Hamacho Hotel Tokyo

Hamacho Hotel Tokyo

24/7 Grocery
Traveller (81)
ダブルルーム
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#50 of 149 hotels in Chuo
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Opened February 15, 2019 Close to both long established famous stores and state of the art leisure spots, Tokyo's Nihonbashi Hamacho combines the elegance of Edo with a friendly downtown atmosphere. Enjoy Hamacho's hospitality and homemade confections with guestrooms that, while compact, allow you to feel close to nature, lounges and restaurants open to everyone, while also acting as communal meeting spots, and a chocolat. There are 3 main stations. It takes about 5 minutes at Hamacho station of Toei-Shinjuku line and Suitengu-mae station of Tokyo metro and 10 minutes at Ningyo-cho station. We are 5 minutes by walk at Tokyo City Air Terminal. You can come here from airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese

Location

3-20-2 Nihonbashi Hamacho, Chuo 103-0007 Tokyo Prefecture
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Haneda Airport
15.1 km
See all flights
Narita Airport
54.8 km
See all flights
73Reviews7Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 13
  • 4
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Helen C wrote a review Nov 2022
Gabriola Island, Canada36 contributions48 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent room and comfortable beds, modern bathroom facilities. Quiet location with walkable distance to local eateries and subway stations to the busiest parts of Tokyo. It’s a nice quiet neighborhood and this apartment hotel is lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monica H wrote a review Jun 2020
London, United Kingdom103 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
With Tokyo being such an expensive city we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Hamacho Hotel, finding it very modern, clean and classy in a lovely location. It certainly exceeded our expectations based on the price we paid!
The rooms are small but very modern & functional and perfect for a couple.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel restaurant looks good - but we didn’t tried it as it seemed quite European in style and we wanted authentic Japanese.
Hamacho hotel is in walking distance from TCat and Hamacho and Suitenguma Metro Stations.
The area is quite residential and much quieter than the city centre, but has some lovely restaurants around. It is also close to some of the best Sumo stables.
Would highly recommend and will stay here again if we return to Tokyo!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HAMACHO HOTEL TOKYO, オーナー at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo
Responded Jul 19, 2020
Dear Monica H Warm getting from HAMACHO HOTEL. Thank you for staying with us and leave a lovely comment! We are very glad to hear that such a good review from location, staff to the area. At the moment there is very serious situation all over the world because of COVID-19. But after finish to this situation or if you have a chance to come again to Tokyo, we are always very welcome to your come back to our hotel! We appreciate to receive your comment! Please take care of yourself Sincerely. HAMACHO HOTEL
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Horace Puffer wrote a review Mar 2020
Boston, Massachusetts90 contributions99 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The only negative I could possibly ascribe to this hotel is that the room is a bit small. The location is also not optimal - it's about a fifteen minute walk to the nearest metro station, which is itself rather far from many tourist attractions in Tokyo. That said, the Airport Bus stops only five minutes away from this hotel, which is a huge plus.

That said, everything else in this hotel more than makes up for that. The wifi in the hotel works great, and while the room is small, it is extremely cosy and comfortable to live in. The breakfast and the restaurant at this hotel are also very good.

