We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Bull Hotel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reeth
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of Black Bull Hotel
 Click to rate
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a proper pub does one of, if not the best Sunday Carvery. Great beer and a good mix of people. Have been many times and never fail to thoroughly enjoy. Friendly staff always feel welcome. Oh and mustn't forget the desserts

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EMBECHEM
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not the smartest of looking pubs BUT we as a group of 10 had a very good experience there. The welcome was great, food was tasty pub type food which we all enjoyed. Service could not have been better and as we are all experienced travellers, we know what we are talking about. We returned a second night , unexpectedly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Maureen for your review, it was a pleasure looking after your party even more so the following night when you dropped on us unexpectedly. I'm glad you all enjoyed everything you had on both nights, food, drink and a good time. We look forward to your next visit. regards, on be half of our staff and...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped by my old family local on a recent trip to the Dales. The pub itself is still as tired as ever. Very run down and knackered. If you squint it's all part of the charm. The well earns pint of black sheep was as good as ever. Hit the spot perfectly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smarbers
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

After driving for 7 hours there was no friendly welcome, in fact barely two words were said to us. We had to ask where the exit was when the pub closed. We were shown to our rooms with a grunt. My friend stayed in a 'family room' which had a broken pain of glass in it covered with cling film!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GWP84
south yorkshire
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Wish I could say something different. It's the oldest pub in Reeth and should feel more welcoming than it does. Says something on a Saturday evening when the restaurant is laid out ready for breakfast with no takers. Next door was rammed solid. Feels grubby and cold ...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank waldershelf
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't get a warm welcome ,that's not like myself or my staff. Has for the restaurant being laid out for breakfast this is done every night after evening service at 9-30pm ready for morning breakfast at 8.00am - 9.30am . regards, Richard, Landlord.

Sheffield
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I've been to this pub a number of times. It is a very proper pub. Cosy comfortable showing its character in all the right ways. Open fires, wellies are acceptable, great beer and friendly staff and owner. BUT THE CARVERY. The best I've had. All that you could hope for in respect of veg Yorkshires etc but the meat and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 770James
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hi James, thank you for your review of our proper pub, I'm glad to hear that you found it Comfortable and our staff gave you a friendly welcome. Also that you enjoyed our very popular Sunday Carvery, we use local fresh produce and all our meats are from local Farmers. Hope to see you again the next time you visit...

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Always go up in summer but lovely ride up to Reeth in winter to the BLACK BULL HOTEL. Huge fire and friendly staff and a beautiful carvery . everything cooked to perfection. Real food and you are made welcome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Christine, it's good to read your review and that you like our friendly staff and huge fire and of course the Carvery. Look forward to your visit the next time your in Reeth. regards, Richard.

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Lovely old nostalgic pub. Staff very friendly and helpful and the Sunday dinner was excellent, all very tasty and piping hot. A shame that the lamb joint wasn't brought out until we had finished our dinner. The only down side was - the central heating wasn't on and this was a Sunday December day at 12 noon. Unfortunately, we did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbiemhull
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hi , sorry your visit to our Carvery was the morning our central heating boiler decided to have a lie in, a problem with the magnetic eye wouldn't ignite the oil burner. We did have electric heaters in the rooms ,but the size and age of the building they wasn't adequate enough . The good news is we're back up...

Reviewed 4 November 2016

Proper Yorkshire Pub, rooms fine not a luxury hotel but clean, comfortable and great value at £35 Beer very well kept and the steak and kidney pie the best I've had for years in fact had it 3 nights running. The landlord and landlady could not be more friendly and helpful Will definitely be back Stayed with a group of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you and your party enjoyed your stay and I look forward to your return. regards, Richard, Licensee.

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We visit reeth every year for my birthday - it never disappoints and this is the pub to visit. Quality ales, great staff, dog friendly and a stones throw from all the local holiday cottages. Didn't stay here this time but wouldn't be the same if we didn't visit! Bumped into breakfast chef Maggie who remembered us from the times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewis s
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lewis, thank you for your review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our fine ales and I look forward to your birthday next year. regards, Richard.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
18.8 km away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
244 reviews
16.1 km away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
231 reviews
18.8 km away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#4 of 10 in Reeth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room
19.5 km away
YHA Grinton Lodge
YHA Grinton Lodge
#1 of 2 in Reeth
114 reviews
18.9 km away
The Bridge Inn
The Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Grinton
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Black Bull Hotel

Address: Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Bull Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book here...”
GWP84, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“front room for a lovely view”
cafedelmar95, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the green.”
jeanndavid, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
Daphne_Kramer, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Try the pies!”
barbarabW8477NO, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5