We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Roman Camp Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 254: English reviews
Start your review of The Roman Camp Inn
 Click to rate
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Such a nice place to go and eat all year round. The food is very good and portions are huge so is very good value for money! Personal favourites include the chilli bowl and the crab Thermidor. This place is even better to visit on sunny days when you can sit in the large garden. Staff are also lovely. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emz735
Toddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Portion sizes generous, mash yummy, attentiveness from staff great and we loved the miniature desserts with coffee. Such a shame that the weather was poor as the garden looked beautiful - would have loved to have sat in it (my daughter said it looked like a secret garden). A must for anyone visiting West Runton campsite... or generally in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeccaRiley
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A delightful pub, close to the coast of Cromer and Sheringham. It has a modern but classical decor, which makes it feel clean, upmarket and comfortable. The staff are always extremely friendly and helpful, always making sure you are comfortable. I've visited this establishment over the years many times and it gets better all the time. The food is wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Heading out of London to the sunny Norfolk Coast we stumbled upon this friendly place - great value for money with easy parking and great food . Nothing is better than a welcoming smile when you walk into a hotel after a long drive and this place is certainly aware of their customers needs . Rooms were clean and contemporary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheHotelsInspector
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Roman Camp Inn and that our facilities met your expectations. We certainly hope we will be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were meeting for a catch up and meal and the Roman Camp did not disappoint. It was not very busy on this Monday night but the staff were alert and attentive and the food and service excellent. We were not rushed and when it became obvious that the three very large square plates of food were not going to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GillyCS49
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you found your visit to the Roman Camp Inn a very pleasurable experience and certainly hope we will be able to be of service to you again in the near future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I cannot think of anywhere else locally I would consider drinking after going to the Roman Camp. Constantly changing quality guest ales, tasty food you really could eat every day for a week and not get sick of and staff who you can have a good laugh with.....why would anyone want to go anywhere else!?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonny H
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoy every aspect of our facilities and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to write the review. It will be a pleasure to continue to welcome you here at the Roman Camp Inn

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Roman Camp Inn travelling as one of the party of eight to attend a close family member's funeral. I had decided not to leave a comment, however I want to express my deep disappointment with the Inn's Owner/Manager's unapologetic and defensive responses to the previous two reviews. The lack of empathy shown is quite astounding. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harriet F
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We clearly did show our empathy on the day regarding your wake. Our Management team were not aware that you wanted to eat with us until we read this on trip adviser. Unfortunately no one in your party had booked for Dinner that is why there was mention of the Valentines menu .Even though...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I reserved four double rooms for the night of February 14th. The mangeress knew that we were traveling from a distance to attend a family funeral of which the funeral tea was to be held at the Roman Camp Inn. My son and I were the first to arrive and were very pleased with the four rooms available. After a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank helenclammer
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you were happy with your rooms here at the Roman Camp Inn but also very sorry that you were disappointed that we were only serving our Valentine's Evening Menu on the 14th Feb, and that you were expecting our normal menu. Your confirmations sent to you, contained an advisory note,...

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

As a Celebration of my late husband's life it was a let down. After the funeral service at the newly opened Cromer Crematorium we chose this Inn for its light conservatory, ease of parking and in house cooking. This came in at a hefty £15+ per head BUT I was newly bereaved with all the stresses and strains that accompany...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aliton1
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the Catering provided for the after funeral refreshments. As you have stated, we were instructed to cater for 50 persons when in fact there were well over 70 people that attended, a testament to the popularity of your late husband. As soon as we became aware...

Mundesley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Surprisingly good Christmas dinner for a group of 24. Sadly one has low expectations of group Christmas dinners but Roman Camp did themselves proud. Tasty venison pate followed by game pie and veg. What a wonderful offering... none of the uninspired melon or prawn dishes so often presented. Those who had turkey were well sated with generous amounts. I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charbala
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that your group enjoyed their Christmas Dinner here at the Roman Camp Inn. We hope to see you all again in the future, and would just like to point out that we do have extensive gardens and outside space, frequently used in the summer months, whereby dogs are very...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
4.8 km away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
684 reviews
1.7 km away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
3.6 km away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Dales Country House Hotel
4.1 km away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
687 reviews
8.6 km away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have our own membership at a local exclusive Leisure Club 5 minutes drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Price Range: $138 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Roman Camp Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Roman Camp Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay at the hotel so cannot offer any comment in this area.”
331trishf, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 for wheelchair access and wet room”
, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Superior rooms 1,2 and 3 but all rooms recently modern refurbished to a high standard with great views of the gardens”
PhilipSaunders20, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Best food for miles.”
957juliettec, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front on the first floor are spacious and quiet despite being at the front of the building overlooking the road.”
ritat253, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5