We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Balbirnie House

Hotels.comUS$104*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Balbirnie House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

801 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 789: English reviews
Start your review of Balbirnie House
 Click to rate
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It is with apprehension that I write this review as the MD does not react kindly to any form of criticism. Anyway here goes .Myself husband and two friends dined here . We were served by a waitress that clearly did not want to be there I ordered the ribeye steak medium when it came it was rare. Called the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ginqueen2015
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello ginqueen2015, What an unusual 'review', and I can certainly say that we will always react to matters if we've ever failed to reach the standards which we are accustomed to consistently providing. In such circumstances, our in-house policy is either to refund, or repeat. And we also have a company manager who oversees Guest Services, and will always seek...

Markinch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I live locally so have been here many times but on this occasion we stayed over. This really enhanced the total experience. Our room was stunning with garden views. Food was excellent, as were drinks but the icing on the cake must be the superb staff. Even the weather was good for us and sitting in the gardens on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellvee99
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello ellvee99, Thank you so much for your kindness and denoting a 5 Star review. We're absolutely delighted to hear that your visit was such a success, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Balbirnie on another future occasion. All best wishes from one and all. Kindest regards, Nicholas / MD Balbirnie 1992 - present

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a present of an overnight here with dinner. Drive up to the house is lovely and house itself was amazing. Slightly disappointed in how small the room was given where we were but very clean and modern. Diner was delicious and staff were really pleasant and very helpful. Breakfast was bit disappointing felt the hot food had been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidays_yippee_12
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello holidays_yippee_12, Thank you so much for your kindness and denoting a review. We're absolutely delighted to hear that your visit was such a success, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Balbirnie on another future occasion. Sorry we ran out of fruit on the breakfast buffet, we are in the routine of replenishing - this is an...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful spacious room with gorgeous country décor. The food in the Orangery was beautiful and Rebecca and her team were fantastic. We enjoyed drinks in the beautiful garden in the afternoon and then retired to the cosy lounge. All the staff were extremely helpful and wonderfully friendly. The hotel is beautiful and the gardens are worth a visit. Loved every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NSMacLeod
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello NSMacLeod, Thank you so much for your kindness and denoting a 5 Star review. We're absolutely delighted to hear that your visit was such a success, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Balbirnie on another future occasion. All best wishes from one and all. Kindest regards, Nicholas / MD Balbirnie 1992 - present

from Carrickfergus
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in Balbirnie House Hotel for a family wedding. From checking in to checking out the staff were professional yet still retained a that warm friendly Scottish welcome. The food throughout the weekend was of a very high standard and the waiting staff were very attentive. Everything concerning the wedding went smoothly and the venue is stunning. Thank you for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travellers01661
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Travellers01661, Thank you so much for your kindness and denoting a 5 Star review. We're absolutely delighted to hear that your visit for the wedding was such a success, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Balbirnie on another future occasion. All best wishes from one and all. Kindest regards, Nicholas / MD Balbirnie 1992 - present

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an overnight stay here as part of a wedding party. Our event started at 1pm but room check in was not available until 2pm. Telephoned in the week before and requested an early check-in which we were offered - terms and conditions were clearly stated by the receptionist I spoke to who did not require any prepayment but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty S
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Kirsty, Thank you so much for your kindness and denoting such a lovely review. We're absolutely delighted to hear that your visit was such a success, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Balbirnie on another future occasion. All best wishes from one and all. Kindest regards, Nicholas / MD Balbirnie 1992 - present

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited the orangery at balbirnie last night for the first time in a few years. The menu format had changed and I was pleasantly surprised. The menu has a more casual feel, with a large amount of options. I was surprised that with a menu with that much selection, each dish could be executed so excellently. There were some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Laurie, Thank you so much for your kindness and denoting a 5 Star review. We're absolutely delighted to hear that your visit was such a success, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Orangery on another future occasion. All best wishes from one and all. Kindest regards, Nicholas / MD Balbirnie 1992 - present

