We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Roman Camp Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 258: English reviews
Start your review of The Roman Camp Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed here approximately six or seven times before over the last fifteen years. We have always come back because if it's location, lovely food etc. Sadly our stay this time wasn't as it has been. The hotel says there are refurbished rooms but superior deluxe room at 160.00 was the same as we stayed in ten years ago....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie9999
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were displeased with your recent stay and we apologise for that. The outside light did not switch off when it was programmed to do so. A time clock fault which is now rectified. We did check the shower, thinking that the new shower head may have been faulty, but the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful Sunday lunch. Delicious puddings. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Lovely views over the fields from the upstairs room. Excellent, we will definitely be back, and looking forward to it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hoppo186338
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed both the food and the hospitality here at the Roman Camp Inn and it is gratifying to hear that the whole experience was pleasurable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Norwich
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been using the Roman Camp for the past four years and rarely had a bad experience. Tonight however was very disappointing. The menu has changed for the summer season and is a great disappointment. Ordered starters from the specials board only to be told 5 -10 minutes later that they had run out, we were then offered Prawn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fazie
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you felt your recent visit was disappointing. We would have been happy to add the side salad if it had been requested. Noting your comment concerning the chips, we have contacted our local potato supplier with regards to the smallness of them. There has been a slight problem with the Maris...

Looe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Felt sorry for the waitress,she was polite and efficient. Pub/restaurant was fine as was the food provided. When the bill came we were charged for hot milk for my wife's coffee. Have travelled the world this is the only time I can recall being charged for hot milk to go with coffee. Will not visit again I'm in the fortunate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lester d
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were pleased to hear that the Customer Service was efficient and the food was good. We thank you for your comments and have since reviewed how we now serve our black coffee.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Such a nice place to go and eat all year round. The food is very good and portions are huge so is very good value for money! Personal favourites include the chilli bowl and the crab Thermidor. This place is even better to visit on sunny days when you can sit in the large garden. Staff are also lovely. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emz735
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It is always gratifying to hear from regular customers who continue to enjoy our facilities here at the Roman Camp Inn. We always do our utmost to offer the very best in facilities and we are very pleased to hear that you find both our hospitality and food to be of a high...

Toddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Portion sizes generous, mash yummy, attentiveness from staff great and we loved the miniature desserts with coffee. Such a shame that the weather was poor as the garden looked beautiful - would have loved to have sat in it (my daughter said it looked like a secret garden). A must for anyone visiting West Runton campsite... or generally in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeccaRiley
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our facilities here at the Roman Camp Inn. We very much hope you will visit us again, when, if the weather has improved you will be able to relax in our garden surroundings.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

A delightful pub, close to the coast of Cromer and Sheringham. It has a modern but classical decor, which makes it feel clean, upmarket and comfortable. The staff are always extremely friendly and helpful, always making sure you are comfortable. I've visited this establishment over the years many times and it gets better all the time. The food is wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoy both our food and our hospitality here at the Roman Camp Inn and will look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future when hopefully it will be sunny and warm and you will be able to enjoy the garden!

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Heading out of London to the sunny Norfolk Coast we stumbled upon this friendly place - great value for money with easy parking and great food . Nothing is better than a welcoming smile when you walk into a hotel after a long drive and this place is certainly aware of their customers needs . Rooms were clean and contemporary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheHotelsInspector
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Roman Camp Inn and that our facilities met your expectations. We certainly hope we will be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We were meeting for a catch up and meal and the Roman Camp did not disappoint. It was not very busy on this Monday night but the staff were alert and attentive and the food and service excellent. We were not rushed and when it became obvious that the three very large square plates of food were not going to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GillyCS49
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you found your visit to the Roman Camp Inn a very pleasurable experience and certainly hope we will be able to be of service to you again in the near future.

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

I cannot think of anywhere else locally I would consider drinking after going to the Roman Camp. Constantly changing quality guest ales, tasty food you really could eat every day for a week and not get sick of and staff who you can have a good laugh with.....why would anyone want to go anywhere else!?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonny H
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoy every aspect of our facilities and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to write the review. It will be a pleasure to continue to welcome you here at the Roman Camp Inn

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
4.8 km away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
699 reviews
1.7 km away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
3.6 km away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Dales Country House Hotel
4.1 km away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
703 reviews
8.6 km away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have our own membership at a local exclusive Leisure Club 5 minutes drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Price Range: $141 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Roman Camp Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Roman Camp Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay at the hotel so cannot offer any comment in this area.”
331trishf, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 for wheelchair access and wet room”
, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Superior rooms 1,2 and 3 but all rooms recently modern refurbished to a high standard with great views of the gardens”
PhilipSaunders20, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Best food for miles.”
957juliettec, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front on the first floor are spacious and quiet despite being at the front of the building overlooking the road.”
ritat253, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5