Overall, given how affordable this hotel is compared to other hotels in Tokyo, I have absolutely no reservations in giving this hotel five stars, and heartily recommending it to any traveler, in spite of the two minor points above.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HAMACHOHOTEL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Warmest greeting from HAMACHO HOTEL. Thank you for choosing to stay with us as your Tokyo Trip. It was our most pleasure to receive your feedback and learn that we have made your stay wonderful. Once again, thank you very much for taking your time to give us a feedback. We all hope to welcome you back at HAMACHO HOTEL. With warm regards, Front Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Della G wrote a review Aug 2020
Coquitlam, Canada796 contributions375 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent contemporary hotel with minimalist room decor. Rooms are visually appealing and all space utilized efficiently. Rooms are tiny and it would be great if you did not travel with any luggage as there are no dressers to store clothes and hooks on walls could only hang two to three articles of clothing. We managed to empty our two suitcases of clothing on the side cushioned seating space by the window. It is a bit of a walk to the nearest subway. Useful Japanese grocery outlet across the street. We went pre covid therefore masks, sanitizing and self distancing not an issue.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HAMACHO HOTEL TOKYO, オーナー at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo
Responded Apr 9, 2021
Thank you for staying to us. Your kind recognition of our service delivery is certainly gratifying. There are 3 stations near by our hotel, Hamacho Station, Suitengu-mae Station, Ningyocho Station. It is easy to access main city of TOKYO.We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to HAMACHO HOTEL, hopefully sometime in the near future. HAMACHO HOTEL Front Desk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeannie C wrote a review Jul 2023
Columbus, United States11 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hamacho hotel was a nice home away from home in Tokyo. Our room, the corner room was very pretty and bright. Loved the chill neighborhood and having 3 grocery stores within walking distance. Front staff were helpful and friendly.
The Sessions restaurant attached to the hotel offers a breakfast, which I didn't find appealing. We did have 1 drink one night there, but it was pricey with the table charge, so it felt like we paid for 3 drinks when we got just 2.
My daughter enjoyed the chocolate Kakigori at the chocolate shop adjacent to the hotel.
Overall, it was a good home base.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Hotel does not provide coffee. FYI unless you pay for the breakfast in the Sessions restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike A wrote a review May 2023
Droitwich, United Kingdom31 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful hotel in a peaceful location, easy access to the rest of Tokyo and Airports. Staff are very helpful, really friendly and courteous. Rooms are very clean and tidy, corner garden room is of a good size. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cfreedma wrote a review Nov 2019
Sydney, Australia196 contributions181 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I chose this place because it was reasonably priced and a short walk from the Tokyo City Air Terminal(TCAT).I had never been to this part of Tokyo in my many visits to the city. I was very pleasantly surprised.First off if you fly into Haneda Airport (which you should try to do) you can take a limousine bus that goes directly to TCAT. This will run you 850 yen and take about 30 minutes. When you get to TCAT head left out the terminal door once you enter the terminal. Walk straight for about 5-7 minutes. At what I think is the third traffic light (I might be wrong here) turn left and in another minute the hotel will be on the left. If for some reason, you have too much luggage to manage the short walk, a taxi there will run 420 yen and take a few minutes of travel time.
There is no such thing as an early check-in. You can check your bags and come back later if you arrive early. I was able to get to my room at 2:00 PM which is an hour earlier than the official time. In the meantime you can walk along the Sumida River (turn left as you leave the hotel and walk around three minutes or around Hamacho Park (turn right as you leave the hotel and walk around 4 minutes). The park is on your right.
There are numerous small restaurants and cafes in easy walking distance. Right across the street is the large Peacock Supermarket open 24 hours a day. It has a large an interesting array of food if you need to save some cash. It also has a couple of microwaves available so you can heat up your purchases if desired.
The hotel itself is no more than a year old. It does cater for the foreigner (at least half its guests). Staff have either good or at least serviceable English. The place including the rooms is spanking clean. My room itself was Tokyo compact without a great deal of storage. However the room is laid out cleverly so that it doesn't feel claustrophobic like some other equally rated Tokyo hotels. For one person it is quite comfortable. For two it might be a mite cramped, though if you are going to be out most of the day it shouldn't be a real problem. Otherwise larger, more expensive rooms are available.
Since Sunday, many of the cafes and restaurants are shut I did have dinner with a friend at the hotel restaurant. The room is nicely set out and is quite comfortable for a leisurely dinner. Prices are moderate and the food is quite good. Otherwise there is a breakfast buffet for 1800 yen. Didn't try it since I depended on the supermarket for breakfast needs. (There is also a boulangerie just two minutes away - left as you leave the hotel). The hotel also hosts a craft chocolate shop and offers guests a free sample chocolate. All chocolate is made within the shop. The offerings are hot chocolate, coffee and decadent looking desserts.
The area seems populated with young families many of whom have young children. So for those traveling with children, this hotel and area may appeal.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Higher rooms always more pleasant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HAMACHOHOTEL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Warmest greeting from HAMACHO HOTEL. Thank you for choosing to stay with us as your Tokyo Trip. It was our most pleasure to receive your feedback and learn that we have made your stay wonderful. Once again, thank you very much for taking your time to give us a feedback. We all hope to welcome you back at HAMACHO HOTEL. With warm regards, Front Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ray1962 wrote a review Jun 2019
Baton Rouge, Louisiana278 contributions141 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my first hotel stay in Japan. Rooms are small but in good order. Service was good. Enjoyed one buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant - nice variety of things to try. I wish they would let you go out on the guest room balcony; the door is blocked. But this is apparently the norm in Tokyo for “safety”.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HAMACHOHOTEL, フロントデスク at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Thank you for your stay with HAMACHO HOTEL. The balcony has locked for the safety. Only Terrace room and Premium Terrace room, you can go out on the rooftop balcony. We are looking forward to seeing you next time again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MelbourneHalls wrote a review Mar 2020
Melbourne, Australia42 contributions73 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked in for two nights, but had to return one day early to Melbourne because of the corona virus. We paid $800-plus for the two nights.

We did not ask for any refund, which we were given, without asking, when we had stayed at the budget hotel Ibis Styles Kyoto Station for eight nights, reduced to two beause of our holiday shortened by the virus.

Our corner room at Hamacho Hotel was large and well fitted out, although the king bed was rock-hard. We loved the ultra-new bidet, with the toilet seat automatically lifting when you entered the bathroom. Excellent walk-in shower adjacent to the bath.

It was a Friday night and we chose to eat in the hotel restaurant. It's named Sessions -- should be renamed Short Sessions. The restaurant was dark and our table was 'lit' by one artiifical candle. Our obliging waiter shone his iphone light on the menu. We had arrived at 8.15 and the waiter informed us that the kitchen closed at 8.30.

We hurriedly ordered the fish special -- snapper with scallops. It was smothered in a sauce that defies description. Totally inedible. The worst fish meal we have ever endured -- and we eat fish at least twice a week. We think the waiter took pity on us: the two sakis we each had were not added to the bill.