Markinch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My mother and father went on Sunday 7th may 2017 for lunch in the orangery. My mother asked for sea bass on the menu. None! She was offered cod! Creme brûlée tasteless. Friends arrived at another table and asked for steaks. None! They took chicken which was burnt! Both couples complained . This was a gift to my parents. Never...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dryburgh5
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello dryburgh5, Sea bass - sold out, cod offered as replacement. These things can happen. Creme brûlée - same recipe for 25 years Chicken burnt - never heard of the like of this from any guest And are you entitled to write any review, as you weren't even the individual who partook of the circumstances for which you purport to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My mother and brother arranged for a dinner for my 60th birthday along with my daughter, her boyfriend and my aunt. My mother had dinner there several years ago and I had lunch there a few years ago. Unfortunately probably due to ongoing costs, the menu was changed on the 1st May and the canapes, sorbet and coffee are not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bravaragazza57
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello bravaragazza57, Sorry to hear your comments, and mistaken interpretation of aspects 'in relation to ongoing costs'. The reality is driven by desire to make our Orangery more approachable than ever before, with diners returning on a very regular basis, as opposed to randomly. Our new BrasserieDeluxe menus are on our website, we believe that in all contexts they offer...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A stunning country house hotel set in beautiful grounds. The food was amazing and superb value. Good choice of wines and drinks too. Stayed for 3 nights - beautiful rooms . Senior staff and management are excellent. All staff friendly. We had a wonderful time and would thoroughly recommend the hotel, whether for a special occasion, a short break or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cazzabee44
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Cazzabee44, Thank you so much for your kindness and denoting a 5 Star review. We're absolutely delighted to hear that your visit was such a success, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Balbirnie on another future occasion. All best wishes from one and all. Kindest regards, Nicholas / MD Balbirnie 1992 - present

237 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (214)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (158)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markinch
3.2 km away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
4.3 km away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
539 reviews
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,105 reviews
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
11.4 km away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Balbirnie House is a quite unique multi-award winning country house hotel which combines understated luxury with superb service and outstanding value. Widely acknowledged as one of the finest of the privately owned small luxury hotels in Scotland, Balbirnie offers a wonderful experience, whatever the occasion of your visit. Fine food, lovely surroundings and above all a real sense of friendly Scottish hospitality combine to create quite a unique setting for today’s house guests to enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balbirnie House

Address: Balbirnie Park, Markinch, Glenrothes KY7 6NR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes > Markinch
Price Range: $163 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balbirnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Balbirnie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balbirnie House Hotel Markinch
Balbirnie House Markinch, Scotland - Fife
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balbirnie House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Durham, United Kingdom

I personally feel your comments made to a local lady celebrating her 35th wedding anniversary were horrible!

I fully support dawn t on this and feel your response is condescending in the truest sense of the word, you appear to show an attitude of patronizing superiority when you state, " Balbirnie's Snr Manager in charge of Guest Services, has already gone a country mile to do everything possible to exceed what any logically thinking guest would consider as truly wonderful service"

How dare you? this part of your statement, "logically thinking guest" is an insult to dawn t and your lifeline in your chosen career, hospitality - GUEST SATISFACTION! What gives you the right to be this demeaning and make such an arrogant statement ?

When you book the Orangery at 8-00pm you expect the Orangery at 8-00pm and not pathetic excuses on one's special night saying you were busy. As dawn t specifically points out, you weren't busy/fully booked when she arranged their anniversary event.

Is it the fact dawn t is simply a local lass spending what could be classed as an inconsiderable amount of money in your establishment in comparison to the larger parties, that she is relegated to second/third class service whilst the larger groups receive a better class of service, I hesitate to use the words first class as it doesn't apply unless every guest is satisfied and, as this event experienced by dawn t shows, that was not the case.

This response is purely my personal opinion at the way you have handled, or mishandled this complaint. I hope you do host dawn t again, should she choose to visit, and get it right next time.

Lastly, ponder this, most people get married once. But after that they celebrate that event annually, perhaps you need to consider this as a more important, and consistent, alternative revenue stream than you currently seem to.

over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Balbirnie House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Honeymoon suite”
dryburgh5, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Pearl Suite or delux room is well worth the extra money!”
jennifert700, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a newer suite if you are wanting to really experience luxury! All rooms however are lovely!”
Skillet-Holmes, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms I viewed were of high standard, Ist floor overlooking the grounds would be my preference.”
jimmM8068ZY, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“high floor facing the gardens”
rivaScotland, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$228
Hotwire.comUS$104
Booking.comUS$107
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates