We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,084: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We were staying in the hotel for two nights in the middle of October. We'd chosen this location to see The Enchanted Forest and use a pool during our stay. We've booked a room for two and were given a large family suite with conjoined double bedroom and a twin room. The room was very clean, spacious and quick to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AlexSimons
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon AlexSimons, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and had time to visit the beautiful Enchanted...

Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. It is a great hotel in a beautiful location. The food was very good, service as well. It was some time ago so we might be slightly wrong with the names, but we wanted to mention Alexander (he seemed to be a supervisor) and Sasha. They both were very helpful, kind and hard-working. Sometimes we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PmiEr
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon PmiEr, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and we share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Many thanks for your kind words especially concerning the staff and the food and great to hear you had a...

Tranent
Reviewed 14 October 2015

A nice wee hotel in a stunning location. Has a small but nice pool. The only drawback was the shower was terrible! We stayed on a room only basis. Delighted that dogs were allowed for a charge of £15 per night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim C
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Kim C, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Great to you think we have a nice hotel but disappointed that the shower was not functioning properly, we will...

Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We enjoyed our stay but the hotel in general is tired and the smaller dining room is very poor and unwelcoming make sure you eat the excellent food in the main room. Our room was small and had a well worn feel but was comfortable and quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening DAM4562, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis, Glad to hear you had a good stay and enjoyed the food in the main restaurant but disappointed to hear you...

Durham
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Pleasant hotel in delightful setting. Weather was atrocious which did spoil our stay and the room was as far away from Reception as was possible, not easy with luggage and two dogs in tow. Sadly breakfast was extra, in my opinion too much extra, so we didn't sample but the evening bar snack was good and decent value too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 637jong
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening 637jong, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our review and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Really pleased you had a pleasant stay and we can only apologies for the weather, we could have assisted with your...

Scotland
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Stayed at this hotel recently and we enjoyed our stay the staff are lovely and friendly and the food was superb. The hotel is a traditional Scottish hotel and yes it could do with a refurbish in some places but many hotels are the same. The small touches were lovely shortbread and sparkling water in room and lovely toiletries in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shazzaScotland
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon shazzaScotland, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Great to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed the little touches such as the homemade shortbread, toiletries and...

Darlington
Reviewed 11 October 2015

amazing food, (although small portions), efficient friendly table service food inc breakfast served fresh. Very good night's sleep in comfortable room with a nice view of loch. suprised that there was no bottled water supplied in room, unusual for MacDonald's also a long walk to get to room but worth it! we appreciate the paintings in room & hallways nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Q2338GMpauls
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Q2338GMpauls, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding the receent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especailly the comfortanle beds and room and of course the...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2015

A prime example of a hotel trading of its brand and location. Room was in desperate need of re-decorating (torn carpets, scratched furniture, brown stains in bathroom (toilet and bath)). I see some other reviews commented they had great view, we can't really comment as we could only see the trees and the car park. Hotel staff decided to hoover...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naqi122
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Naqi122, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews whether they are positive or constructive and we share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Sorry to hear you did not appreciate the views do the Loch and apologies...

Inverurie
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Stayed for 1 night. Excellent value. Superb views west along Loch Rannoch towards Glencoe. Staff very helpful. Building looks a bit dated from the outside but fine inside. £10 credit given to use in bar/restaurant if you book direct with McDonald. Helps offset rather expensive bar prices.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alanmS8651MJ
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon alanmS8651MJ, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. We agree they are amazing views of Loch Rannoch down to Glencoe and glad to hear you had a great stay....

Livingston
Reviewed 1 October 2015

The most wonderful hotel. Everything was first class and the staff were. So helpful. Our room so clean and the pool facilities were amazing. We cant wait to come backaand i have told my friends all about. It

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank I1527SCkarenw
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon I1527SCkarenw, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the pool and especially the staff and we look forward...

270 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (250)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
29.5 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,574 reviews
22.9 km away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
2,829 reviews
28.1 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 km away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
18.0 km away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
792 reviews
39.3 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range: $94 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland, UK
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Has to be over the Loch.”
 of 5 bubbles mblair53, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best to Book a Lochside view”
 of 5 bubbles portyEdinburgh, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All seem outstanding. Being an old building some noise travels.”
 of 5 bubbles PeteGlasgow, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Loch view - Stunning!”
 of 5 bubbles craigmowatt, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Most seem to face the loch”
 of 5 bubbles PeteCandlin, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay