We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Lowen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Lowen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 88: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Lowen
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best part of my trip was here at Interlaken in Hotel Lowen. The staff and Mr. Thussar the Owner are down to earth friendly and extremely loving. They went all out to ensure that are students had good food ( Indian) as many of the students were from India. Mr. Thussar also extended to open up their bowling center...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

The owner, who seems to as well manage the place does not care for hospitality at all. Petty issues of non replacement of daily linen, towels & toiletry supplies is what the argument I had with him. Rooms are far below average and cannot be recommended at all. Avoid, even if the tariff quoted is very competitive but the experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gautam G
Mumbai
Reviewed 18 January 2017

So, this is coming a bit late, for two reasons: 1) I haven’t written a post in over a month , and 2) it’s been at least a month since I went to Switzerland. Anyway, I figured I’d better write this before I forgot anything else. So, without further ado… Long considered the most beautiful country in the world, Switzerland,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Guddu4
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, wonderful location, situated in the midst of nature. Wonderful Indian Food, nice lady at the bar-restaurant. Poor wifi connectivity. Staffs were helpful. Loved Hotel Lowen. Will recommend to all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saubhik B
Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect. Very close the lake, very close to the station. The view from our balcony was great! The people running the place were very helpful too. They helped us with train tickets (because we didn't really know the system) to Zürich and even gave us a ride to the station (which wasn't necessary because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shreya D
Asansol, India
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

In the midst of the beautiful and serene town of Lungern lies this quaint hotel. The room we got had a balcony and it overlooked the town church which rang its bells every 30minutes. It also had the view of the Lake which is just a stones throw away. The room and washroom were clean and they also had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka D
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Amazing place to stay, Very Clean rooms, Best Vegetarian food provided on request, Excellent view of Lake Lungern from rooms. Every small detail taken care of. I would definitely recommend Hotel Lowen for location, view & food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenil S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Excellent service, clean rooms, superb view of lake lungern from rooms. Delicious Vegetarian food. I will rate it 5 star . Best hotel to stay in LUNGERN, nEAR TO INTERLAKEN. FREE WIFI TO USE IN ROOMS.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chirag503
cochin, india
Reviewed 21 September 2016

rooms are small .. ok for a night's stay .. have stayed at better hotels in india and other parts of the world .. breakfast was good .. felt the room could have been cleaner .. the wash rooms too .. surely better options should be available to holidayers ..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank opinion_11
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I had booked hotel Lowen Lungern via your website Tripadvsior and would like to bring to your notice that my experience with this hotel was awful. Here is a small list of things which were a complete disaster. This is just a broad overview of how my stay had been. Where ever possible I have taken pictures as evidence. 1....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amit P
HotelLowen, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lowen, responded to this review

Dear amit thank you for your review. we can remember you. first of all you were staying in our hotel for 3 nights and not for two. you were writing somany thing, exp. that you had 2 single bed instant of 1 double bed. as per our bookings you made a booking for 1 twin room. and about the breakfast,...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lungern
5.9 km away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#3 of 5 in Hasliberg
16 reviews
11.3 km away
Seehotel Wilerbad
Seehotel Wilerbad
#1 of 3 in Sarnen
255 reviews
6.1 km away
Hotel Bahnhof Giswil
Hotel Bahnhof Giswil
#1 of 4 in Giswil
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#2 of 5 in Hasliberg
34 reviews
8.6 km away
Frutt Lodge & Spa
Frutt Lodge & Spa
#1 of 3 in Melchsee-Frutt
320 reviews
5.5 km away
Hotel Krone Giswil
Hotel Krone Giswil
#2 of 4 in Giswil
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Heritage 3-star Hotel Löwen is located in Lungern since 1875 overlooking the beautiful Lake and offers rooms with a balcony and lake view, the restaurant serving local specialities in our lovely winter garden. Local dishes served at the restaurant include local Swiss Cuisine, Italian Pizza/Pasta, Chinese and Indian Cuisine. We also specialize for Vegans & Jain food. Free Wi-fi is available in rooms & around the lobby area. Our one of the restaurant is on the top floor overlooking the lake. LCD TV with satelite channels. En suite bathroom are standard in every room. Lungern Train Station is 800 metres away from the hotel, to and from which the hotel can offers a shuttle service upon request. The distance to Lucerne is around 30 km, Interlaken is 28 km, while Zurich is around 70 km away. Free car parking is available on site of the Hotel Löwen upon request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Lowen

Address: Bruenigstrasse 72, Lungern 6078, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Lungern
Price Range: $158 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lowen 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Lowen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowen Hotel Lungern
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Lowen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Lowen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All Rooms have good views. You can try your hand at bowling!!”
  • View from the Hotel
Z5674AVjennifera, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the Mountains are the best”
Guddu4, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best location to stay very near to interlaken”
chirag503, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Look for a room with lake view”
  • Lake Lugern view from room
215sanilk, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“lake facing room”
arpit042, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5