The staff were friendly enough, but one of them said we could push our heavy luggage to the 'nearby' airport bus station. Luckily we ignored his advice.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HAMACHOHOTEL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo
Responded Apr 13, 2020
Warmest greeting from HAMACHO HOTEL. Thank you for choosing to stay with us as your Tokyo Trip. Your favorable comments for room has warmed our hearts and we will strive for excellence in our service. However we are sorry that our restaurants was not reached your satisfaction. Normally last order is 22:00 for food however Sunday and public holiday is 20:30. We written on the information card, we hope you will understand. Also we apologize for the inconvenience caused by access to Tokyo City Air Tarminal. We will make further efforts in providing better service for all the guests. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to HAMACHO HOTEL, hopefully sometime in the near future. Also we wish every things better soon and you all good health. Front Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tibet71 wrote a review Dec 2019
Newport Beach2,796 contributions79 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Hamacho is close to 3 metro stations and TCat. From Narita you can take the Limo bus to TCat and walk 5 minutes to the hotel, even with big luggage it is easily manageable. As you get off the bus facing the building, turn left and walk down the street over the track for 300m, then you will get to the main street, cross it and walk another 200m and the hotel is right there.

Hamacho station is the closest of three stations nearby, it has the Shinjuku line (green color) that u can take directly to Shinjuku station. You can also connect and go to Tokyo station from Hamacho station.

The other two stations are further maybe 15 minutes walk and it goes directly to Asakusa and Shibuya. U can use the Line to connect with Ginza line.

Now about the hotel, we booked two regular rooms, and they are small. It is the same size as a inside cabin for a cruise ship. The bathroom is also small, you can’t fit two people inside. However their toiletries provided were excellent and the shower pressure were one of the best we experienced. If you want a bigger room, when booking look for a different category. I think it called corner room.

Staffs are super friendly. Laundry facility, $300 yen for a wash and $100 yen for dryer located in the 4th floor.

If you are sensitive to noise ask for a room not facing the street. Both of room face the main road and we can hear train noise and siren once in a while since the police station is nearby. It didn’t bother us since we were so tire each day out sightseeing.

The breakfast varieties doesn’t changed much. They offered Japanese and Western style, but after 3 days you don’t want to eat it anymore. There is a bakery next door, grocery store and lot of places to eat nearby.

Internet is strong and good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HAMACHOHOTEL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Warmest greeting from HAMACHO HOTEL. Thank you for choosing to stay with us as your Tokyo Trip. It was our most pleasure to receive your feedback and learn that we have made your stay wonderful regarding with our service. Once again, thank you very much for taking your time to give us a feedback. We all hope to welcome you back at HAMACHO HOTEL. With warm regards, Front Office team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from tracingtheworld
Tokyo, Japan9 contributions21 helpful votes
Yes, they do.
Tashlive asked a question May 2019
Underwood, Australia5 contributions
How to you get from Narita Airport to your hotel using JR Pass?
Answer from Giovanni D
Rome, Italy122 contributions91 helpful votes
N'ex (Narita Express) to Tokyo station and then taxi or the free shuttle (hinomaru bus)
Answer from Chloe H
Preston, United Kingdom18 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello. There are 2 metro stations nearby these are ningyocho (the hibiya & Asakusa line) and suitengumae station (the hamzomon line). Hope this helps
Holly D asked a question Jan 2019
Arizona16 contributions3 helpful votes
Will this hotel open on schedule?
Surabaya, Indonesia6 contributions
The hotel is schedule to opened on 15th February which means by a few weeks from your question is answered
LantanaCamara wrote a tip Nov 2023
Esbjerg, Denmark15 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"From Haneda or Narita airport, take a limousine bus to the Tokyo City Air Terminal (T-CAT). You can easily walk to this hotel from there. "
Read full review
Jeannie C wrote a tip Jul 2023
Columbus, United States11 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel does not provide coffee. FYI unless you pay for the breakfast in the Sessions restaurant."
Read full review
ackme27 wrote a tip Dec 2019
Toronto, Canada11 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good location"
Read full review
cfreedma wrote a tip Nov 2019
Sydney, Australia196 contributions181 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher rooms always more pleasant."
Read full review
SABlackburns wrote a tip Nov 2019
Paarl, South Africa77 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Corner room was roomy and light and worth the extra money."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chuo area.
PRICE RANGE
C$147 - C$194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKantoTokyo PrefectureTokyoChuoGinza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
170
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hamacho Hotel Tokyo - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hamacho Hotel Tokyo
Which popular attractions are close to Hamacho Hotel Tokyo?
Nearby attractions include Suitengu Shrine (0.4 km), Meijiza (0.4 km), and Hamacho Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hamacho Hotel Tokyo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brozers' Ningyocho, Shigemorieishindo, and Taniya.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hamacho Hotel Tokyo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Hamacho Hotel Tokyo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hozomon (3.3 km), Nezu Shrine (4.7 km), and Tokyo Central Railway Station (2.2 km).
Does Hamacho Hotel Tokyo have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Hamacho Hotel Tokyo accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Chuo HotelsChuo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ChuoHotels near Hamacho Hotel Tokyo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars