We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Middlesbrough Road, Guisborough TS14 6RW England
Temporarily closed
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (8)


#2 of 2 hotels in Guisborough
The Cross Keys Hotel at Guisborough is one of our highly popular properties. So expect a warm welcome, great service, good value food and drink, and all the modern touches you need for both leisure and business. This attractive, stone-built, 19th-century country inn is a lovely place to stay, and makes a great base for exploring the north east. Set on the edge of the North York Moors, it’s surrounded by beautiful countryside and has wonderful views of iconic Roseberry Topping. Our 20 en-suite bedrooms are spacious and tastefully furnished, and all offer comfy beds for a restful night’s sleep.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
314Reviews0Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 107
  • 58
  • 25
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jayne wrote a review Nov. 2020
1 contribution
Lovely clean and well presented small hotel. Large room with shower over the bath complimentary shower gel and big towels. Hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Restaurant served great food and very welcoming staff.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Greene King, Marketing at Cross Keys
Responded Nov. 3, 2020
Hi Jayneando, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub the cross keys i will pass your comments on to the staff . Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Eileen B wrote a review Sep. 2020
Middlesbrough5 contributions3 helpful votes
my husband and i visted today at 7pm 26th sept. as always staff are lovely and friendly. atmosphere is so chilled. my seabass was amazing one of the best meals ive ever had. my husband had his gammon and enjoyed we both had desert and drinks so relaxing. thankyou once again we will be back .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Greene King, Owner at Cross Keys
Responded Sep. 29, 2020
Thank you Eileen for taking the time to tell us, and everyone how we did. It's always a pleasure to read these type of reviews. I will make sure that the kitchen team are aware of this and get to see it. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this feedback about your recent visit. Take care!
Read more
Leigh K wrote a review Sep. 2020
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
I would like to start this review by adding that we have visited this restaurant at least half a dozen times and each time advocated it to our friends and family. The place was busy, Sunday afternoon so understandable, the timing for us to get to the drinks order and starters was a little excessive although as mentioned the place was busy. One of my favourite dishes is the 'Stilton and peppercorn mushrooms' (starter), the fish came and the stilton was completely absent from the dish and the accompanying bread was completely burnt, the mushrooms looked like they had been in the drive fro weeks and overall it was a disaster. I ordered a sirloin steak as the fillet amongst other items were absent from the menu, I specifically asked for it medium rare, but mentioned before it arrived that if the chef can't get a starter correct then I hold no hope for the steak, the steak arrived and low and behold it was well done. My partners food was also very sub par, the kids meals I can't really speak for as the pizza is a Chicago town pizza microwaved and the Sunday lunch is cheap veg and reheated meat. The best part about the visit was the Moretti on tap which was well in truly needed to deal with the terrible food. As for social distancing and being responsible, as we approached the door way to enter the one way system into the building, there was a crowd of 6 people waiting (presumable for a table or for others to arrive), we had to brush passed this crowd with our children to enter, as we arrived in the building again there was a queue and people walking around all over the place. A rethink is definitely needed. I will add the service was great.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Greene King, Owner at Cross Keys
Responded Sep. 9, 2020
It is disappointing to read of your experience with us on Sunday. We have taken a lot time and care to implement a new safe way working to ensure that we are as COVID safe as possible. You can see from previous reviews than we have accomplished this and as mentioned Sunday was a busy day. We had an issue where reservations and walk-in tables had arrived at the same time, causing a bottle neck at the host point. We have advised since reopening that walk-in tables would be restricted, and that you should try and book before you arrive. We have also advised for reservations to only turn up for there allocated times, as this could cause bottle necks at the host point. The Eat Out To Help Out scheme has caused a nightmare with our suppliers and unfortunately, we have been unable to get some items replenished. If there were any issues raised during your visit, we would have happily tried to rectify them to your pleasing. You have mentioned that you have visited frequently, and it is a shame that this one off occasion will put you off coming again. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.
Read more
Franewade wrote a review Sep. 2020
Bedford, United Kingdom15 contributions24 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night on Monday 24th August 2020. They gave us a disabled access room though we didn’t ask for one. We asked to move as this was the first room in the corridor, at the front of the hotel, on the road and opposite the stairs (no surprise , Room number 1). They said they were fully booked, which the car park and pub did not reflect. The sink in the bathroom was so small it was almost impossible to wash, let alone fill the kettle. The WIFI didn’t work, and they offered no solution. Being at the front of the hotel, the room was noisy being near the road.
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Response from Greene King, Owner at Cross Keys
Responded Sep. 17, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review, and please accept my apologies for it not meeting your expectations. The disabled access room has recently had some renovation works done and was only allowed to be advertised as this once it had been checked and certified as an accessible. The way it was set up previously, we were only allowed to sell it as a double, due to the fact that it didn't meet the required standards to offer as an accessible room. We have a lot of people staying here for work, and when you checked in, they would have been at work so the car park and pub would have been empty. We did offer you an alternative of a twin room, which was our only available room, but you declined. We are sorry that the experience that you had with us
Read more
Mkwire wrote a review Aug. 2020
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom100 contributions42 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights over the bank holiday weekend.Hotel is situated on a very busy dual carriageway,and I imagine this could be a problem if you are at the front of the hotel.Thankfully we were at the back and no road noise was heard.The hotel looked quite modern and was clean and welcoming.Check in was by a friendly lady,but unfortunately she didn’t mention that you needed to put a door hanger out if you wanted the room cleaned.We ate in the restaurant for one evening meal and two breakfasts,and on every occasion there were items not available.Service seemed a little slow,and orders were taken incorrectly.Food was generally good though.The hotel is in a great area,with plenty of things to do nearby,and if I am in the area again I would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from Greene King, Owner at Cross Keys
Responded Sep. 2, 2020
Thank you MKwire for taking the time to leave this review. We have hired a few new team since we have reopened, and they are still coming trying to fully understand the policies and procedures we have in place. I am suprised to hear that they didn't mention about the hanger, as they usually inform all guests about everything they need to know about there stay. I will use this feedback to try and improve the service provided by the team. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this feedback about your recent visit. Take care!
Read more
US$61 - US$87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
premier inn middlesborough south (guisborough) hotel guisborough
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireGuisborough
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cross Keys
Which popular attractions are close to Cross Keys?
Nearby attractions include Roseberry Topping (3.4 km), Stewart Park (4.6 km), and Kirkleatham Museum (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cross Keys?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Cross Keys?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Cross Keys?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cross Keys?
Conveniently located restaurants include Scarletts, Cookfella’s Eatery & Wine Bar, and Badgers.
Are there any historical sites close to Cross Keys?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ormesby Hall (4.7 km), Guisborough Priory (4.8 km), and Great Ayton Urinal (5.0 km).
Is Cross Keys accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.