We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Birch Hotel

Expedia.comUS$59*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Birch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 198: English reviews
Start your review of Birch Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on and off for the past couple of years for work related reasons. Couldn't ask for anything else. Clean rooms. Great food with great service. And a stocked bar in the main foyer ideal after a long shift 👌

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denbo88
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff are extremely polite, helpful and proactive providing excellent customer service. The rooms are clean, comfortable and looked after. The breakfast is to die for and their soups and steaks!! I would eat here everyday if I could!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent stay with my dog too. Really dog friendly. Food is very good as well. We went there to go see family, but the staff made it all that much better. Straight from M62 into Hayward towards Manchester road left at lights and there it is, on the left.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Nice enough hotel especially for the money, OK the rooms are a bit tired and the shower is poor but the staff are nice and the restaurant is good, great breakfast.too. plenty of parking but Wi Fi is very poor even sitting in reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 604johnnyboy
Teddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

So it depends what you want from a hotel. The room was clean and everything worked in my room. Listed below the limitations if you wanted more than a warm room with a good sized TV and an average breakfast: - the bar stock was limited to the basics; and it and the lounge adjoining closes at 11pm and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Similar to another reviewer we attended for Xmas Lunch 2016 for a second year; a group of 22 in total thus a considerable spend given the cost of lunch plus drinks at the bar. The meal from being seated to us leaving immediately after dessert took theee hours in total which is ridiculous for three courses. Whilst the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hedgerows11
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We had a brilliant time at the Birch,arrived early and relaxed with friends for a couple of hours went to room to change ,came down to a welcome drink and then into main room. The meal was really lovely ,the staff couldn't do enough for us,entertainment was very good.our rooms were warm and comfortable with coffee ,tea and biscuits awaiting....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
TheBirchHotel, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience here with us at The Birch. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here! We pride ourselves on customer service and are happy to here our staff were friendly and helpful for the duration of your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon and...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

My family of eleven adults booked for Christmas Day lunch. Mistake! First impressions o.k. Sparkling wine on arrival etc however"......... The hotel asked us to get there by 2pm for meal at 2.30pm, we got there about 1.45pm and proceeded to wait until 3.10 pm for our starter. My starter was mackerel pate which was o.k but accompanied by one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jeff j
TheBirchHotel, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thankyou for your review. We are very sorry you were not happy with your visit with us here at the Birch. We appreciate our guests feedback and try to work on the points made. In regards to the Christmas lunch guests were asked to arrive at 2pm for reception drinks which were to last 45 mins in order to...

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Had eight rooms here for a Saturday night and five for a Sunday over a weekend, the receptionist allocated the rooms all wrong on the Saturday so on the Sunday despite having two booked rooms that were empty they made me pay for another one as they had allocated the rooms wrong so I had to pay for six rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hawkethos
TheBirchHotel, Front Office Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hawkethos, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Birch Hotel. I am sorry to read that we have not met your expectations during your stay. We always appreciate guests feedback, and we do apologise for any inconvenience that this has caused. We will investigate the points you have raised, and...

Saint-Pierre-sur-Orthe, France
Reviewed 25 November 2016

A motel....not a hotel, not very clean, and had a very musty smell, I went for work, and it had been paid for, so I stayed, but could not wait to leave. I had paid for breakfast for 3 days, but after a bit of toast on 1 of the days, I decided to skip it for the next 2....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ant685
TheBirchHotel, Front Office Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ant685, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Birch Hotel. We always have a duty manager on site to assist all our guest's. We do appareciate guest's feedback during their stay so we may have the opportunity to put things right before they leave. I am sorry that we have not met your...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heywood
2.7 km away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
3.2 km away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
419 reviews
7.8 km away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
4.1 km away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
7.8 km away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just two turns from J19 on M62, ideal place to stay over if you visiting Manchester or Greater Manchester destinations. Relax in our cozy lounge. If you fancy a swim or work out we have an arrangement with The Heywood Village Centre which guests can use for free.Free Wifi & Free Car Parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Birch Hotel

Address: Manchester Road, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 2QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Heywood
Price Range: $82 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Birch Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Birch Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from main road”
604johnnyboy, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
Dawn_Chst, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would not bother going to this Hotel”
alanhT9219WP, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would think rooms at the rear of the building away from the trafic on the front.”
Keefypat, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 19: Small, view of the car park.”
Timothyboja, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$59* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$59
Booking.comUS$81
Hotwire.comUS$59
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates