We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan at Stoford

Booking.comUS$91*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$102*
US$91*
US$102*
US$102*
US$91*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan at Stoford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan at Stoford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 388: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Popped in for a lunch time meal with elderly parent and our 9 year old son on way back to Bath. Had eaten here a few years ago and menu and food had been lovely so we thought it would be a nice place to stop halfway through our journey and treat my elderly father. Ordered two lots of ham...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments which I will pass on to the kitchen. I am sorry you were not happy with your meal. Had you raised it at the time we would have been very happy to change your food for you. I can only apologise at this stage for your disappointment. Liz

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We had not visited The Swan restaurant for some considerable time and decided it would be nice to give fresh management a try and eat away from the city for a change. We ordered a chicken dish for my wife and a lamb shoulder for myself and were both a little disappointed given the medium to high end prices We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brianford
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry if you were not happy with your meals, without specific feedback it is difficult to understand where you felt it let us down, but I will feed back your comments to the kitchen. Liz

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We are great fans of the weekend away the country pub the relaxed day spent exploring in a new town or a vigorous day's walking. The Swan has plenty of potential to be a great place to stay yet it seems to miss out on some of the simple things. It is at a great location close enough to Salisbury...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mintmoocher
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the time you have taken to give your views. I have discussed your comments with the team. The windows do get dirty very quickly in wet weather, due to the fact we are roadside, but they are cleaned on a regular basis as you have noted. Liz

Calne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

We met as a family for Mothers Day lunch. First impression on arrival was wow to the setting next to the shallow fast flowing chalk stream river. We were not disappointed once inside. The welcome was warm & friendly and the service excellent. Presentation of starters and sweets were impressive and certainly delicious. We all chose the carvery option for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed Mother's Day with us ad hope you visit us again soon. Liz

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Very disappointing food standard did not match the price, were over charged for one meal luckily it was spotted!As it was my mother's day treat from my son and we had all travelled a fair distance I felt really let down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with you meal. We do try to rectify any disappointment at the time if you tell us your issues. I am sorry to hear you were over-charged - we have rectified the issue with the till now. I can only apologise.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I was really disappointed with the stay the Staff were friendly and well organised but the room was probably one of the worst I've stayed in and for the cost id expect far far better, Below are the issues we experienced, No Hot Water unless the shower ran at a trickle Had what looked like Blood on the Green over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank badger762015
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room at the Swan at Stoford. It was such a shame that we had an issue with the boiler that serviced your room that day, it has since been repaired and our landlord is fitting a new one very soon. Thank you for your comments - I have passed them on...

Midhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Stopped here for Sunday lunch. I booked on-line a couple of days beforehand. Travelling with 90 year old partially sighted mother and my teenage daughter. A few tricky steps to negotiate but they were well marked and we managed OK. They do a carvery which didn't appeal to us but looked OK. Service was excellent, a very attentive gentleman with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn - we appreciate you 4 star rating. I am glad that Aaron looked after you and hope you visit us again soon. Liz

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Visited with my boyfriend & friends for a Saturday lunch with the Tastecard. Food was lovely, portions very big & service quick. Perfect spot when visiting Stonehenge too as less then 10 minute drive away!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantal 'Tilly' J
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - we are delighted you enjoyed your lunch. Liz

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely staff, wonderful food, tidy rooms and clean common areas. Dinner was amazing made by the lovely cook Paula who works her hardest to make everything great, breakfast was wonderful. Staff always helpful and very, very kind. We will sure be visiting again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maria_claralabz
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our old historical coaching inn and I am glad that the team looked after you well. Liz

Bristol
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Stayed here for one night in Feb 2017 on a business trip and sadly found the carpeted floors leading to and in my room quite grubby. I stayed in room 2 which is a quite small double, the bathroom was modern but also quite small, the window faces the busy main road and has primary and secondary glazing to minimise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oebep
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have to be dog friendly, being such a rural pub (despite being on a main road we are actually quite remote). Dogs are not allowed in the restaurant, so it is a shame you didn't sit in there. I will discuss your other comments with the team. Liz

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
6.8 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
262 reviews
4.8 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
8.2 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
261 reviews
7.9 km away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
748 reviews
8.5 km away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Price Range: $103 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan at Stoford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If bothered by heat/traffic noise, y0u may want a room at the rear of the property, especially in the summer.”
V7130LIjoannag, 29 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view.”
CandA97, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Low number rooms overlook the river but also overlook the road.”
mintmoocher, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose room 3”
badger762015, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Advise against room 2”
oebep, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$91* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$102
TripAdvisorUS$91
TravelocityUS$102
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates