2 stars instead of the 1 star it actually deserved if the price was higher. The hotel looks & smells like nothing changed since the 80's, stains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Onderdijk
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan, responded to this review

Dear Onderdijk, Thanks for providing time to leave feedback about your recent visit. Making your stay a complete success is our goal and with that in mind, I regret to learn that we fell short of your expectations as you were let down by the overall upkeep of your assigned room and bedding condition and that the food options at...

Pego, Spain
Reviewed 16 November 2016

This hotel is chosen because it has meeting rooms and a separate area for dining. It is used mainly on the Saturday for the meeting but many couples go to the hotel for the weekend. The men have their meeting and the ladies go shopping in Alicante

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gi m
Valencia, Spain
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Arrived for a two night stay to attend a Dinner on the Saturday when we arrived they said we were not booked in, as were 5 other people but they found our details on the computer after finding us a room. It was our fault we should have rung to confirm we were coming The room looked tired and when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan, responded to this review

Dear Ian S, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean, and superior accommodations. However, it is disappointing to know about your check - in experience and the condition of the room received...

696 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (430)
Viewed
Accessible Room (57)
Viewed
Amenities (67)
Viewed
Double Room (50)
Viewed
Family Room (50)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (52)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#11 of 49 in Alicante
484 reviews
Hotel Albahia
#16 of 49 in Alicante
501 reviews
Playa de San Juan
Hotel Alicante Golf
Hotel Alicante Golf
#26 of 49 in Alicante
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cabo de las Huertas
Hotel Mio Cid
Hotel Mio Cid
#30 of 49 in Alicante
218 reviews
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#17 of 49 in Alicante
284 reviews
Daniya Alicante
#40 of 49 in Alicante
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Holiday Inn Alicante-Playa de San Juan is located in a quiet area, just 400 meters from the spectacular sandy beach Playa de San Juan and only 5km from the centre of Alicante with easy access to other locations like Alicante Golf Course, shops, restaurants and other local attractions. This hotel is ideally located both for short breaks and holidays as well as for the business travellers visiting Alicante. Our comfortable 126 rooms are decorated in a fresh mediterranean style with parquet floors and equipped with air conditioning, television and satellite tv, minibar, safe deposit box and private bathroom. The hotel facilities include free parking and Wi-Fi in all the public areas as well as in 50% of the rooms, swimming pool, children's pool and playground, gardens, gym, sauna and paddle-tennis court (available at a charge). Our Restaurant Tamayo offers a wide selection of local dishes to tempt your appetite. We also have available our Bar serving drinks and snacks. The Holiday Inn Alicante-Playa San Juan has Seven Conference Rooms with daylight and all the necessary equipment to hold every kind of event. Our dedicated team of professionals will ensure that your meeting is a success. Look up our family packages including sports and extras for the childrenWe look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan

Address: Avenida Cataluna 20 | Playa de San Juan, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Price Range: $55 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa De San Juan Hotel Alicante
Alicante Holiday Inn
Alicante Province Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are in good location”
 of 5 bubbles 285gim, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles IanS434, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel....”
 of 5 bubbles BspyB, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the ground fllor are extremely noisy. Windows cant´be closed )possible danger for families with small children)”
 of 5 bubbles kateb2004, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Hotel is in a residential area so views are not spectacular.”
 of 5 bubbles jenny0198, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5